R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2010, 09:30 AM   #3046
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I bought the Wolfhobbies alloy upgrade set and have to say that a lot of slop is gone.http://www.wolfhobbies.com/product.c...7&product=8351
The only bit of slop i have is on the outside of the axle where the wheels go.
This is due to the 2 piece set of the outside of the axle.
At the moment i ordered the steel hubs from the E4JS and some clamb on wheel hexes to get rid of all the slop there..
I am also waiting on a set of red shocks so i can complete my E4 to a red racing monster.
If i have them fitted i will post some pics up as the car looks rather nice with all those red parts

cheers Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by blis View Post
Isaac.. do the Alu hubs remove the slop?
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 09:46 AM   #3047
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blis View Post
Isaac.. do the Alu hubs remove the slop?
Yes they did for the most part although right now the left hub carrier has a "little" slop just because of wear. I haven't really broken anything except dog bones.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 09:47 AM   #3048
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
I haven't got yet my TM RS'09 but i read here that you cannot fit all the BL motors without some dremel work on the belt tensioner.Why this?Because of the motors lenght or something else?Could someone help me please to get the picture?
Yes because of the motor length. Novak Ballistic motors work without any modifications.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:24 AM   #3049
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
I bought the Wolfhobbies alloy upgrade set and have to say that a lot of slop is gone.http://www.wolfhobbies.com/product.c...7&product=8351
The only bit of slop i have is on the outside of the axle where the wheels go.
This is due to the 2 piece set of the outside of the axle.
At the moment i ordered the steel hubs from the E4JS and some clamb on wheel hexes to get rid of all the slop there..
I am also waiting on a set of red shocks so i can complete my E4 to a red racing monster.
If i have them fitted i will post some pics up as the car looks rather nice with all those red parts

cheers Roy
Cool. You will have to post some pics when you have it all done.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:26 AM   #3050
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Not only the lenght of the motor but also the shape.
The LRP X11 motors fit perfectly without the use of a dremel.
It is because of the backside shape of the motor.
If it is tapered it fits ok,if it is like the Tekin or GM motors with a 90 degrees backside,you have to dremel a bit on the side belt tensioner and the left bulkhead to get anough room to play with the gears.

cheers Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
I haven't got yet my TM RS'09 but i read here that you cannot fit all the BL motors without some dremel work on the belt tensioner.Why this?Because of the motors lenght or something else?Could someone help me please to get the picture?
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)

Last edited by Pro10noob; 02-12-2010 at 10:46 AM.
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:28 AM   #3051
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac View Post
I suggest front steel universals, purple and pink springs, set of shims from www.wolfhobbies.com in 1 and 2 mm sizes, get the aluminum single bell crank (steering), 110 spur for more brushless gearing options and that's all I can think of now. I have all aluminum hubs and steering knuckles.
whats the part no for the alum single arm steering? that looks like something i want to add. same goes for the 2 red upgrade kits
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:31 AM   #3052
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalobill989 View Post
whats the part no for the alum single arm steering? that looks like something i want to add. same goes for the 2 red upgrade kits
http://www.wolfhobbies.com/product.c...3&product=9400

Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:32 AM   #3053
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

thanks. i didnt look into the kfactory stuff.
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:36 AM   #3054
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

is that all i need or do i need a single bell crank conversion. ive got an older e4 that has the dual bell crank. thanks for the help
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:38 AM   #3055
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Not sure about the older chassis and all that may be needed. I can't answer that but call up Wolf Hobbies (or email) and they will let you know.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:42 AM   #3056
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

thanks ill shoot him an email

looks like its time to place an order
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:42 AM   #3057
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Sneak preview

cheers Roy
Sorry about the size tho









Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
Cool. You will have to post some pics when you have it all done.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:51 AM   #3058
Tech Elite
 
blis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,434
Default E4 Original

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac View Post
To use this on an E4 original you may need longer steering turnbuckles.. we did.
__________________
RC Cars: E4/G4/TCX/LAB-C02/T4'15/MM Engines
WEB: Beachmums Racing - MYRCM Race Registration
Media: Amain - RCRacingTV - RedRC - LiveRC - blisx264
blis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 01:36 PM   #3059
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Not only the lenght of the motor but also the shape.
The LRP X11 motors fit perfectly without the use of a dremel.
It is because of the backside shape of the motor.
If it is tapered it fits ok,if it is like the Tekin or GM motors with a 90 degrees backside,you have to dremel a bit on the side belt tensioner and the left bulkhead to get anough room to play with the gears.

cheers Roy
Roy
Do you think i'll have some issue with this motor?
Attached Thumbnails
Team Magic E4 Thread-17.5.jpg  
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 01:46 PM   #3060
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

You *may* not because of the slanted end.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
team magic m1b pitdog Nitro Off-Road 447 04-30-2013 09:17 AM
FS: Team Magic G4 - LRP Z12R Team Spec 2 - Add RX/TX LogiK Australia For Sale/Trade 1 08-03-2007 02:00 AM
Brian Berry Joins Team Phenix/Team Magic Motorman Nitro On-Road 27 03-07-2006 05:51 AM
Team Magic G4 J_Longbrake R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-07-2004 07:56 PM
Team Magic G4 "Black Magic" tennessee Nitro On-Road 32 04-20-2003 11:40 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:49 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net