R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2009, 02:45 PM   #2701
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Check the pics




This with the LRP motor.
With a GM you go under the belt and bend it upwards and tie it with a tierap to the stifner.

cheers Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by Evoracer View Post
Whats the chosen method of routing for the sensor wire on these. I had a JS and the sensor wire on my Novak 17.5 SS was a pain to route. The only sensible way was to go through the belt and over the top of the chassis. Bending it to go in between bulkheads and out the other side was impossible since it prohibited the motor from being able to rotate toward the front of the car. And even then I still couldnt rotate the motor all the way because the sensor wire boot bumped into the bulkhead?
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:05 PM   #2702
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,376
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Roy. It appears the problem is related to specific motors. On my Novak for instance...the sensor wire is located at the lower left corner as you look at the endbell. As you can imagine that puts it right at the lower corner of the tensioner bulkhead. No where to go but through the belt and up.
Evoracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:27 PM   #2703
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Big Dave

Dave has made it onto www.rctvlive.com twice now once for the Birds and now Vegas.....good job man!
Ginsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:54 PM   #2704
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evoracer View Post
Thanks Roy. It appears the problem is related to specific motors. On my Novak for instance...the sensor wire is located at the lower left corner as you look at the endbell. As you can imagine that puts it right at the lower corner of the tensioner bulkhead. No where to go but through the belt and up.
If you run the Novak Ballistic motors you won't have any problems. These new motors fit great with their new narrow end and new sensor wire placement.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 07:00 PM   #2705
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

It's what I got.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 09:11 PM   #2706
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The Orion is a little longer but still fits great. Through the brace and around.
Attached Thumbnails
Team Magic E4 Thread-zi6_0169.jpg  
__________________
"we need to do at least 11.2 km/s to break earths orbit or almost the speed as Cam's car"

Neil Armstrong 1968
Cammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:14 AM   #2707
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central PA
Posts: 549
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Default

Hello everyone.. I need to know what spares I should be looking to get at the same time I order my FS kit.. Im thinking obviously f/r arms but wolf doesnt have the E4FS front arms only the E4J.. I am guessing there the same thing but parts numbers are diffrent so just asking... Also what do you guys break so I can build up a little stock.. No one in probly a 500 mile radius from me has a E4 lol so if I break I want to be able to fix it... lol Thanks for the help in advance and hopfully I can turn some people onto the car...
RyeRey521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:30 AM   #2708
Tech Addict
 
05forfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeRey521 View Post
Hello everyone.. I need to know what spares I should be looking to get at the same time I order my FS kit.. Im thinking obviously f/r arms but wolf doesnt have the E4FS front arms only the E4J.. I am guessing there the same thing but parts numbers are diffrent so just asking... Also what do you guys break so I can build up a little stock.. No one in probly a 500 mile radius from me has a E4 lol so if I break I want to be able to fix it... lol Thanks for the help in advance and hopfully I can turn some people onto the car...
I thought about the same thing when I bought my E4RS, so according to my previous experience, I bought suspension arms, C hubs, steering blocks and dog bones. That is the experience when I started playing touring car on the carpet track with HB Cyclone and Tamiya TA05. You know what so far I have not broken any parts in my E4, I may have improved my skill a bit, but I did hit the wall seriously few times, nothing happened. So if you have some experience driving other cars on your track and gradually stop from breaking parts, you should be fine without buying any thing. If you still want to buy some just in case you would break the car, use your previous experience
05forfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:40 AM   #2709
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central PA
Posts: 549
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Default

Thanks a lot man.. yea at our track It seems like all the fast guys.. when they do break stuff they are casterblocks, arms, and outdrives... All XRay if i may add... Ill go ahead and buy a single set of arms, knuckles, blocks f/r, and possible some outdrivesand if I don't need them then it will make selling it (when of ir I do) that much easier... Ha or maybe I just like to be one of those guys with bags full of spares lol... Thanks for your input forfun... I have only been racing for 2/3 months lol granted I really don't hit too much but I know the transition to Rubber touring will involve some walls lol
RyeRey521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 04:51 AM   #2710
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Be aware there are two different types of arms. There are the "foam" arms and the RS or "rubber spec" arms. The rubber spec arms give a little bit more suspension travel and help the car with the correct ride height with obviously rubber tires. The FS "foam spec" arms are beefier and raise the ride height a little because of the low height of foam tires.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 08:19 AM   #2711
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeRey521 View Post
Thanks a lot man.. yea at our track It seems like all the fast guys.. when they do break stuff they are casterblocks, arms, and outdrives... All XRay if i may add... Ill go ahead and buy a single set of arms, knuckles, blocks f/r, and possible some outdrivesand if I don't need them then it will make selling it (when of ir I do) that much easier... Ha or maybe I just like to be one of those guys with bags full of spares lol... Thanks for your input forfun... I have only been racing for 2/3 months lol granted I really don't hit too much but I know the transition to Rubber touring will involve some walls lol
You have PM.
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 09:02 AM   #2712
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac View Post
It's what I got.
Awesome. I know if I still ran touring car I would of bought a 2nd E4FS at the price Wolf had them for. What a deal on the car. I say that price and was like OMG!!!!!!!
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 10:58 AM   #2713
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac View Post
What battery pack do you have in your E4? I've seen the Intellects in E4s and just wondering if SMCs fit and anything else.
Dude, go Lipo. The E4 is best suited for it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evoracer View Post
Whats the chosen method of routing for the sensor wire on these. I had a JS and the sensor wire on my Novak 17.5 SS was a pain to route. The only sensible way was to go through the belt and over the top of the chassis. Bending it to go in between bulkheads and out the other side was impossible since it prohibited the motor from being able to rotate toward the front of the car. And even then I still couldnt rotate the motor all the way because the sensor wire boot bumped into the bulkhead?
What motor are you using? I have a Losi Xcelorin in mine and have no problems routing the sensor wire over or under the battery cover. You just have to watch out at around the motor where the wire loops into the motor so that the looped wire sticking out doesn't hit the belts. Its best that you get a long sensor wire so that you have some slack to work with. Stormer Hobbies has some.
https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...ns&pn=LRP81910

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpatel529 View Post
To increase front and rear track, is everyone using the aftermarket wheel hex adaptors that add offset? Can you use the ones made by other companies like Tamiya or will they not fit the pin? Any information would be helpful.
Tamiya and others like it won't work. The E4 kinda carries over from the G4 which has some compatibility with the old Kyosho and Reflex gas cars. You will need to get a clamping hub for any of those nitro TC to work on the E4.
http://www.rc-mushroom.com/product_i...oducts_id=1479

If you don't want to go to that expense you can always use the 1mm wheel spacers that HPI has.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpatel529 View Post
Also has anyone tried to use the KO PDS-951 ICS servo in their E4? It is a 1/12 servo that weights 29g but is 0.09 seconds and 107 oz of torque. Will the mounting holes support this or would you have to find a different way to mount it?
I use the 2413ICS low profile.

It fits perfectly on my JS. Plus its super smooth and has plenty of torque.
http://www.kopropo.com/america/index...=25&Itemid=127
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 11:03 AM   #2714
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

LOL - C'mon man I know that. Which Lipo "pack" is what I was saying. Does anyone still use NiMh besides mod racers? Did he say that... "go Lipo"

Quote:
Originally Posted by YR4Dude View Post
Dude, go Lipo. The E4 is best suited for it.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 11:15 AM   #2715
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac View Post
LOL - C'mon man I know that. Which Lipo "pack" is what I was saying. Does anyone still use NiMh besides mod racers? Did he say that... "go Lipo"
I just saw the word "Intellec" and all I can think of was those krapped out 4300s sitting on my shelf. I haven't gotten used to their name with Lipos yet.
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
team magic m1b pitdog Nitro Off-Road 447 04-30-2013 09:17 AM
FS: Team Magic G4 - LRP Z12R Team Spec 2 - Add RX/TX LogiK Australia For Sale/Trade 1 08-03-2007 02:00 AM
Brian Berry Joins Team Phenix/Team Magic Motorman Nitro On-Road 27 03-07-2006 05:51 AM
Team Magic G4 J_Longbrake R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-07-2004 07:56 PM
Team Magic G4 "Black Magic" tennessee Nitro On-Road 32 04-20-2003 11:40 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:11 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net