R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2008, 05:44 AM   #391
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurly View Post
Ya, hes OK sometimes.............LOL.........Man some thanks I get.....LOL
Glad to hear everything is working out for you.......Kurly
I am only ok when I hang out with Kurly. lol
xspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 06:05 AM   #392
-_-
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 18
Default

hi guys... does anyone know if idm con-rod are interchangeable with mega zx12 engine? Thanks!
-_- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 06:23 AM   #393
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Miami
Posts: 524
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -_- View Post
hi guys... does anyone know if idm con-rod are interchangeable with mega zx12 engine? Thanks!
yes it is but only if your Mega ZX engine is a DSII+ but if its the first vesion no it will not work ,the pin on the piston is smaller..
Roniel_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 07:02 AM   #394
Tech Regular
 
jameslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somewhere?????
Posts: 381
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hi... just to check does 2008 orion crf .12 engine carb and idm carb the same? what actually i want to know is the carb inlet diamenter the same?

Thanks!
jameslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 02:08 AM   #395
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default can't hold idle

hi,
my idm 12evo3 can't hold a stable idle...the moment i let off the throttle; it'll just die off. if i throttle from about 1/4 to max, it's ok.

however, if i adjust the idle screw to have a 2-3mm gap; it seems ok but isn't 2-3mm idle gap too much?

is it caused by the lsn being too rich or too lean? how to tell?
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 05:18 AM   #396
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroWD View Post
hi,
my idm 12evo3 can't hold a stable idle...the moment i let off the throttle; it'll just die off. if i throttle from about 1/4 to max, it's ok.

however, if i adjust the idle screw to have a 2-3mm gap; it seems ok but isn't 2-3mm idle gap too much?

is it caused by the lsn being too rich or too lean? how to tell?

Your needle settings are what seem to be wrong. Also check to see if everything else is ok as well. Make sure no air leaks in the fuel line as well and then just reset the needles and start over. You may be chasing the needles at this point. Turn the HSN to flush with the needle housing and then turn the LSN to around 3mm out of the housing as well. With the adapter for the servo connection on. This is where it will protrude from. These are rich settings so work from there with the HSN first get that set so the engine pulls strong down the straight then move to the LSN and work with the idle. Raise the idle so it runs and then make sure the engine has good smoke of the corner for about 1/4 of the length from the turn to the next turn this will me slightly rich but then you can set the idle and work on fine tuning it. If you need some more help PM me.
xspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 06:05 AM   #397
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

when re setting if your low speed needle is easy to turn you may need new oring's, there only $4 for 6 i just replaced mine
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 05:39 PM   #398
Tech Master
 
helivaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

listen to jerry (xspower) he's a master on these idm piccos.
helivaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 05:47 PM   #399
Tech Regular
 
jameslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somewhere?????
Posts: 381
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

does idm work well with nova carb? or it will give more trobule to tunning? Thanks!
jameslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 09:17 PM   #400
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xspower View Post
Your needle settings are what seem to be wrong. Also check to see if everything else is ok as well. Make sure no air leaks in the fuel line as well and then just reset the needles and start over. You may be chasing the needles at this point. Turn the HSN to flush with the needle housing and then turn the LSN to around 3mm out of the housing as well. With the adapter for the servo connection on. This is where it will protrude from. These are rich settings so work from there with the HSN first get that set so the engine pulls strong down the straight then move to the LSN and work with the idle. Raise the idle so it runs and then make sure the engine has good smoke of the corner for about 1/4 of the length from the turn to the next turn this will me slightly rich but then you can set the idle and work on fine tuning it. If you need some more help PM me.
hi xs,thankyou for yr reply; i'll try again and see how it goes.

so it's ok for the idle gap to be large as to get the engine to idle without stalling and work on the hsn 1st?

what's the supposed/stock idle gap for yr above mentioned stock lsn and hsn settings?
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 05:27 AM   #401
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have never seen a set gap. We can get close with the size but all engines are different. I will get some more info and post it. It can be a little large not excessive if this is the case there is another issue. But do not be afraid to turn the idle speed up a little. And yes it is ok to get the idle going and work with the HSN. But keep in mind that you want to get that set as quick as you can or as close to being set. The key to this is to get the engine running on the starter and then get the idle somewhat decent. Not sceaming high. Get the engine warm then run the car on the track. 2 laps fast as you can drive do not wreck the car. Set the needle with these laps 2 at a time slow down in the infield you are working only with the HSN. The work with the LSN after you have to good power. Then when you work with the LSN work with the idle this will also change as you change the LSN. Remember that the engine does not tune like a Nova it runs a little leaner on top and richer on bottom.
xspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 11:54 PM   #402
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default leaking carb?

hi xs,
something about the carb 'neck' which goes into the engine...
there's a gasket at the neck; will this gasket be visible after installing the carb into the engine? or this gasket shld actually goes 'into' the engine and not visible at all?

i discovered that there're oil around the 'neck' area.
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 03:44 AM   #403
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You should see the gasket but nothing more. It should be compressed. The carb fits tight into the engine. If there is a leak this will also make your needle settings all off. Make sure the carb is seated in. If the carb body does not go in all the way take some real fine sand paper wet/dry maube 600 grit or higher. And clean up the small aluminum area on the bottom then the carb will go into the engine a little smother also use some light oil for the neck when installing. So it will work past the oring in the engine case.
xspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 10:37 AM   #404
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Usually with Picco based carbs if you are having to turn the idle way up to keep it running then the LSN is too rich. Lean the bottom and if the motor starts to get a lean hesitation then richen the top.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 03:31 PM   #405
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

If you set the needles with low speed to lean you will end up with a lean engine at about 2 min into a race or qual. if you are pushing the car. The engine has to be rich on the bottom to keep the engine cool. If you richen the top in a effort to make a large change in engine temp to the engine you will slow the engine down as the top now will be to lean. The engines do not tun like a Nova engine or Sirio's They use the low speed needle to keep the engine cool. The engines normally will have a larger idle gap then any others due to the rich low speed. This does not at all mean that the engine should be stumbling rich of the corner it should be crisp and smooth with alot of smoke like I said earlier. If you are stumbling rich on the bottom then do as Sean stated above and lean bottom and very slightly richen the top. And I mean small amount for the top needle.
xspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CEN Products SCOOTER29 Rookie Zone 9 09-22-2005 01:57 AM
cen products chifan26 Nitro On-Road 7 09-19-2005 02:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:41 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net