Search
Like Tree28Likes

TLR 22-4 THREAD

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2014, 08:32 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Skeeter36
How are they wearing out that fast??? I probably have 75 packs through mine and mine still feel very tight. I wonder if they are getting a very small bend in the shaft and it just eats the joint up? These things are supposed to be better than CVD's but I'm no engineer.
I don't know how it did this. The opposite one looks okay but there is some wear, small metallic specs. Maybe 10 degree casters? The bone is straight as can be. I did find a set on Amain. I will be keeping them lubed from here on out.
Old 03-11-2014, 09:11 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Originally Posted by UN4RACING
I don't know how it did this. The opposite one looks okay but there is some wear, small metallic specs. Maybe 10 degree casters? The bone is straight as can be. I did find a set on Amain. I will be keeping them lubed from here on out.
Simple answer = you plum wore them out!!

If you literally have 100packs on that car, saying conservatively ~5-6mins/per pack.
That's 500-600mins (~10hrs straight) of track time!!!! I don't get that much track time in a season.

You simply cracked one side of the pressed in pin off the universal from 10hrs of racing.. and if you look at the rest of the parts, they aren't worn like I would figure they would be after that much time & use!!

Universals are better performance-wise in many ways... there are tons of articles about the advantages/disadvantages of Universal vs CV vs CVD Joints.. Distance between & number of pivots, etc.. that's even been addressed in this thread, and is why the 22B has Universals as an option part not! AE swore by the Universals(non re-buildable) until they went CV... Shuey still uses and swears by Universals, and they are not re-buildable either.