Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Tekin Hotwire 3.0 Bluetooth Thread >

Tekin Hotwire 3.0 Bluetooth Thread

Like Tree11Likes

Tekin Hotwire 3.0 Bluetooth Thread

Reply

Old 06-01-2018, 04:28 PM
  #31  
Tech Master
iTrader: (134)
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Posts: 1,212
Trader Rating: 134 (100%+)
Default

What are people doing if they have a fan plugged in to the port, are you able to use the hotwire with the fan plugged in if you have a splitter if so is there a splitter cable available for purchase?
Kaifd3s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 07:39 AM
  #32  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
fievel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rochester Mi
Posts: 882
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by fievel; 06-02-2018 at 08:07 AM. Reason: Delete.
fievel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 09:57 PM
  #33  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,911
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kaifd3s View Post
What are people doing if they have a fan plugged in to the port, are you able to use the hotwire with the fan plugged in if you have a splitter if so is there a splitter cable available for purchase?
You can run the fan to the receiver which is what mode people do if they need both. Generally you're only allowed to run the HW 3.0 in practice.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 08:16 AM
  #34  
Tech Master
iTrader: (134)
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Posts: 1,212
Trader Rating: 134 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
You can run the fan to the receiver which is what mode people do if they need both. Generally you're only allowed to run the HW 3.0 in practice.
Thanks Randy, yup don't plan to run it during a race.
Randy_Pike likes this.
Kaifd3s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 06:20 AM
  #35  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 59
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default V272

Any body having issues with their hotwire not showing any info on there app with this update on there phone. It will connect I can view data logged, it will show what esc, software version & the tabs. It will not however allow me to make changes to the esc via mobile. I can make changes with my laptop. Hotwire works fine with my other esc's that still use v258 but not v272. Trying to run app & hotwire with Samsung s9. I have tried the recommended connection procedure connect to esc first than device still nothing. Doesn't matter on esc either I have tried with rs, spec, & rsx
Rayz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 06:26 AM
  #36  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 59
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default V272

I have also tried to uninstall & reinstall the app, power down my phone & restart it still the same result
Rayz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 10:49 AM
  #37  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Same here. I have an iphone 6 with the latest software release and did the v272 updates to both my RX8 gen 3 ESC with gen 3 blue tooth modules and neither will connect with the phone app. The message on the phone says to update the app by deleting the old one and downloading the new app but when I did this, I got the same error. The phone won't connect through the HW blue tooth app.
rock-rod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 12:50 PM
  #38  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 207
Trader Rating: 19 (91%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rayz View Post
Any body having issues with their hotwire not showing any info on there app with this update on there phone. It will connect I can view data logged, it will show what esc, software version & the tabs. It will not however allow me to make changes to the esc via mobile. I can make changes with my laptop. Hotwire works fine with my other esc's that still use v258 but not v272. Trying to run app & hotwire with Samsung s9. I have tried the recommended connection procedure connect to esc first than device still nothing. Doesn't matter on esc either I have tried with rs, spec, & rsx
I am getting same problem with v272 and a samsung s9....connect to blurtooth fine, can confirm connection, but cannot view or edit any of the tuning parameters, pages are just blank, can edit in PC, will try a tablet or something, but so far, v272 and my s9 have been a bust for me!
1M likes this.
boostedRN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 06:08 PM
  #39  
1M
Tech Addict
iTrader: (41)
 
1M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 720
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boostedRN View Post
I am getting same problem with v272 and a samsung s9....connect to blurtooth fine, can confirm connection, but cannot view or edit any of the tuning parameters, pages are just blank, can edit in PC, will try a tablet or something, but so far, v272 and my s9 have been a bust for me!
seems the app has not been updated to allow 277 adjustments.
1M is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 09:23 PM
  #40  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 207
Trader Rating: 19 (91%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1M View Post
seems the app has not been updated to allow 277 adjustments.
Was thinking the same, no dice on my other devices, reverted back to last version for now and working like a champ.
boostedRN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 06:18 PM
  #41  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,911
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The app updates on both Android and IOS were delayed rolling out. They should be populating their respective apps stores any day now. This will allow them to work on the latest software.
1M likes this.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 09:19 PM
  #42  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
lowspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Update app on my iphone tonight (error reading that i needed to update will trying to set up a new RX8).
Worked perfect... some new settings on there to play with
lowspark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 08:07 PM
  #43  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Neither of my android phones (7.0 and 7.1) are working. They both are able to bind but then when I try to connect they are unable to locate the device. My ancient android 4.3 tablet seems to work fine. any sugestions?
mtveten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 08:14 PM
  #44  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
BRSracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Blue Springs MO
Posts: 1,797
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mtveten View Post
Neither of my android phones (7.0 and 7.1) are working. They both are able to bind but then when I try to connect they are unable to locate the device. My ancient android 4.3 tablet seems to work fine. any sugestions?
My guess is you are running a older version of the hotwire on your tablet that is communicating with the esc. update the hotwire via pc and then make sure apps are running the current version. i bet this will solve your issue. You have to update the hotwire itself by pc. the software is on Tekin's website. Also update the firmware on your esc, you have to do it via pc as well.
BRSracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 09:57 AM
  #45  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
boudin4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,857
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

THE Randy Pike, what SMALL laptop do you recommend to run hotwire 3.0? I am SO tired of lugging around this OLD crappy, huge laptop that I have been using for the last 9 years!
also, what specs? I am desperately waiting for the MAC OS stuff to work without using bootcamp or....
thanks
boudin4evr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service