I-Lap Timing system

Reply

Old 10-01-2008, 01:12 PM
  #46  
sac
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 340
Default

Anybody else use the I-LAP system?
We use it for outdoor dirt racing with NO problems.Had one problem with Lapsfree program ,my fault.I forgot to take computer out of sleep mode,worked great after that.

If you run a track or race at track using I-LAP please post your comments or questions here.There alot of people interested in I-lap .The more comments posted the better.

sac
sac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 01:34 PM
  #47  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

I've used it as a race director for a few years now. I've successfully run over 100 club races with it. I use it with Alycat race timing software.

If anyone has a question I'll do my best to help answer it.
chicagokenji is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 12:24 PM
  #48  
sac
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 340
Default

We will be ending our outdoor racing this Sunday .The I-LAP counter with the Laps-free program worked GREAT!!! The only glitch was on the Laps-free program i had to shut the sleep mode off on the computer.
Tracks looking for a lap counter,skip the AMB .Save your money and get the I-lap.Don't let racers talk you into a AMB .The transponder for the I-LAP are much cheaper and work just as good.

I would like to say thanks to Craig at I-lap for help during setup .

sac
sac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 08:41 PM
  #49  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,402
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I-lap works flawlessly at our track a lot of racers still skeptical about this timing system only time will tell this timing system will be accepted by all tracks.
Jochim_18 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 10:34 AM
  #50  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

No new posts in this thread since 2008 ???

Nobody uses this system now?

We are planning to open a new track and deciding the time system now.

I-lap is still the best alternative to AMB ?

Thanks,

Ale
traxxas.uy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 10:37 AM
  #51  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (39)
 
orgnoi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nassau, NY
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I didnt know this post existed... we run I-Lap at our house... also the local hobby shop uses it for TC... it runs fantastic and Craig is a great guy for support... he almost ALWAYS answers the phone and has the answers...
orgnoi1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 01:18 PM
  #52  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
BrodieMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

One track I race at uses it and it works fine. I recently raced at a club using AMB and rental AMB transponders. I had to cut a new hole in my body to mount it which sucked for one meet. With the iLaps transponder I put a piece of velcro on my top deck how easy is that.
I am starting a club in my area and won't even consider AMB, going with iLap and putting the savings towards carpet
BrodieMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 01:22 PM
  #53  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago - Southside
Posts: 26
Default

We've been using it for years now. It works flawlessly for us. The only support we need after these past years is having new transponders to sell to new people who show up to race with us and they want their own personal transponders to own instead of using our house ones.

iLapRC 's website is:

http://www.rclapcounter.com

The other track around here that uses it is:

Outback RC, Marengo IL

http://www.outbackrc.com
UndergroundRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 02:44 PM
  #54  
sac
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 340
Default

Over 3 season with the I-LAP system.I run club events to my big race of the season ,The Money Madness Race.I have run events with only 12 racers to over 100 entries with know problems at all.At this time i use LAPS Free program but i may try Alycat next season.
My suggestion supply a set of house/track transponders.It helps with the racers who don't want to buy a PT,or who is a AMB/MYLAPS users.That way they have no excuse for not running your track,i will cost then nothing to use a track PT'S.

The I-LAP system is worth the money and is just as accurate as a AMB.Also Craig the owner,you can't get a any better customer support if you need it.
sac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:55 PM
  #55  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 543
Default

Most all of the dirt ovals in my area use this system. It works. And the part I like is you can run an AMB transponder and the IR unit on a Y with both powered at the same time with no problems. I just double sided tape the IR unit on top of the AMB and let it work thru the windshield.

Ed M.
bentgear is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 02:51 AM
  #56  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all your replies.

We will use it here too.
Perhaphs in a month we will have all the stuff instaled.

Regards,

Ale
traxxas.uy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 06:52 AM
  #57  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (39)
 
orgnoi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nassau, NY
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by traxxas.uy View Post
Thanks for all your replies.

We will use it here too.
Perhaphs in a month we will have all the stuff instaled.

Regards,

Ale
a month huh? I wouldnt be so long-sighted... it took a day to make our bridge and set up the system... definately not rocket science... the hardest part is learning the software...
orgnoi1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 09:53 AM
  #58  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by orgnoi1 View Post
a month huh? I wouldnt be so long-sighted... it took a day to make our bridge and set up the system... definately not rocket science... the hardest part is learning the software...
Im in Uruguay !
I have to buy (i will have the money next week) and wait it to arrive.

Hope we could set up the system in one day, as soon it arrives. We have waited it a lot.

Ale
traxxas.uy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 12:05 PM
  #59  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (39)
 
orgnoi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nassau, NY
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by traxxas.uy View Post
Im in Uruguay !
I have to buy (i will have the money next week) and wait it to arrive.

Hope we could set up the system in one day, as soon it arrives. We have waited it a lot.

Ale
the big thing is the platform... for 1/10 or 1/18 you will want the bridge at approximately 24" off the ground... both to let the cars under as well as at an optimal height for sensor pickup... we use "schedule 40" pvc piping... but you could use wood or metal piping as well...
orgnoi1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 02:08 AM
  #60  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

We will use pvc piping too.

I saw, no remember where, pics of a track with a half pvc piping bridge with hinges to install and remove sensors easier.

Will post pics when we install the system.

Ale
traxxas.uy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service