R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2004, 01:38 AM   #8641
Tech Fanatic
 
BaxterC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 801
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Have you put the Mazda into action yet?
Yeah, Have you? What is she like?

I bought an MG body, has anyone tried it?
BaxterC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 01:40 AM   #8642
Tech Master
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Front Ball Diff

Do not care much about the bathces, everything has its trade off. Think of it this way, the later the production is, sure there will be improvement here and there but also there will be another problems as the tooling becoming older. Just like on 705 that share many parts from its predecessor. Flashing here and there.
Pyramid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 01:42 AM   #8643
Tech Fanatic
 
PSI Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 881
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Tried it briefly. Nice handling. Must not make the diffs too loose. Turning is nicer than the front solid axle.



Unfortunately when I tried the front diff, I was using different shocks. 40 wt with 4 holes (1.2 mm holes) front and rear. Was using front yellow and rear white with 37 shore front and rear. Car handled nice. I just need to test out more with harder springs and harder tires this weekend with the same shocks.
Thanks D.
I guess I'll stick with the one way for now.
The tracks I go to are fast, high traction tracks.
I was thinking of getting the front ball diff in case I go to a different track.
PSI Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 01:45 AM   #8644
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Have you put the Mazda into action yet?
What do you think? It's too nice to put it on !
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 01:45 AM   #8645
Tech Fanatic
 
PSI Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 881
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Front Ball Diff

Quote:
Originally posted by Pyramid
Do not care much about the bathces, everything has its trade off. Think of it this way, the later the production is, sure there will be improvement here and there but also there will be another problems as the tooling becoming older. Just like on 705 that share many parts from its predecessor. Flashing here and there.
kreidel wanted to know if there was any way of knowing what kit had the new parts in it.
The batch number was the only thing we could think of.
PSI Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 01:48 AM   #8646
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PSI Racing
Thanks D.
I guess I'll stick with the one way for now.
The tracks I go to are fast, high traction tracks.
I was thinking of getting the front ball diff in case I go to a different track.
I think the Serpent front ball diff goes relatively cheap and priced very reasonable.

Anyway like Julius say, you can tune the balance of the car by playing with the front ball diff. Useful if you race on tighter tracks.

For this weekend, I intend to se tthe car back for oneway front. It's been "some time" since I ran the car with a oneway front. Mid way, I'll change to front ball diff. It's a very huge track where most cars run out of breath and only cars like NTC3 and Serpent are ably geared.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:07 AM   #8647
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
What do you think? It's too nice to put it on !
I know the feeling - I only put my 6 on my EVO III for a couple of laps, then took it off because I didn't want to damage it
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:12 AM   #8648
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
I know the feeling - I only put my 6 on my EVO III for a couple of laps, then took it off because I didn't want to damage it
Perhaps I'll get another one and put on a simple paint scheme and when I bash it up, at least I won't feel guilty or hurt crashed_1's feelings !
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:26 AM   #8649
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Perhaps I'll get another one and put on a simple paint scheme and when I bash it up, at least I won't feel guilty or hurt crashed_1's feelings !
That wouldn't be a bad idea!
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:28 AM   #8650
Tech Master
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Front Ball Diff

Quote:
Originally posted by PSI Racing
kreidel wanted to know if there was any way of knowing what kit had the new parts in it.
The batch number was the only thing we could think of.
Yes, I know that one.. I`m actually reffering to general buy by batch prefferences in the long run..
Pyramid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:34 AM   #8651
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default graphite upper bumber

Ok had just a little run of the car (running back in the engine care of baxter c) and i find that the droop setting screws work there way out of the alu holding the top on! if i use thread lock is there any that i can use that wont so much lock it in just keep it there as i am worried that if i lock them in i will never get them out!
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:49 AM   #8652
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: graphite upper bumber

Quote:
Originally posted by Voodo_Magic
Ok had just a little run of the car (running back in the engine care of baxter c) and i find that the droop setting screws work there way out of the alu holding the top on! if i use thread lock is there any that i can use that wont so much lock it in just keep it there as i am worried that if i lock them in i will never get them out!
I use the Tamiya thread lock and it is a kind of rubbery type glue which won't prevent you from removing the screws. Don't put too much on, though - a dab is enough.

Cheers, Mark.
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:54 AM   #8653
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default Re: Re: graphite upper bumber

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
I use the Tamiya thread lock and it is a kind of rubbery type glue which won't prevent you from removing the screws. Don't put too much on, though - a dab is enough.

Cheers, Mark.

Thanks mark i will try that
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 03:19 AM   #8654
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: graphite upper bumber

Quote:
Originally posted by Voodo_Magic
Ok had just a little run of the car (running back in the engine care of baxter c) and i find that the droop setting screws work there way out of the alu holding the top on! if i use thread lock is there any that i can use that wont so much lock it in just keep it there as i am worried that if i lock them in i will never get them out!
I forgot to mention that I used a little thread lock on those droop screws on mine ! Don't worry about not being able to take out the droop screws. Use a blue thread lock. Not the red one.

The droop screws tend to be a little loose on the aluminum piece where the front droop screws are at.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 03:23 AM   #8655
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default Re: Re: graphite upper bumber

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
I forgot to mention that I used a little thread lock on those droop screws on mine ! Don't worry about not being able to take out the droop screws. Use a blue thread lock. Not the red one.

The droop screws tend to be a little loose on the aluminum piece where the front droop screws are at.
Thanks D i will try that.

Oh yea just read your posts in the G4 thread GREAT POSTS!
a true serpent fan (maybe replacing Ralph Burch?)
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:26 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net