Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
MyLaps update killing MRT, AMBrc DP and house transponders! >

MyLaps update killing MRT, AMBrc DP and house transponders!

Like Tree92Likes

MyLaps update killing MRT, AMBrc DP and house transponders!

Reply

Old 06-04-2018, 06:22 AM
  #166  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

These lap counting systems use frequencies many orders of magnitude lower than Bluetooth. That's because the reception of the transponder signal is intentionally done in the near field, via induction. The signals are strong only very close to the receiving loop, and die out quickly as distance is increased. That makes it relatively simple to determine when the transponder is passing under or over the receiving loop.

At higher frequencies, reflections can cause signal strength to peak even when the distance between transmitter and receiver is not at a minimum. That would cause false lap timing.
howardcano is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 04:08 PM
  #167  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 7
Default

Originally Posted by windellmc View Post
AMB invented this tech in the 80s. So that patent is expired. That is how mrt was making transponders. MYLAPS has a 2012 patent which is good for 20 years and I would bet there is something in the rc4 transponder that is patented that keeps mrt from making full rc4 compatible transponders. Now the switch has been flipped to disable rc3 and rc2 compatibility in rc4+ decoders.

Someone will have to make a decoder that copies the rc2/3 and it won’t work with non hybrid rc4 transponders. Who is going to pay for that? Better to figure how to hack the rc4 decoder and fix the firmware.
We use Vostok timing system, which works with all transponders except "pure" rc4. On our country peoples do not hurry change their transponders to newest rc4.
So you can use cheaper MRT transponders or used AMB/Mylaps rc3 transponders from Ebay........
andrius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 09:24 PM
  #168  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Does anyone happen to have a copy of the Mylaps Decoder 4.4 Firmware upgrade? Only 4.5 is available for me to download at the moment. I'd rather update to 4.4 and support more transponders as I don't need drone support.

Thanks for any leads.

-Steve
oldernoob likes this.
bwana914 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 04:39 AM
  #169  
Tech Master
 
choisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Bay
Posts: 1,405
Default

sorry for not reading all 12 pages, i just realized i still have 3 2-wire dp trasnponder, it amb still having any program for it?
please kindly advise
choisan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 12:54 PM
  #170  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,436
Default

If they are the RC4 Hybrid ones then there is no problem. If they are the larger RC2 transponders then you will have problems with only the latest firmware upgrade
Roelof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 05:13 AM
  #171  
Tech Master
 
choisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Bay
Posts: 1,405
Default

thanksi asked my local track, my old big dp2 is still usable. but to play safe, i sent an email to amb already to ask for an upgrade but no answer from it yet.
choisan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 07:51 PM
  #172  
Tech Master
 
choisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Bay
Posts: 1,405
Default

i found out the the trade in price is already more expensive than buying a new one. amazing trade in program.
btw, anyone know what is the major difference of the rc4 pro except for the smaller size?
choisan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 06:53 AM
  #173  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 2,444
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by choisan View Post
i found out the the trade in price is already more expensive than buying a new one. amazing trade in program.
btw, anyone know what is the major difference of the rc4 pro except for the smaller size?
Shorter wire, and it's black.
gigaplex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 08:11 AM
  #174  
Tech Master
 
choisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Bay
Posts: 1,405
Default

oh, that's it.
this pro version is just awesome. thanks!
choisan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 09:40 AM
  #175  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Onroad Bermuda Triangle...
Posts: 1,702
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
Shorter wire, and it's black.
The wire is shorter.....but is it still #14 solid?
Xpress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 04:50 PM
  #176  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Dr. Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: mobile
Posts: 1,204
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Good day folks. I am really late to the party. I finally was able to restore my bookmarks from 2011. I know crazy. Then of course all my RC Stuff popped up and I started to look.
First of all, Mylaps. I know if I were Mylaps/AMB, I would be pissed at MRT for copying their system. Mylaps should have taken them to court. But, I will say this. In order to keep customers happy
and in order to continue with the progression of the Mylaps/AMB system, there should have been a trade in program. This would have been to keep customers happy. If you have however many transponders
that are older, you should get a 30 to 50% discount on the purchase of you replacements. Same issue with the House transponders. Mylaps should have allowed tracks to send in their house transposnders for a substantial discount. I have an Mylaps/AMB Decoder box which isn't being used. I bought it to start a track in my back yard and it didn't happen.

Now. Re RFID. Back in around 2011, My wife and I embarked on creating a system to compete with Mylaps/AMB. It was a lot of work being done on a shoe string budget. I have several RFID readers and Antennas which we setup in order to create the software for the lap counting. What I found out was the RFID readers we were using could read the cars pretty accurately. Creating the software to pull the data was another issue. We could accomodate every aspect listed the current AMB system provides. Lap times, speed, racers cheating by cutting the track, type of rounds of racing. etc. We simply ran out of money and time. The RFID transponders didn't cost anywhere near Mylaps/AMBs prices.

That being said. The problem with RFID is the transponders can easily be replicated to some degree. The more sophisticated the transponder, the higher the cost of the transponder. This is because the more
memory the transponder has to have in order to achieve what users/track owners want. This being said. Uniformity across systems can be an issue. Mylaps is having this problem now. Their solution is to force
people to upgrade when the upgrade isn't really needed in most cases. if Drone racing is what you are into, get another decoder and keep the existing one for rc racing.

Mylaps/AMBrc provides a product we like to use. I went through the last Transponder update. Cost me a pretty penny. (I have 15 Cars and I don't want to keep swapping transponders at a race)
Unless tracks owners are updated their Decoder boxes, then there isn't an issue with the current product. No changes will need to happen. Handout transponders will stay the same. Personal transponders as well.

Unless something breaks and you are forced to purchase a new one.

I wonder if you send in your Decoder box for service, if they will automatically put 4.5.on your system.
Dr. Evil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 08:42 PM
  #177  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 813
Trader Rating: 42 (98%+)
Default mPTX ALT ID Question

is the ALT ID on the new mPTX's all the same. If I by another new one can I use the ALT ID to have 2 matching id transponders
ICEMAN96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 06:35 AM
  #178  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 3,179
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

I know you can make a special order and buy directly from MRT, you can specify what ID you want to have so long as it's an ID they have already cloned.
billdelong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 09:29 PM
  #179  
Tech Adept
 
TOPNOTCH SERIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California/Nevada
Posts: 194
Default Looking for a firmware 4.4 or lower

A while back maybe 2013 they had sent an email with the flash to update ambrc (rc3) boxes. Does anyone have a file for a box or does anyone have knowledge on if itís possible to take a 4.5 box and revert it back to say 4.3? Thanks fellas
TOPNOTCH SERIES is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service