Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 10-21-2016, 09:54 PM
  #28231  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Yeah, you'll want to start with low timing on the end bell. What ESC are you using? My advice so far has assumed your ESC has a timing ramp, and isn't just applying a fixed timing adjustment. If it's doing the latter, it's basically just doing the same thing as an end bell adjustment.
I'm using tsky 120a ESC a.k.a HW xerun replica.. so HW LED or LCD prog.box can read the ESC to get setup..

Now i'm using prog.box LED not the LCD one..

What is timing ramp btw?? Still don't get it..

Is it like timing setup increasing or decreasing the timing number by number?

Because LED prog.box timing setup is like this



And this is what the track layout looks like
kytr8matic is offline  
Old 10-21-2016, 09:59 PM
  #28232  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,429
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kytr8matic
I'm using tsky 120a ESC a.k.a HW xerun replica.. so HW LED or LCD prog.box can read the ESC to get setup..

Now i'm using prog.box LED not the LCD one..

What is timing ramp btw?? Still don't get it..
Timing ramp is also known as boost. Check your manual to see if it has anything like that. Essentially you set a start amount of timing that it will use at low speeds, and a higher amount of timing that it'll use at higher speeds. At speeds somewhere in between, it'll use a timing level somewhere in between the start and end timing. If you graph the timing vs the RPM, it'll look like a ramp.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 10-21-2016, 10:05 PM
  #28233  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Timing ramp is also known as boost. Check your manual to see if it has anything like that. Essentially you set a start amount of timing that it will use at low speeds, and a higher amount of timing that it'll use at higher speeds. At speeds somewhere in between, it'll use a timing level somewhere in between the start and end timing. If you graph the timing vs the RPM, it'll look like a ramp.
Ohhh.. i get it i get it..
So next i'll just buy the LCD prog.box so it can set rpm by rpm.. and also opening the boost
kytr8matic is offline  
Old 10-21-2016, 11:01 PM
  #28234  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,429
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kytr8matic
Ohhh.. i get it i get it..
So next i'll just buy the LCD prog.box so it can set rpm by rpm.. and also opening the boost
Double check the manual to see if it's supported before investing in the LCD box, just in case it's not supported. That programming LED box looks more like the ezRun than the Xerun programmer.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 10-22-2016, 12:20 AM
  #28235  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Double check the manual to see if it's supported before investing in the LCD box, just in case it's not supported. That programming LED box looks more like the ezRun than the Xerun programmer.
Agreed, if the ESC in question the same as the programmer shown in the pic, then you may not be able to adjust the rpm settings for boost, you can just choose the amount of timing advance & everything else is set. Additionally, the total amount of timing a motor can tolerate can vary between different brands & models. For example, when Tekin's RS ESC's came out with the Hotwire programmer, we could make all those fine timing & turbo adjustments, at the time I bought one I was running Novak motors pretty exclusively(their Ballistic series). & when I tried to add some boost & Turbo & use similar settings to what my friends were using, I couldn't get my motors to run right with it, they'd either run WAY too hot, or I'd have to turn so much of it down that it'd be as slow or slower than if I used no boost at all & just ran endbell timing alone. but we all found at that time that Trinity's Duo2 motors could tolerate the timing boost quite easily for some reason, so whoever was using them could have a real advantage with boost. And even today, I'd expect that there are some motors that can handle it & some that can't, so it's always something you should approach carefully(& having fine control over the parameters is VERY important for getting right & keeping the temperatures down)....
Grizzbob is offline  
Old 10-28-2016, 01:04 AM
  #28236  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

OK, finally I'm selling something that Jim won't want...or will he.
My all-time favourite bodyshell... for less than what I'd charge to duplicate it.

tony gray is offline  
Old 10-28-2016, 09:36 AM
  #28237  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
OK, finally I'm selling something that Jim won't want...or will he.
My all-time favourite bodyshell... for less than what I'd charge to duplicate it.
That is pretty nice. Not bad for a drunken blind man. I'd destroy it in 5 minutes, though. I've tried having shelf queens. It never lasts.
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 10-28-2016, 10:28 AM
  #28238  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (75)
 
sickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 2,078
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kytr8matic
I'm using tsky 120a ESC a.k.a HW xerun replica.. so HW LED or LCD prog.box can read the ESC to get setup..

Now i'm using prog.box LED not the LCD one..

What is timing ramp btw?? Still don't get it..

Is it like timing setup increasing or decreasing the timing number by number?

Because LED prog.box timing setup is like this



And this is what the track layout looks like
What track is this and where is it?
sickboy is offline  
Old 10-30-2016, 08:43 PM
  #28239  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 52
Default

Originally Posted by sickboy
What track is this and where is it?
It's track for touring and onroad car.. asphalt surface..

And it's from indonesia at graha tamiya serpong
kytr8matic is offline  
Old 10-31-2016, 07:35 AM
  #28240  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,429
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Finally got my hands on a new Tamiya Rover Mini Cooper shell today. A guy recently built up a new kit but didn't want the shell so he sold it off. $30AUD and a 2.5 hour round trip later and it was mine I don't think he knew they were rare otherwise he would have charged more.

This one will be a shelf queen only since they're hard to replace these days...
gigaplex is offline  
Old 10-31-2016, 04:22 PM
  #28241  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

GJ getting the shell!
sakadachi is offline  
Old 11-03-2016, 02:16 PM
  #28242  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

While they aren't quite as good as the Tamiya ones...Mini Cooper shells are still readily available from Hobbyking.
These are the Matrixline ones and as far as I'm concerned are more than good enough for my needs.

https://hobbyking.com/en_us/1-10-min...m-chassis.html
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/1-10-min...m-chassis.html



tony gray is offline  
Old 11-03-2016, 03:43 PM
  #28243  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Hi guys!

I'm looking for blue plated chassis (M03(L)) for sale. If anyone have some pls let me know .

(I also find new one at HKSRC but I didn't know the website is OK or not. Have anyone got any experience of this site?)

Thanks,

Mate
matemwd is offline  
Old 11-04-2016, 05:14 AM
  #28244  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
While they aren't quite as good as the Tamiya ones...Mini Cooper shells are still readily available from Hobbyking.
These are the Matrixline ones and as far as I'm concerned are more than good enough for my needs.

https://hobbyking.com/en_us/1-10-min...m-chassis.html
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/1-10-min...m-chassis.html



Huh, should be plenty for racing purposes! Anyone post up pictures of the finished product?
But TCS won't allow them, or..?
sakadachi is offline  
Old 11-06-2016, 05:01 PM
  #28245  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Default Front axles/CVA on a mo5proV2

I finally had a chance to race my Mo5v2 last weekend. While working the tighter sections of the track I notice that my front left wheel would act "jittery" /move from the front of the wheel well to the back while turning left. My thoughts were it is the dog bone axle is causing this. What your guys thoughts on this?
2wheelDave is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.