Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 03-29-2015, 12:35 PM
  #23221  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Anyone running the HPI 88020 Pinion Gear 20T?

If so, please comment on durability. Thanks
sakadachi is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 12:54 PM
  #23222  
OVA
Tech Lord
iTrader: (86)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 10,280
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi
Anyone running the HPI 88020 Pinion Gear 20T?

If so, please comment on durability. Thanks
Pick up one here in the usa

http://www.tqrcracing.com/shop/produ....asp?p_id=6108
OVA is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 01:56 PM
  #23223  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OVA
Thanks, OVA!
sakadachi is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 03:56 PM
  #23224  
Tech Regular
 
marcos graveyar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newtownforbes, Ireland
Posts: 253
Default

If you are looking for a good pinion for the M05's then Kawada is the brand you want.
marcos graveyar is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 05:32 PM
  #23225  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by marcos graveyar
If you are looking for a good pinion for the M05's then Kawada is the brand you want.
Would you have a part number by any chance? I'm looking for 20 teeth.
Thanks.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 05:38 PM
  #23226  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 2,330
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Granpa
You're wrong. Minis use a Metric 0.6 pitch pinion, which is much different.
Thanks Bob
Got myself confused, the TT series uses the 48 pitch gears
KA2AEV is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 06:06 PM
  #23227  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So after driving my M05 and V2, had some time to spare so pulled out my old M03 and balanced the car left to right by shifting the sport pack battery towards the right of the car (away from the motor).

I used some left over M05 battery tie downs plus two 3mm? spacers as I did on my M05 to balance left to right. 100% better driving now. Hahaha

Will play with the springs and dampers to finish it off tomorrow.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 06:49 PM
  #23228  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi
Tamiya 53509 (OP509) Hard Fluorine Coated 0.6 Aluminum Pinion (20T/F201)

But no USA vendors have them.
Not even Tamiya.
https://www.tamiyausa.com/product/it...oduct-id=53509
Check with TQ racing. Also the Hpi pinion is okay, but do prefer the Robinson pinion over the Hpi. Bensi Lopez the 2012 TCS Champ ran the Hpi pinion which used to be available at TQ.nStill think the Tamiya one is the best if you can find it.

I ran both the Hpi and the Robinson for while. I purchased the Robinson from Tower Hobbies cause that's the only place that was convenient .
Granpa is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 07:56 PM
  #23229  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Granpa
Check with TQ racing. Also the Hpi pinion is okay, but do prefer the Robinson pinion over the Hpi. Bensi Lopez the 2012 TCS Champ ran the Hpi pinion which used to be available at TQ.nStill think the Tamiya one is the best if you can find it.

I ran both the Hpi and the Robinson for while. I purchased the Robinson from Tower Hobbies cause that's the only place that was convenient .
Thank you, Granpa. I will check out Tower Hobbies as well.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 09:20 PM
  #23230  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Granpa- So I got the Voodoo comm drops for my Mabuchi, Robinson 18t and 20t metric 0.6 pitch pinions, and a few other maintenance items on order.

I think I'm going to pull out my digital Futaba servo's from my trucks and swap them with my V2 and M05 this week. Both 0.11/6v, but I can use the faster mode on my 4PKS-R with digital servo's.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 03-29-2015, 09:58 PM
  #23231  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KA2AEV
Thanks Bob
Got myself confused, the TT series uses the 48 pitch gears
Which version of the TT? We used to run a TT01 class here and they were all 0.6 mod out of the box. Are the TT02s using a "normal" pinion"?

BTW, guys, the revised 3racing gear diff repair parts have finally been released. TQ has them in stock!
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 05:44 AM
  #23232  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Monkeyracing - My TT02B runs the same 0.6 pitch from what I saw. Thanks again on the pinion recommendations!
sakadachi is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 10:30 AM
  #23233  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

BTW, when you guys go to the track do you see anyone still using PCM (fm) radios?

My M03 runs SPCM from back in the day HAHAHA
sakadachi is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 11:50 AM
  #23234  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi
BTW, when you guys go to the track do you see anyone still using PCM (fm) radios?

My M03 runs SPCM from back in the day HAHAHA
I still run two cars with PPM FM (JR XS3). They are frequency-synthesized, but I've never had to change the frequency due to a conflict!
howardcano is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 11:57 AM
  #23235  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by howardcano
I still run two cars with PPM FM (JR XS3). They are frequency-synthesized, but I've never had to change the frequency due to a conflict!
That's cool.

I still have like 7-8 JR R135 receivers if anyone wants them in like-new condition for super cheap..lol I still have my R1 and R1Pro from back in the day but only use it on my SPCM receivers. I bought a bunch of R614FF-S and FF-E's last year and a couple of Spektrum SR410's for my crawlers.


BTW, did you guys notice the M-Four in my sig?
sakadachi is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.