Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Inferno MP9 thread >

Inferno MP9 thread

Like Tree1Likes

Inferno MP9 thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old 10-10-2016, 02:30 PM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech ForumsThread Wiki: Inferno MP9 thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: tobamiester
Another TKI thread, more TKI4 Specific http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...buggy-kit.html

TKI4 Replacement Parts (Good for upgrading from TKI3) http://www.kyoshoamerica.com/Replace...ts_c_1505.html

TKI4 Optional Parts http://www.kyoshoamerica.com/Option-Parts_c_1506.html

Some notes on the new Towers/Long shocks here

Picked up a TKI3 and want to upgrade to TKI4 ? Here are all the updated parts:

Shocks

IF347-155 1.5X5 Pistons
IF471-01 Front Shock Body
IF470-01 Rear Shock Body
IF470-03BK Shock Adjust Dial
IFW154 Boots
IF346-05C Shock End Set

Wing

IF491BK Wing
IFW460B Wing Mount/Stay

Rear End

IFH006W Wheel
IF490 HUB
IF490-01 Hub Insert
IF492 Shock Pin
IF423HB Rear Arm
IF287 Hard Upper Rod Rear

Front End

IF489 Steering Rod Set
IF488 Knuckles
IF487H Front Arm
IFW458 Hard Lower Pin
IFW425 93MM CVD
IF286 Hard Upper Rod
IF486 Lower Susp Holder
IFW459 Servo Saver (Hard)
IF446B Ackerman Arm
IF426-64.5 Susp Shaft

Other

IF469B Filter
97035LW-13 Clutch Bell
IF453B Body Mount
IFW107GM Hexes
W300910 Washer
IF443B Center Diff Plate
IF444C Tank
IF479B Radio Box
96772 13x16x0.15mm Shim
IF481B Fuel Tank Stay
IFW336GM Wheelnut
IFB008 TKI4 Body
IFD403W TKI4 Decal

Print Wikipost

Old 01-10-2013, 08:59 PM
  #12886  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Perth, West Australia.
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Afun
I just installed the Kyosho TKI3 Titanium Screw It. I have figured out where to install all the screws except the ones pictured. I think these screws were placed in the bag in error. They are too short for wing stay or connector. Any thoughts? The only place I see screws that look like this are the front bulkhead and rear wing stay connected to shock tower.


Kyosho Screws by Afun2011, on Flickr
If they are 4mm then they are for the rear brace mount on top of the bulkhead.
smelly62 is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:14 PM
  #12887  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
savageboy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pasco,WA
Posts: 4,135
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

2 part question, on the original mp9 was it the front or rear shocks that came with the 1.3 x 8 pistons, and were the ones in the kit white or black? and are there any marks on the pistons to tell what they are?>
savageboy69 is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 10:16 PM
  #12888  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
AZRC4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sodi
Hi guys
Quick question I see on the setup sheet posted the option of the Ackerman plate facing forward or backward. Does this increase the Ackerman option even more facing it forward is as per kit instruction. Reversing it gives even more Ackerman for more steering is the correct? When its turned the whole location seems to be more rearward.
Thanks
Taken from the Hudy setup manual:

STEERING ROD INNER MOUNTING POSITION
CHARACTERISTICS
Forward holes (sharper angle)
Smoothens out steering response Car reacts smoothly Better suited to smooth flowing tracks with
high speed corners
Rearward holes (shallower angle)
Quickens initial steering response Car reacts faster to steering input Better suited to small, tight tracks

Originally Posted by motorhead68
SEAN, do you use the std or narrow wheel hexes on your buggy?? do you ever change between them? if so what conditions? THANKS
I run the std ones on all 4 corners. I'm not sure when I'd run the narrower hexes, but I'd probably only do it in the rear. It's not something I usually use as a tuning aid.

Originally Posted by CALVIN THINMAN
To:
Sean, and all the other advanced racers beside race equipment will i be required too do anything else before entering in races?
Do you have your nitro rc racing license? Kidding bro, just head out to your local track and meet some of the people, ask some questions, or just show up on race day and jump right in. Just have some fun with it!

Originally Posted by ajceara
Hello friends,

The new hub with 16 degrees, 16 degrees this is positive or negative?
It's more caster than the stock MP9 caster blocks, i.e. the block is more laid back towards the rear of the car.
AZRC4Me is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 10:26 PM
  #12889  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
AZRC4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by savageboy69
2 part question, on the original mp9 was it the front or rear shocks that came with the 1.3 x 8 pistons, and were the ones in the kit white or black? and are there any marks on the pistons to tell what they are?>
I don't know much about the early MP9 days, but according to the original MP9 manual, it says it came with 1.3x6 hole pistons, IF347-346.

MP9 Manual
AZRC4Me is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 10:42 PM
  #12890  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
savageboy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pasco,WA
Posts: 4,135
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AZRC4Me
I don't know much about the early MP9 days, but according to the original MP9 manual, it says it came with 1.3x6 hole pistons, IF347-346.

MP9 Manual
well hmm, i know mine are 8hole and they are white, front and rear, i guess the previous owner could have changed them, i just wish they had a dang marking on em
savageboy69 is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 04:01 AM
  #12891  
Tech Master
iTrader: (58)
 
rfleck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,425
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by savageboy69
well hmm, i know mine are 8hole and they are white, front and rear, i guess the previous owner could have changed them, i just wish they had a dang marking on em
If they are white, have 8 holes and the holes go straight through the pistons they are 8-1.3 pistons. That is the piston 95% of people like best.
rfleck is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 07:38 AM
  #12892  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Afun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,370
Trader Rating: 19 (95%+)
Default

[QUOTE=kyoshoracer77;11661171]
Originally Posted by ad12i

i think that screw is a flat head not a button head?? what about the rear wing mount stay. bolts on top of the rear diff???? that new piece that kanai just made out of alumiumn???
Too short for the rear wing mount stay. That should be titanium according to the instructions. So this was placed in the bag by error....tiny flat head screws go underneath the the center diff bracket to hold the brake discs in.
Afun is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:59 AM
  #12893  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
AZRC4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Afun;11662634]
Originally Posted by kyoshoracer77

Too short for the rear wing mount stay. That should be titanium according to the instructions. So this was placed in the bag by error....tiny flat head screws go underneath the the center diff bracket to hold the brake discs in.
Those are button head cap screws (BHCS) and looks like they're the M4x8mm screws that hold the rear torque rod mount to the top of the rear gearbox (step 4 in the manual). Flat head cap screws (FHCS) are used in areas with countersunk holes.
AZRC4Me is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 10:19 AM
  #12894  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 128
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Rear Tower

I am debating on getting the Hard medium rear tower I have the older version with the 8 hole for the camber link. The new one has 10, and the setup sheet has the 8 hole one showing. Is there a noticeable tuning difference when using the ten hole vs eight hole? What do you guys think?
Speedracer1600 is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:01 AM
  #12895  
Tech Master
iTrader: (58)
 
rfleck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,425
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Somebody, please get this man a metal servo horn!

http://gallery.neobuggy.net/2013Race...3079&k=kPJbFcp

Seriously though, he is flying in practice.
rfleck is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 11:39 AM
  #12896  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
CoryD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Speedracer1600
I am debating on getting the Hard medium rear tower I have the older version with the 8 hole for the camber link. The new one has 10, and the setup sheet has the 8 hole one showing. Is there a noticeable tuning difference when using the ten hole vs eight hole? What do you guys think?
I nearly always use hole #7 (#8 on 10 hole tower) so is mute to me haha! However, I am sure there's going to be some track where that 10th hole will get used.

Later,
CoryD is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 12:06 PM
  #12897  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
CoryD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rfleck
Somebody, please get this man a metal servo horn!
Forget that! Someone get him a pistol grip radio!!! I have NO clue how he can be THAT CRAZY FAST with a 2-stick radio!

Later,
CoryD is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:38 PM
  #12898  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Charles Godwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK (England)
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

^
Charles Godwin is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:38 PM
  #12899  
Tech Master
iTrader: (65)
 
GMS_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Palm Harbor
Posts: 1,700
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CoryD
I nearly always use hole #7 (#8 on 10 hole tower) so is mute to me haha! However, I am sure there's going to be some track where that 10th hole will get used.

Later,
So like on Cody's worlds setup sheet on a TKI3 I should be 2 up from the bottom?
GMS_Racing is offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:56 PM
  #12900  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
johnatpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default sway bars

Is there a certain way one should set the loose ness on the sway bars?
johnatpc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.