Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
MyLaps update killing MRT, AMBrc DP and house transponders! >

MyLaps update killing MRT, AMBrc DP and house transponders!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree99Likes

MyLaps update killing MRT, AMBrc DP and house transponders!

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2018, 05:45 PM
Tech Rookie

Default a question from a total noob.

So I am a rc nerd who has been in the hobby for a long time 15 years or more. I fly helis, planes, and do a bit of sct, and touring car driving also. However I have not had a local track until recently so I have not raced. I do however work for a company that deals with electromechanical CAD software and although I do IT work know a lot of engineering people. My question is this: I read the comments about using RFID as a different solution and the reasoning behind why it would not work well. Why not use a RF bluetooth system? Even if the system loses connection with a Bluetooth receiver, it can be stored locally until next lap, and the Bluetooth receivers can be both fairly inexpensive and very lightweight. I just looked and saw that immersion is making a timing system using bluetooth so if someone could tell me why that is not preferred I would appreciate it.
Old 06-04-2018, 05:22 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)

These lap counting systems use frequencies many orders of magnitude lower than Bluetooth. That's because the reception of the transponder signal is intentionally done in the near field, via induction. The signals are strong only very close to the receiving loop, and die out quickly as distance is increased. That makes it relatively simple to determine when the transponder is passing under or over the receiving loop.

At higher frequencies, reflections can cause signal strength to peak even when the distance between transmitter and receiver is not at a minimum. That would cause false lap timing.
Old 08-30-2018, 03:08 PM
Tech Rookie