R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2004, 01:03 AM   #15991
Tech Elite
 
crashed_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i love my job
Posts: 4,985
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Voodo_Magic
Tried all of that still very slow reaching top end changed pipe to a nova rossi turbo 6mm and still no change
I have the same problem with mid to end power...but when it does reach top, it's FAST.
crashed_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 01:09 AM   #15992
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crashed_1
I have the same problem with mid to end power...but when it does reach top, it's FAST.
What did you do
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 01:42 AM   #15993
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crashed_1
No worries...sow's on his OS. Heard you got everyone to halt exporting FX engines to the UK...


Quote:
Mine binds badly. I figured that's the reason why my car does all that wheelies over small bumps on straights. It effects handling badly...

Try unscrewing the set screw that holds the hinge pins on the lower arm. You'll be surprised at how free your arms can be but it's a little dodgy though. I'm doing that to my car and so far so good.
I'll try it out scary!!!
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 02:14 AM   #15994
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 589
Default MONOBLOCK INSTALLED ON 710

DOES ANYONE HAVE A PIC OF THE MONOBLOCK INSTALLED IN THEIR 710?CHOCO
SERPENTFREAK69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 02:25 AM   #15995
Tech Fanatic
 
Picard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: "Make it so"
Posts: 759
Default Re: Re: Re: New 2.5/3mm rear bar

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
I think the sway bar settings in general has got a lot to do with relative settings. How hard is the front / rear sway bar compared to the other.

I found that if I set the rear sway bar harder, I would get more on power steering. The rear of the car squares up better and faster in the chicanes.

My sway bar setting with the oneway front;
Hardest (90 degree) in front
Approx 12 mm from edge of the stock 2 mm sway bar and with the sway bar connected to the inner mount on the lower rear arm (not outer as per stock)

Yellow front spring (3rd position on front shock tower)
Red rear spring (3rd position on rear shock tower)
40 wt Serpent Oil with 4x1.2 mm holes all around

Rear diff is medium hard with 40 shore tires all around.



Yeah that's a quick way but I would look into the rear toe in. Less rear toe in = more on power steering not to mention higher top speed.
D

What roll centres are you running front and rear with this setup?
and shock tower positions?

Thanks
Picard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 02:30 AM   #15996
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: MONOBLOCK INSTALLED ON 710

Quote:
Originally posted by SERPENTFREAK69
DOES ANYONE HAVE A PIC OF THE MONOBLOCK INSTALLED IN THEIR 710?CHOCO
Yep, installed it last night - no running yet, though.
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 02:57 AM   #15997
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: New 2.5/3mm rear bar

Quote:
Originally posted by Picard
What roll centres are you running front and rear with this setup? and shock tower positions?
Shock tower position is 3 in the front and 3 in the rear.

Roll center front is without any shim on the upper arms (highest setting). Rear roll center is UTI / LB if I'm not mistaken. I'll check when I get back home. Rear camber is 3.5 left and 4.5 right. Front camber is -2 left and right.

Last edited by InitialD; 09-22-2004 at 03:05 AM.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 03:00 AM   #15998
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Voodo_Magic
Tried all of that still very slow reaching top end changed pipe to a nova rossi turbo 6mm and still no change
Without actually hearing how the engine revs or picks up the RPM, I cannot really say for sure if you're really too lean or still rich. But I suspect the HSN is too lean that the engine is choked from getting to the top end. Does your engine overheat?
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 03:05 AM   #15999
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crashed_1
I have the same problem with mid to end power...but when it does reach top, it's FAST.
You have problem with your FX engine? That's strange. Not that I can see.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 03:16 AM   #16000
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Voodo_Magic
What did you do
Voodo_Magic, curious to know how long the pressure line from the tank to the pipe? I run about 18 to 20 cm.

Last resort would be to check the fuel tank. Try and get a swap on the tank to see if that is the root of your problem. I thought I read somewhere on mytsn that someone had a faulty tank which will gave engine tuning problems.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 04:02 AM   #16001
Tech Master
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by redsand
Peter, are those new 710 stuff avail in Jkt yet ? If so, I will call Suryanto to order for myself and other 710 drivers in Bdg. We need part support from you bro !!

Speaking of the new servo saver, I dont see the difference with the stock one. Tell me what the new one has to offer.
Hallo Pak, I'm writing you here from Changi Airport. They are not sent to DTS JITC yet since we plan to hand carry them this Saturday. In case you are not coming for the race, please call Arifin as all the package should have been with him by now..

New servo saver: those two holes is nearer to the centerline as well as longer to the front of the car compared with standard s saver. Should provide less ackerman by design.
Pyramid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 04:05 AM   #16002
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Voodo_Magic, curious to know how long the pressure line from the tank to the pipe? I run about 18 to 20 cm.

Last resort would be to check the fuel tank. Try and get a swap on the tank to see if that is the root of your problem. I thought I read somewhere on mytsn that someone had a faulty tank which will gave engine tuning problems.
Thanks for all the info D the fuel tank seems to be fine because i run the same tank for my rrl3 and it flies however the pressure line from the tank is pretty short about 15cm. I have just orderd a Mugen (serpent dont make one!) pressure chamber to see if that works.
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 04:06 AM   #16003
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Without actually hearing how the engine revs or picks up the RPM, I cannot really say for sure if you're really too lean or still rich. But I suspect the HSN is too lean that the engine is choked from getting to the top end. Does your engine overheat?
Engine is running at 105 at the plug
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 04:17 AM   #16004
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Voodo_Magic
Thanks for all the info D the fuel tank seems to be fine because i run the same tank for my rrl3 and it flies however the pressure line from the tank is pretty short about 15cm.
You got me stumped on that one. If it runs well on the RRL3, then it should not be a problem.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 04:18 AM   #16005
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Voodo_Magic
Engine is running at 105 at the plug
Have you tried to go leaner like 5 or 10 minutes more on the HSN?
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:59 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net