Team Durango DEX410 4WD 1/10 Off-Road Buggy Thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2010, 08:48 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)

Originally Posted by R-E-A-P-E-R-
How hot are you talking here????

motor and esc
oh forget it lol...it was crazy hot both were over 200. That was with a bigger pinion tho. Like a 22-23 I went down to a 18 and now the motor is at like 160 and esc at like 180...Id still like cooler temps. I havent tried the 19 pinion but that may be where the problem lies gear wise. Any suggestions? The timing advance on his setup is at 85...maybe going back to stndrd 80 advance may help.
Old 09-06-2010, 09:05 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Timing can def bring up the temps really quick. 160 on a motor I dont think is hot. Above 180 ill start looking at changing something. But the esc should be quite that hot. Do you still have plenty of speed when you geared down to the 18?

I am no expert on this car at all. I was just wondering what your idea of hot was.
Old 09-06-2010, 09:45 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

are you guys trying any other ball cups? the stock ones seem soft and are popping off pretty easy on me.
Old 09-06-2010, 09:56 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Mikey D.
are you guys trying any other ball cups? the stock ones seem soft and are popping off pretty easy on me.
The Losi grey cups with the AE TC5 short 8mm ballstuds.
Old 09-07-2010, 07:05 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 152 (100%+)

Originally Posted by tonyv2382
oh forget it lol...it was crazy hot both were over 200. That was with a bigger pinion tho. Like a 22-23 I went down to a 18 and now the motor is at like 160 and esc at like 180...Id still like cooler temps. I havent tried the 19 pinion but that may be where the problem lies gear wise. Any suggestions? The timing advance on his setup is at 85...maybe going back to stndrd 80 advance may help.