Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2015, 01:36 PM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by M05 newbie
Ok I did some reading and have come to the conclusion it is diameter...which a smaller diameter wheel usually performs better. Sooooooo teach... (granpa)....did I get an A? And thanks for the tips on the foam. I really appreciate your knowledge and in depth information.
Almost an A, Grasshopper, now tell me why the 55D tires are the tires of choice in an open tire series.

Just kidding. There are a number of reasons. The first most obvious is the shorter side wall. The practical one is that a 55D Atomic is about a second faster per lap than the best 60D tire, the Pit Shimizus. Although the lo-profile Rides are supposed to be better put I've no experience with them, but short sidewall on these.

The second is that there are more 55D tires to choose from.

The third is that you have all these molded inserts to choose from. You can literally build a tire for each track or surface.

You usually can't do that with a 60D cause the products just are not available. TCS and series that specify Tamiya tires are the only place that you see 60D tires running up front.
Old 07-15-2015, 01:40 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

I have tried these and come to the assumption, only run them if you want a spool feel.
Thanks Jamie, ...I think i'll pass on this route, I don't want the feel of a spool/fixed gearing.

This is an old technique and I just posted on this very thing not too long ago. I guess you must have missed it or didn't read it.
Yes, I am aware of this technique ...that is that it exists, but don't really have much experience with it personally. Yes, I did miss your post about it -I will go back and look for it.
Old 07-15-2015, 02:22 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)

Deleted, already answered, my thread needed refreshing
Old 07-15-2015, 03:14 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Granpa