Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Old 06-14-2011, 05:47 PM
  #2926  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
azz187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default loose srews??

Had a great time with the car this weekend, had heaps of grip and the car felt awesome.
However after a few runs I'm finding the screws from the top and bottom deck backing up and loosening completely, so I'm having to re-tighten the chassis frequently.
Is this a problem that anyone else has had? Looks like I might have to get out the locktite...

Cheers.. Azza
azz187 is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:56 PM
  #2927  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by azz187
Had a great time with the car this weekend, had heaps of grip and the car felt awesome.
However after a few runs I'm finding the screws from the top and bottom deck backing up and loosening completely, so I'm having to re-tighten the chassis frequently.
Is this a problem that anyone else has had? Looks like I might have to get out the locktite...

Cheers.. Azza
I think you are experiencing a little "break-in" "stretching" of the threads while the car is new. I have noticed this with other cars. The screws should stay tight shortly.
Maybell is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:59 PM
  #2928  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
AM03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,046
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Here's Pics...





Last edited by AM03GT; 11-11-2013 at 11:39 AM.
AM03GT is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 08:19 PM
  #2929  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Verndog
There really is no need, I thread lock them to "factory" block setting with a gage for anyone preferring to leave them there only. It's best to use a feeler gage between block and chassis to set when you adjust them (to get perfect), then use the top set screw to add just a touch of tension after locking down main screw to prevent it from being able to back out.
Cheers Verndog!!
Lionel S is offline  
Old 06-15-2011, 08:25 PM
  #2930  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kent, Wa
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Finally got my TC6's put together and my TC5 Exotek setup

Just finished the setup on all 3 TC's .. the only thing i am short now is gearing for the 13.5.

Car 1 and 2 are identical TC6's except motors:

Car: Team Associated TC6
Speedo: Tekin RS Pro
Motor: 1 has Tekin 13.5 and 1 has Tekin 17.5
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: JR DS9100S
Transponder: AMB RC4
Body: Mazda 6

Car 3 is a TC5

Car: Team Associated TC5 w/ Exotek Conversion
Speedo: Speed Passion Cirtix Stock Club
Motor: Novak Ballistic 21.5 (have Novak 25.5 also)
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: KO Pro PDS-2163 ICS
Transponder: I need to get one for this car =(
Body: Mazda 6 for now but need a VTA body

I cannot wait to get them out on the track to play. The wife is giving me a hard time for throwing so much money at them but not even putting an hour on the road with them yet lol.










Last edited by specc; 06-15-2011 at 08:54 PM.
specc is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 04:34 AM
  #2931  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by specc
J
Nice bodies, nice cars.

Please try do something with wiring.

Engines like on pictrures doesn't need 14awg wires, 16awg will be ok.

Try made wires clean,short,nice.

Wish you good luck!
m
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:53 AM
  #2932  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 32,988
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by specc
Just finished the setup on all 3 TC's .. the only thing i am short now is gearing for the 13.5.

Car 1 and 2 are identical TC6's except motors:

Car: Team Associated TC6
Speedo: Tekin RS Pro
Motor: 1 has Tekin 13.5 and 1 has Tekin 17.5
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: JR DS9100S
Transponder: AMB RC4
Body: Mazda 6

Car 3 is a TC5

Car: Team Associated TC5 w/ Exotek Conversion
Speedo: Speed Passion Cirtix Stock Club
Motor: Novak Ballistic 21.5 (have Novak 25.5 also)
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: KO Pro PDS-2163 ICS
Transponder: I need to get one for this car =(
Body: Mazda 6 for now but need a VTA body

I cannot wait to get them out on the track to play. The wife is giving me a hard time for throwing so much money at them but not even putting an hour on the road with them yet lol.









nice pcars but FYI on the tekin you shouldnt heatwrap the wires in the esc the tekin uses those post to release heat like a heatsink by covering them up you will be retaining more heat just fyi
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:04 AM
  #2933  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kent, Wa
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Marcos.J
nice pcars but FYI on the tekin you shouldnt heatwrap the wires in the esc the tekin uses those post to release heat like a heatsink by covering them up you will be retaining more heat just fyi
Thanks for the feedback, i will be removing the shrink wrap tonight.
specc is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:42 AM
  #2934  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 215
Default

Originally Posted by specc
Just finished the setup on all 3 TC's .. the only thing i am short now is gearing for the 13.5.

Car 1 and 2 are identical TC6's except motors:

Car: Team Associated TC6
Speedo: Tekin RS Pro
Motor: 1 has Tekin 13.5 and 1 has Tekin 17.5
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: JR DS9100S
Transponder: AMB RC4
Body: Mazda 6

Car 3 is a TC5

Car: Team Associated TC5 w/ Exotek Conversion
Speedo: Speed Passion Cirtix Stock Club
Motor: Novak Ballistic 21.5 (have Novak 25.5 also)
Receiver: Spektrum 3520
Servo: KO Pro PDS-2163 ICS
Transponder: I need to get one for this car =(
Body: Mazda 6 for now but need a VTA body

I cannot wait to get them out on the track to play. The wife is giving me a hard time for throwing so much money at them but not even putting an hour on the road with them yet lol.
Treaded tires are on backwards on the TC6.

For a Tekin 13.5 on boost in my TC5/TC6 I typically use 24/87 48 pitch with 40 boost (5400-20,000 RPM), 14 turbo, 0.5 delay and level 2 turbo. This is with standard size slicks like Sweep EXP on a medium sized outdoor track. Treaded tires are typically a bit taller than slicks so if you're running the treaded tires and boost/turbo drop the pinion a tooth or 2 and check your temps frequently.
spongerX is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:53 AM
  #2935  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kent, Wa
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by spongerX
Treaded tires are on backwards on the TC6.

For a Tekin 13.5 on boost in my TC5/TC6 I typically use 24/87 48 pitch with 40 boost (5400-20,000 RPM), 14 turbo, 0.5 delay and level 2 turbo. This is with standard size slicks like Sweep EXP on a medium sized outdoor track. Treaded tires are typically a bit taller than slicks so if you're running the treaded tires and boost/turbo drop the pinion a tooth or 2 and check your temps frequently.
The tires were more for just the photos.. they will not be used. Thanks for the feedback on the 13.5 !
specc is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 11:25 AM
  #2936  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 215
Default

Originally Posted by specc
The tires were more for just the photos.. they will not be used. Thanks for the feedback on the 13.5 !
Oh and I run as low motor timing as possible. The older Tekin 13.5 motors came factory default around 8 or 12 degrees of motor timing. The newer ones are around 4. I adjust the ring to get as close to 0 on the can marking as possible to get more torque at lower RPMs.
spongerX is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 05:00 PM
  #2937  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,702
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys just picked up a tc6 and going to start the build. My question is why do the shocks only come with 2 hole pistons?? I would like to use a 3 hole piston. Can I use pistons from another manufactor?? Thanks for the help!!
Potoczak is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 05:34 PM
  #2938  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Verndog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Potoczak
Hey guys just picked up a tc6 and going to start the build. My question is why do the shocks only come with 2 hole pistons?? I would like to use a 3 hole piston. Can I use pistons from another manufactor?? Thanks for the help!!
Yes, Losi #57 or 56 work well.

http://www.losipartshouse.com/servle...2357%2C/Detail
Verndog is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 05:41 PM
  #2939  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,893
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Potoczak
Hey guys just picked up a tc6 and going to start the build. My question is why do the shocks only come with 2 hole pistons?? I would like to use a 3 hole piston. Can I use pistons from another manufactor?? Thanks for the help!!
I use the Two hole pistons and drill them to 1.2mm ea. I also use 40wt oil front and 35 wt. oil rear for med-high bite asphalt.

Mike
Big Features is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 08:29 AM
  #2940  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

There is nothing wrong with two hole pistons.
Rick Hohwart is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.