R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2004, 11:14 PM   #14011
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by cyba888
I would swap receivers with a friend first to see what the problem is and from there it would be much easier to know if the receiver is bad. For the servo do the same thing and swap with another one.
Yeah, I was thinking along the same lines. But I was thinking if others had other ideas to try. Thanks.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:15 PM   #14012
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by Pyramid
Sell it and buy the newer one, Black TI, in case you have not use it


That's exactly what a friend of mine told me !
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:18 PM   #14013
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 783
Default Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Hmm, that sounds like a dealer talking
No Mark.. its more like disease.
And watchout, it is highly contagious one

Ask him how many times he had change his communicator !!
GoldFinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:21 PM   #14014
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by GoldFinger
No Mark.. its more like disease.
And watchout, it is highly contagious one

Ask him how many times he had change his communicator !!
IT'S THE RING, D!!!!!!!!!!!!!
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:24 PM   #14015
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
With your HRS system, the signal becomes too weak (too noisy?) therefore the system goes into fail safe. With the PCM, the encoded signal can be decoded to a better level than the HRS, but eventually the error rate becomes high and therefore your servo response time becomes longer.
Yeah, I was also thinking some kind of noise is interfering in between the Rx and servos and that the HRS is a little less prone to noise compared to PCM. I'll change my servo extender plug and see if that does anything. Thanks.

I could tell that when I got closer to the car, the revs became more lively and spontaneous as compared to when I was about 150 feet away with the PCM receiver.

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Each element being quite expensive, it isn't so simple to swap those parts for new ones - the only suggestion to make is try borrow pieces from a young friend
Young friend?
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:27 PM   #14016
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Track width

Quote:
Originally posted by GoldFinger
We cure it with smaller rear trackwidth kind of (FR)200 / (RR)198.5 mm , perfect !!
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:37 PM   #14017
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Yeah, I was also thinking some kind of noise is interfering in between the Rx and servos and that the HRS is a little less prone to noise compared to PCM. I'll change my servo extender plug and see if that does anything. Thanks.
I wouldn't suspect anything between the Rx and the Servos - unless something is inducing noise onto the power rails. I think your problem lies between the generation and decoding of the signal. This would explain the slow response in PCM and the HRS fail safe

Quote:
I could tell that when I got closer to the car, the revs became more lively and spontaneous as compared to when I was about 150 feet away with the PCM receiver.
That would be in keeping with the theroy that the PCM signal is being corrupted, i.e. only sometimes does the signal get through fully decoded when you are at a distance.


Quote:
Young friend?
or a gullible friend Maybe one who wants your precious
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:44 PM   #14018
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
IT'S THE RING, D!!!!!!!!!!!!!
All the more now I think the RING is a fake.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:48 PM   #14019
Tech Master
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by GoldFinger
Ask him how many times he had change his communicator !!
I`m not the worst one overhere Mark..
Pyramid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:50 PM   #14020
Tech Master
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Track width

Quote:
Originally posted by daniz24
Mr. Giant always late on giving tips...
Pyramid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:52 PM   #14021
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
That would be in keeping with the theroy that the PCM signal is being corrupted, i.e. only sometimes does the signal get through fully decoded when you are at a distance.
Ummm, I guess all that boils down to weak signal emission ! So it's either the antenna on the Tx or the wire antenna on the Rx.

Now that you mention, I actually had a problem in the earlier days (when I did not have the RING ) when the antenna connection on the Tx got loose. I thought I had that fixed already by tightening the connection. I remember that at a certain distance, I could not get to control the car anymore. But when that happened, you could see that the steering and throttle servos were acting weird on their own. I'll just check that connection too to make sure.

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
or a gullible friend Maybe one who wants your precious
Yeah, one who also thinks that I have the PRECIOUS.

I guess I really need a KO radio to be half way there !
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 11:53 PM   #14022
Tech Master
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
I wouldn't suspect anything between the Rx and the Servos - unless something is inducing noise onto the power rails. I think your problem lies between the generation and decoding of the signal. This would explain the slow response in PCM and the HRS fail safe

That would be in keeping with the theroy that the PCM signal is being corrupted, i.e. only sometimes does the signal get through fully decoded when you are at a distance.
D.. if I were you, after this high technical explanation.. I would definetely take them all out and put new one in better yet, put on a new fresh S710 as well
Pyramid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 12:02 AM   #14023
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default Re: TRacktion Roll

Quote:
Originally posted by Pyramid
To me traction roll is a very good sign. It would means this particular car has more than enough traction compared to those that did not flip. My first priority would be lowering ride height to avoid traction roll (which is very effective); thus will still give me that tremendous tracktion that other cars dying to have! Next step would have been too easy parts to do.. get rid off those extra traction you do not need. Higher roll center as mentioned by miester D is one way to go, cutting inside front tires 2mm by, I believe, Art C is also the other way to go. Anyway, it is easier task then if I were needing to make more tracktion.
You may want to try different shock piston and oil combo with different springs and shock position also. That's the reason why Mr. Awie's car has too much traction (flip with 37 shore) but Mr. Dhanu's very comfortable with 35 shore without sacrifice lap times.

By the way, too much traction doesn't always produce faster lap times you know. it also happens on Formula 1 racing And yes indeed, lowering your ride height from 5 (front) and 6 (rear) to 4.5 (front) and 5 (rear) will make a HUGE effects.

Ready for race in Bandung next week?

From my experience, Bandung chicks are far more better than Jakarta's
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 12:03 AM   #14024
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by Pyramid
D.. if I were you, after this high technical explanation.. I would definetely take them all out and put new one in better yet, put on a new fresh S710 as well
And a JP-FX would certainly guarantee no radio problems anymore
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 12:06 AM   #14025
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Radio Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Ummm, I guess all that boils down to weak signal emission ! So it's either the antenna on the Tx or the wire antenna on the Rx.
or that something is affecting the signal by putting noise on top of it.

Quote:
Now that you mention, I actually had a problem in the earlier days (when I did not have the RING ) when the antenna connection on the Tx got loose. I thought I had that fixed already by tightening the connection. I remember that at a certain distance, I could not get to control the car anymore. But when that happened, you could see that the steering and throttle servos were acting weird on their own. I'll just check that connection too to make sure.
that may happen in HRS but not in PCM. Did you also have the fail safe HRS back then when you had problems?



Quote:
Yeah, one who also thinks that I have the PRECIOUS.


Quote:
I guess I really need a KO radio to be half way there !
Genau!
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net