R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2006, 08:16 PM   #2911
Tech Elite
 
Racing4Evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Racing4Evo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stew
Building a new MTX4 soon and was wondering what steering and throttle servos you are using.

Stew
Steering is Airtronics 94360
I would suggest a KO digital though. I think my servo is developing centering problems.

Throttle is Airtronics 94737
I think this is the best servo out there for throttle. You don't need tremendous power or speed for a throttle servo. It's accurate and has a perfect balance of torque and speed. I have one that I bought 3 years ago when I started the hobby and I've used it in everyone of my cars including my current car.
Racing4Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 06:57 AM   #2912
Tech Master
 
Grinder's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,857
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I ran the MTX4 again yesterday. I tried different things and the car is getting better, and better. The biggest improvement I made was to take those stupid o rings out of the front outdrives, they were binding at full lock. Narrowed front end slightly. I also added more camber to the rear which helped a lot. Did some other minor things and the car is good. Thanks for all the tips.
__________________
www.murnanmodified.com
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 09:30 AM   #2913
Tech Rookie
 
Gemnic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 9
Default

If I get a specktrum, do I have to use digital servos ?
Gemnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 09:40 AM   #2914
Tech Elite
 
Derby Bros Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,209
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemnic
If I get a specktrum, do I have to use digital servos ?
no not necessarily. it will work with both analog and digital servos or combined.
Derby Bros Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 10:43 AM   #2915
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 115
Default

I love the car and how it handles but I kept on striping out the 2nd gear. I do not know what to do. I notice that the swaybar sort of touches the 2-speed housing. It happens about 2 minutes into a race. I'm not using the engine-brace so could it be flexing?
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 11:06 AM   #2916
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Thumbs up

Ahhh! you should of told me that yesturday william hahaha yes that is the whole reason why your car is stripping the second gear.

Cody
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 11:09 AM   #2917
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 115
Default

Well after reading the past post, my problem might be the clutchbell touching the 2peed housing because theres a ring on it from something rubbing it. Also, I guess I could smooth out the shifting of first to second gear because rightnow it has a hard snap to it. I like that feeling but if its going to create a situation with the 2nd gear, I could do without it. I ran the car yesterday and I was amazed at how hard I could push it and how good the setting stayed after a race. With the TC3, everything would change after 20 min.
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 11:11 AM   #2918
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 115
Default

I know. I thought it was the sway-bar doing it. What happen to you? Did you end up breaking?
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 11:13 AM   #2919
Tech Rookie
 
Gemnic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks Jo
Gemnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 11:15 AM   #2920
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Default

That little block that goes into the diff to make it a solid axle stripped out.
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 11:19 AM   #2921
Tech Rookie
 
Gemnic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo Gutierrez
no not necessarily. it will work with both analog and digital servos or combined.
Thanks Jo !!
Gemnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 11:51 AM   #2922
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 115
Smile

Cody, next time, if you need one, just let me know. If I would have known yesterday, you could have been racing. Its just that plastic block right? Well next time.
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 11:52 AM   #2923
Tech Elite
 
Corse-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 2,121
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasRacer
That little block that goes into the diff to make it a solid axle stripped out.


How you stripped a solid plastic piece that goes solidly attached to the outdrives??? Maybe some gorilla tried to twist each wheel on the axle in different directions?
__________________
Cheers,
Corse-R
---
[quote=MugenDrew;2684554]BATTERIES are for FLASH LIGHTS, gasoline is for cleanin parts, alcohol is for me to drink and well NITRO...everybody know thats for racing.[/quote] :D:D:D
Corse-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 12:14 PM   #2924
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgreen
I love the car and how it handles but I kept on striping out the 2nd gear. I do not know what to do. I notice that the swaybar sort of touches the 2-speed housing. It happens about 2 minutes into a race. I'm not using the engine-brace so could it be flexing?
Put the engine brace back on. Why would you not use this?
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 01:31 PM   #2925
Tech Elite
 
Corse-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 2,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgreen
I love the car and how it handles but I kept on striping out the 2nd gear. I do not know what to do. I notice that the swaybar sort of touches the 2-speed housing. It happens about 2 minutes into a race. I'm not using the engine-brace so could it be flexing?
As Scott told you, why you would run your car without the engine brace? Basically flex and distortion on the place where the engine and gears come is the worst thing you can desire for the correct handling & gearbox healt of your car.

If you need to generate more grip, you can do it via other ways, never making the car flexes on that vital point. A flexible chassis makes the car easier to drive it but is not the way where you need to generate more grip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgreen
Well after reading the past post, my problem might be the clutchbell touching the 2peed housing because theres a ring on it from something rubbing it. Also, I guess I could smooth out the shifting of first to second gear because rightnow it has a hard snap to it. I like that feeling but if its going to create a situation with the 2nd gear, I could do without it. I ran the car yesterday and I was amazed at how hard I could push it and how good the setting stayed after a race. With the TC3, everything would change after 20 min.
If you need more snap on the shifting to the second gear, you can do it via other ways, a too tight 2nd gear clucht makes the shifting too late. Probably you can get better results changing the 2nd gear and assuring the surface where the shoes ride is free of dirt, debriss and sanding a little to make it rougher (sand a little the surface of the shoes too, just to asure that none glaze is over the shoe where it contacts with the bell).
__________________
Cheers,
Corse-R
---
[quote=MugenDrew;2684554]BATTERIES are for FLASH LIGHTS, gasoline is for cleanin parts, alcohol is for me to drink and well NITRO...everybody know thats for racing.[/quote] :D:D:D
Corse-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MUGEN MBX5R/MUGEN MBX5T PROSPEC/TRAXXAS RACE REVO Jason Halvorson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 01-12-2008 10:32 AM
Mugen 5T Chassis, Mugen 46 Tooth Pinion, Associated Ride Height Gauge bretzkej R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-19-2007 06:31 PM
USA's Most Wanted FOR SALE Mugen MBX5R,Losi 8 comp, and Mugen MBX5T Prospec Truggy nobike R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 69 04-28-2007 07:45 PM
Another MTX3 prospec w lots of parts and an optional Mugen X12 w Mugen pipe Scott Fisher R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 11-21-2005 05:45 PM
drake xxx nt and mugen mst-1+extras......Looking for a kanai 2 or maybe mugen buggy [email protected] R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-30-2003 09:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net