Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Losi JRXS Type-R >

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Like Tree17Likes

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Old 08-13-2008, 09:04 AM
  #7831  
Suspended
iTrader: (87)
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 3,044
Trader Rating: 87 (99%+)
Default

thanks
RaceAce701 is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 05:59 PM
  #7832  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Default

Does anyone having problem with the steel tray not fit into the chassis? I couldn't able to install the steel tray into the chassis even with no battery on it.
ioxqq is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 06:15 PM
  #7833  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ioxqq View Post
Does anyone having problem with the steel tray not fit into the chassis? I couldn't able to install the steel tray into the chassis even with no battery on it.
I did i whipped out the handy dandy file and made the armpits a little deeper to make it fit nicely.
YmeBP is offline  
Old 08-14-2008, 04:01 AM
  #7834  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,369
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YmeBP View Post
I did i whipped out the handy dandy file and made the armpits a little deeper to make it fit nicely.
What he said..
nitrobeast is offline  
Old 08-15-2008, 07:37 PM
  #7835  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
MaxRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Orion platinum two

has anyone purchased the Orion platinum Two 5000 mAh for their type R?

I am asking as I have placed my order with RCMart, who is selling them for 85.90 each plus the usual shipping..

As far as I know these will fit the type R and are slightly lighter than the orion 4800 with the extra mAh. 137mm x 45mm x 24mm
MaxRain is offline  
Old 08-15-2008, 09:23 PM
  #7836  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Andy Crosson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 275
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxRain View Post
has anyone purchased the Orion platinum Two 5000 mAh for their type R?

I am asking as I have placed my order with RCMart, who is selling them for 85.90 each plus the usual shipping..

As far as I know these will fit the type R and are slightly lighter than the orion 4800 with the extra mAh. 137mm x 45mm x 24mm
I hope so...
Andy Crosson is offline  
Old 08-15-2008, 11:14 PM
  #7837  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
big_boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: remember Bruce Lee?
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The 5000 "two" fits the type R.
I ran it yesterday at our track , seems fine to me.

Last edited by big_boss; 08-24-2008 at 02:33 AM.
big_boss is offline  
Old 08-16-2008, 02:20 AM
  #7838  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (13)
 
cclifton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hi there,

I have been trying to compile some information through this forum for my new car and still have a couple questions maybe you guys can answer. I am trying to make the switch from Xray to my new JRX-S Type R.

First, we are running a new spec type class on carpet with Jaco green rubber tires and I am really trying to find a good starting point for a setup and was wondering if someone can help with with that. We are running a 17.5/Stock class.

Second, we are able to run a couple different lipo packs and I was wondering if anyone has had trouble fitting them in there car. I lipos include orion 3800 30C, IP3800, and the SMC packs.

Thank you
Chris
cclifton is offline  
Old 08-16-2008, 05:37 AM
  #7839  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cclifton View Post
Hi there,

I have been trying to compile some information through this forum for my new car and still have a couple questions maybe you guys can answer. I am trying to make the switch from Xray to my new JRX-S Type R.

First, we are running a new spec type class on carpet with Jaco green rubber tires and I am really trying to find a good starting point for a setup and was wondering if someone can help with with that. We are running a 17.5/Stock class.

Second, we are able to run a couple different lipo packs and I was wondering if anyone has had trouble fitting them in there car. I lipos include orion 3800 30C, IP3800, and the SMC packs.

Thank you
Chris
I can tell you for sure the Orion 3800 does not fit unless you want to mod the pack or the car to make it fit. Not worth it in my opinion. I have no experience with the IP pack. I think the SMC packs fit with no issues.
You can try setups from here: http://www.petitrc.com/view_news.php?id=4620 and I would recommend starting with the Schreffler Express 2007 setup. It is for medium bite and should work pretty well.
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 08-16-2008, 06:50 AM
  #7840  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cclifton View Post
Hi there,

I have been trying to compile some information through this forum for my new car and still have a couple questions maybe you guys can answer. I am trying to make the switch from Xray to my new JRX-S Type R.

First, we are running a new spec type class on carpet with Jaco green rubber tires and I am really trying to find a good starting point for a setup and was wondering if someone can help with with that. We are running a 17.5/Stock class.

Second, we are able to run a couple different lipo packs and I was wondering if anyone has had trouble fitting them in there car. I lipos include orion 3800 30C, IP3800, and the SMC packs.

Thank you
Chris
With the jaco greens i'd pay careful attention to camber settings front and rear. They have a shorter sidewall and don't flex as mush as some other brands of tires (hold tires side by side you'll see what i mean), so if you don't increase camber to accomodate that you'll be riding on the sidewall of your tire allot.

Good thing to keep an eye out for is if the jop of the "J" in jaco on the side wall starts to look weird or wear, increase camber by .25* or .5* increments until the wear stops. You can also look over the profile of the tire, holding it up so that it kinda looks like this |-------| you want the dashed part in the middle to be wearing evenly, if you get a coned tire or you see that there is no wear on the inside of your tire |___/----| kinda like that or /___/----|you need to increase camber as well (you can tell ascii art was not my calling).

The other big tuning aids that i've gotten help with being a crappy driver and even worse at tuning is the ackerman position on the steering cross bar, move your ball studs to the inside hole.

The last big tuning aid is rear camber link hole, there is a set of posts in this thread that go into detail about how and what they do search for "rear camber link", schreffler gives a great explaination of how and why (has a ton to do w/ camber gain) and mike haynes, ron goeter, larry fairtrace, mike major all showed me more about how to use that tunig aid to get the rear stuck!! so start out w/ the inner camber link in hole #4, and the outer camber link in the outer hole (farthest away from the center line of the car i think it's A but not sure) if you want more on power rear traction move that to the inner position (b) there are also things you can do w/ #4 washers under the camber links and ball studs but they are for after you make the major basic changes and need a little more of this or that.

The losi community is very helpful, every track i visit that has losi drivers they are always very willing to help a new or struggling driver (you can tell I got tons of help ahahaha) so seek one out.
YmeBP is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 01:21 PM
  #7841  
Tech Regular
 
JRXS_chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 386
Default

Hey folk, just after a little bit of help. I can't seem to scrub off the understeer that my chassis is generating on fast corners, ie coming off the straight or entering the straight. I've tried loads of tweaks and none seem to be doing the trick, any ideas?

(outdoor, tarmac/asphalt, medium grip, 5 cell brushless 3.5t, Sorex 32s)

Cheers guys!
JRXS_chris is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 03:26 PM
  #7842  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
TJames987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

I Just raced at a parking lot race and the car would not hookup at all it was VERY loose in the rear and very difficult to drive. I have a front-oneway in the front now and the tracktion is medium to low; would anyone suggest a front spool instead to gain more traction?
TJames987 is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 05:03 PM
  #7843  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Ron Goetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goatsville, SC
Posts: 1,957
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JRXS_chris View Post
Hey folk, just after a little bit of help. I can't seem to scrub off the understeer that my chassis is generating on fast corners, ie coming off the straight or entering the straight. I've tried loads of tweaks and none seem to be doing the trick, any ideas?

(outdoor, tarmac/asphalt, medium grip, 5 cell brushless 3.5t, Sorex 32s)

Cheers guys!
Try using the inner holes on the steering Ackerman plate.

Originally Posted by TJames987 View Post
I Just raced at a parking lot race and the car would not hookup at all it was VERY loose in the rear and very difficult to drive. I have a front-oneway in the front now and the tracktion is medium to low; would anyone suggest a front spool instead to gain more traction?

I would defiantly run the spool over the oneway.
Ron Goetter is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 07:06 PM
  #7844  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
MaxRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by big_boss View Post
The 5000 "two" fits the type R.
I ran it yesterday at our track , seems fine to me.
did you have to make any mods to the top deck.. ie dremel?
MaxRain is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 09:58 PM
  #7845  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
Rdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maple Valley, WA
Posts: 1,622
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys just got my losi r put together and was wonder about the spool mainly the correct way to install it. Do you still use the thrust bearing and spring? Thanks any any help i can get.
Rdog is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.