Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 07-07-2015, 04:02 AM
  #9481  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
vicscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 138
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Hobbywing Ezrun 150a ESC losing power

Hi, I'm running the Hobbywing 150a ESC with a Toro sensorless 4600kv motor, it runs fine for about 5mins or so then seems to lose power when i apply any Throttle. It does'nt stop completely just loses about 95% of it's power but if i go off and on with the Throttle or roll to a stop and hit the Throttle again it seems to go back to full power again. Any advice muchly appreciated. Cheers
vicscott is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 04:58 AM
  #9482  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
cjanderson3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: brookfield il.
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vicscott
Hi, I'm running the Hobbywing 150a ESC with a Toro sensorless 4600kv motor, it runs fine for about 5mins or so then seems to lose power when i apply any Throttle. It does'nt stop completely just loses about 95% of it's power but if i go off and on with the Throttle or roll to a stop and hit the Throttle again it seems to go back to full power again. Any advice muchly appreciated. Cheers
Maybe the same issue I had on the last page!?!? Try setting your lvc to 2.8 and try again.
cjanderson3 is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 02:36 PM
  #9483  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (30)
 
advpball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

so i got sct pro esc in tekno eb48 and put savox 2274 hv servo and got 1 race before my radio said 3.8 voltage... battery in car and radio fully charged..so did it burn out my esc...radio works on my other sct 410 tekno,same sct pro esc,...

Also tried different servo and receiver still does the same..when i wiggle steering back and forth,thinking capacitor is shot?

Thanks Jeff
advpball is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 04:57 PM
  #9484  
Tech Master
iTrader: (243)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 243 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by advpball
so i got sct pro esc in tekno eb48 and put savox 2274 hv servo and got 1 race before my radio said 3.8 voltage... battery in car and radio fully charged..so did it burn out my esc...radio works on my other sct 410 tekno,same sct pro esc,...

Also tried different servo and receiver still does the same..when i wiggle steering back and forth,thinking capacitor is shot?

Thanks Jeff
Please explain this comment: got 1 race before my radio said 3.8 voltage
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 05:22 PM
  #9485  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
R1Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,183
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vicscott
Hi, I'm running the Hobbywing 150a ESC with a Toro sensorless 4600kv motor, it runs fine for about 5mins or so then seems to lose power when i apply any Throttle. It does'nt stop completely just loses about 95% of it's power but if i go off and on with the Throttle or roll to a stop and hit the Throttle again it seems to go back to full power again. Any advice muchly appreciated. Cheers
I had a similar issue. Try updating the firmware.
R1Joel is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 06:20 PM
  #9486  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (30)
 
advpball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

1- 5 min race then 2nd race radio went to safety... 3.8 volts flash on radio ? not enough power for radio.

ok R1joel i'll try that...Thanks don't remember if i ever did that it's been in there for 2 years..lol no updates,,always worked good until new servo.
advpball is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 06:40 PM
  #9487  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
cjanderson3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: brookfield il.
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

^
cjanderson3 is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 11:00 PM
  #9488  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Carter Flotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vicscott
Hi, I'm running the Hobbywing 150a ESC with a Toro sensorless 4600kv motor, it runs fine for about 5mins or so then seems to lose power when i apply any Throttle. It does'nt stop completely just loses about 95% of it's power but if i go off and on with the Throttle or roll to a stop and hit the Throttle again it seems to go back to full power again. Any advice muchly appreciated. Cheers
Originally Posted by cjanderson3
Maybe the same issue I had on the last page!?!? Try setting your lvc to 2.8 and try again.
First thing I thought was to lower the LVC as well. Are you running the newest software for the ESC as well? That seems to eliminate a lot of these issues.
Carter Flotron is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 10:40 AM
  #9489  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dayjef
I am running a Xerun stock spec V3.1 ESC with my 4pls in mod buggy. The question I have is what do I need to do to the ESC if anything to get my car to stop? It just wants to coast when I apply the brake and I have been messing with the end points and all of the brake settings on the Xmitter. Any help that anyone has would be great.
Try playing with your initial brake setting and see if that help's.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 10:43 AM
  #9490  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by advpball
so i got sct pro esc in tekno eb48 and put savox 2274 hv servo and got 1 race before my radio said 3.8 voltage... battery in car and radio fully charged..so did it burn out my esc...radio works on my other sct 410 tekno,same sct pro esc,...

Also tried different servo and receiver still does the same..when i wiggle steering back and forth,thinking capacitor is shot?

Thanks Jeff
Try this......unplug the unit from the battery and touch the pos. And neg. Wires together to discharge the capacitor, then try the unit again.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 10:47 AM
  #9491  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Jsmax........is your problem fixed now?
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 11:09 AM
  #9492  
Tech Master
iTrader: (243)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 243 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by advpball
1- 5 min race then 2nd race radio went to safety... 3.8 volts flash on radio ? not enough power for radio.
Sorry for my potential ignorance here but if your radio is at 3.8v then you probably need to put new batteries in it, not an esc issue.
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 11:20 AM
  #9493  
Tech Adept
 
jmkalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 163
Default Max 8 Major Fail?

Tell me this is something simple, but I can't figure out what's wrong.

Out of the box, Max 8, just hooked it up. Power it up (4s) and the ESC powers up, but no power is delivered from the ESC to the receiver (no steering, no light on the rx, and the transponder is not flashing). When I unplug the ESC from the receiver, the fan starts up. Plug it back in, the fan shuts off.

Problem with the speedo, or some quirk I am overlooking. Baffled here...
jmkalt is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 11:25 AM
  #9494  
Tech Master
iTrader: (243)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 243 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jmkalt
Tell me this is something simple, but I can't figure out what's wrong.

Out of the box, Max 8, just hooked it up. Power it up (4s) and the ESC powers up, but no power is delivered from the ESC to the receiver (no steering, no light on the rx, and the transponder is not flashing). When I unplug the ESC from the receiver, the fan starts up. Plug it back in, the fan shuts off.

Problem with the speedo, or some quirk I am overlooking. Baffled here...
Did you calibrate the esc to the radio?
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 11:31 AM
  #9495  
Tech Adept
 
jmkalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 163
Default

Originally Posted by nitro_mt_racer
Did you calibrate the esc to the radio?
Wish I could. Since the ESC won't power up the receiver, the ESC doesn't receive any signal from the radio to calibrate to.

Also, I tried hooking up both my program box, and the program card that came with the ESC. Neither one works. I get "connecting" on the box, and all dashes on the card.

The most troubling thing is that the fan shuts off when I plug the wire into the receiver. Something has to be very wrong.

Bad ESC out of the box? Not good.
jmkalt is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.