R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2005, 08:33 AM   #20956
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: ZX-12 RACE Factory Settings

Quote:
Originally posted by Paolo M
What i do is pinch the fuel line and the engine need to keep the same rpm ad idle for 5 sec., then start to rev up.
Hey Paolo, good to see you replying here.

I think most of us use an external Tornado fuel filter and try to make the fuel line from the carb to the tank as short as possible due to the 75 cc fuel limit. So where do you suggest at what point we pinch the fuel line?
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 08:37 AM   #20957
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by B4
Wouldn't having LSN richer mean that more pre-tension was required so the the engine would be able to build revs before clutch engagement.
Yup. That's what I thought too.

The way I interpret is like this... When your bottom end LSN is lean, then you have plenty of bottom end power. When the clutch engages, it does not bog down the low end and because of the good launch on the low end (because of it being lean), you may set the pre-tension nut loose.

When you set the LSN rich, the engine may seem to bog down when the clutch engages. Seemingly not enough power or RPM to pull the car in first gear.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 09:32 AM   #20958
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: ZX-12 RACE Factory Settings

Quote:
Originally posted by Paolo M
Hi Guys,


Nice Answer, Paolo!! Thanks, Mark.
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 09:58 AM   #20959
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 826
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: ZX-12 RACE Factory Settings

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Hey Paolo, good to see you replying here.

I think most of us use an external Tornado fuel filter and try to make the fuel line from the carb to the tank as short as possible due to the 75 cc fuel limit. So where do you suggest at what point we pinch the fuel line?
Hi D,

I have i lot of things to do but i will try to be more active on the forum
Yes, the fuel filter is a must to be sure to have a consistency. I have the fuel filter in the middle of the line and the line is as short as possible (the line is rounding the carb from the rigth side, rear view). I pinch after the filter.
Paolo M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:27 AM   #20960
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

I'm going to have to update that old FAQ will all these good pieces of information flying around! Oh well, here goes
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:56 AM   #20961
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
I'm going to have to update that old FAQ will all these good pieces of information flying around! Oh well, here goes
Yeah.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:59 AM   #20962
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
And no thoughts of sending it for a software upgrade?

Do you have two receivers?
Nope ... no need for software upgrades at the mo. Works very well and at the last track, when I tried my other car which has a 40MHz XTal in it, interference at two spots on the straight. Everyone using the upper 40MHz channels also had problems.

I only have one receiver and it looks like I won't buy more because I've been informed that the BRCA has not approved it for use!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:00 AM   #20963
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
It's a trick I tell you. A tripod. Or Master Mark is a 3 handed Jedi.
He's a FOUR handed Jedi ... I know, I've met him!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:40 AM   #20964
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sow&Steady
He's a FOUR handed Jedi ... I know, I've met him!
Don't believe him, D - you know Sow is cross-eyed, he sees everything doubled
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:41 AM   #20965
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sow&Steady
Nope ... no need for software upgrades at the mo. Works very well and at the last track, when I tried my other car which has a 40MHz XTal in it, interference at two spots on the straight. Everyone using the upper 40MHz channels also had problems.

I only have one receiver and it looks like I won't buy more because I've been informed that the BRCA has not approved it for use!
Does this mean you can't use it for the remaining races?
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:42 AM   #20966
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sow&Steady
Yeah.
Ehhm, anyone know where I put the Framemaker file for the FAQ?? I can't find it
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:58 AM   #20967
jag
Tech Master
 
jag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. Florida
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Here's a pic - it can explain it better than I can in words


I measure from the end of the flywheel retaining nut to the top of pre-tension nut with calipers in this manner:



The clutch was nice, it wasn't too agressive - probably you'd need to use a bigger clutch gap and/or grubscrews in the flyweights to achieve this.

My pit monkey is Sow&Steady - are you sure you want him or are you after the services of the one true Pit Prophet??
That's good information, thanks. I assume that the flyweights just lie between the pegs in the flywheel?

The "pit monkey" I was refering to was Rene but if you are willing to send Sow over I will give him a try.
jag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 12:02 PM   #20968
jag
Tech Master
 
jag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. Florida
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Last year I was simply using the calipers wrong and getting a very inacurate gap measurement. Once I worked out how it should be really done, I thought it would be the end of my problems, but it was still the same.
After talking to Onkel Sow, he suggested grinding out the first gear a little, so the bearing would fit in easily even when the two gears are screwed together.
This last tip seems to have sorted the rest of my problems out.....I hope

Cheers, Mark.
So I'm not the only one who has to take first gear off to get the bearing out?
jag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 12:03 PM   #20969
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jag
That's good information, thanks. I assume that the flyweights just lie between the pegs in the flywheel?
Yep. You'll find that's the only way they'll fit, so it isn't so easy to make a mistake.....big advantage for me

Quote:
The "pit monkey" I was refering to was Rene but if you are willing to send Sow over I will give him a try.
Ah! Sure, Sow's available anytime - you can keep him if you wish But the Pit Prophet isn't available for hire
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 12:04 PM   #20970
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jag
So I'm not the only one who has to take first gear off to get the bearing out?
No, this is standard - but I think it is better to use a dremel to take some material off carefully until the bearing slides in and out just nicely
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:35 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net