R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree84Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2017, 03:50 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default MyLaps update killing MRT, AMBrc DP and house transponders!

Apparently MyLaps latest firmware will disable ANY transponder not using the RC4 protocol. This means that your original 2 wire AMBrc DP transponders, MRT transponders and house transponders will no longer work.

Please ask your local track to put off the firmware update if they can, or you'll be stuck buying new transponders!

http://www.liverc.com/news/special_features/16265-LRC%3A_Newest_MyLaps_firmware_update_adds_features %2C_disables_MRT_transponders/
oldernoob likes this.
anthonyscardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2017, 07:01 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

+1
oldernoob likes this.
Terry_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2017, 09:33 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

They really are anti competitive @%$*&ers, i have zero numbers, but this is a real push to gain all the market by MyLaps (even to route out their older versions!) I hope this backfires on them as i worry that it will harm all the other racers already out there (and the hobby as a whole). The cost of a transponder is not a performance cost, it's a commitment cost. To have to splash out all over again is pretty galling.
DRTMI likes this.
oldernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 02:38 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,280
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

That MRT transponders are disabled is their right, MRT was making transponders w/o licence. Disabling the older AMB transponders was already said when introducing the RC4 transponder, that is why by then there was a huge exchange program getting a RC4 hybrid transponder.
but I can imagine disabling the RC3 transponders and the club handout transponder is comming as an unwanted supprise.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 05:34 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 1,827
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

The last time MyLaps pulled this crap, it only took MRT a few months to update their hardware and they offered a free trade-up program... only thing MyLaps has accomplished is pissing off MyLaps customers. Forcing people to buy new equipment every few years for no other reason than to turn a profit is a shady business practice, I hope it bites them in the rear and someone else comes up with a MyLaps compatible decoder.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...g-decoder.html
DRTMI likes this.
billdelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 10:48 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Berkley, MI
Posts: 119
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I wonder how long before rc4 is phased out? I have a rc4 one...
{tpc} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 12:58 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
BIG JIM WOODMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Guthrie OK
Posts: 1,363
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

I have 3 AMBs that work fine and I cannot afford to buy new ones. This will most likely kill my RC Racing. I'll be one pissed off puppy if I show for a Race and I'm/we are not informed what system is being used.
After 32 yrs of racing I may have to call it!
It's a sad day when any company does this crap!
__________________
Hi, my name is Jim and I am an RC addict!

Old Guys Rule!

Bumper tag anyone?
BIG JIM WOODMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 02:15 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,280
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

An update from a Dutch time keeper.

Quote:
Update !!!!! This , not working of DP and club transponders, is only when you update your MyLaps Decoder to the new version 4.5 !! So for all clubs that have NO drone races.......DO NOT UPDATE YOUR DECODER TO 4.5 VERSION !! Then their will be no problemo at all !!
It looks like the 4.5 has some features for drone racing and so no use to do the update for rc car racing.
Trick81 likes this.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 04:37 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Granbury Tx
Posts: 914
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG JIM WOODMAN View Post
I have 3 AMBs that work fine and I cannot afford to buy new ones. This will most likely kill my RC Racing. I'll be one pissed off puppy if I show for a Race and I'm/we are not informed what system is being used.
After 32 yrs of racing I may have to call it!
It's a sad day when any company does this crap!
Lol so your ok with spending 300 for a new chassis but replacing transponders is the last straw? You also don't have to replace all 3 of your transponders, just replace one. I don't mean to single you out but knee jerk reactions are funny.

Also as long as 1 company corners the market this is what happens, and there isn't much anyone can do about it.

Last edited by Darkgenerals; 10-28-2017 at 07:37 PM. Reason: spelling
Darkgenerals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 06:18 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 1,827
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkgenerals View Post
Lol so your ok with spending 300 for a new chassis but replacing transponders is the last straw? You also don't have to replace all 3 of your transponders, just replace one. I don't mean to single you out but knee jerk reactions are funny.

Also as long as 1 company corners the market this is what happens, and there isn't much anyone cab do about it.
I disagree... I own 10 transponders... and they were slowly acquired over time... it's nice to have a separate one for each class I race... this should be a one time investment, not a revolving expense that is controlled by a monopoly, having to drop another $1,000+ just for pure greed is not cool.

If I choose to run a radio system, or any other electronics that are decades old, then that should be my prerogative too!
DRTMI and Petem like this.
billdelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 07:27 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
gee-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkgenerals View Post
Also as long as 1 company corners the market this is what happens, and there isn't much anyone cab do about it.
^This.

I do not fault a company that invests to create/fill a market need by developing a suite of products, only to have to compete against some third party coming along and 'piggybacking' on a small (most profitable?) part of that business, from taking steps to protect their investment and viability.

For all the complaints otherwise, if there truly was a profitable business model to develop a comprehensive competing solution, doesn't it make sense someone (or many someones) would have been lining up to grab that opportunity? Maybe having to invest to build-out the entire thing just isn't that profitable - in which case is it really fair to bash MyLaps for taking this step?

As a consumer, this doesn't have to mean we have to like the change. Though perhaps some of the 'energy' being directed at MyLaps should be focused elsewhere - like those only providing a 'half a solution'? (Not encouraging this)
racer1812 likes this.
gee-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 07:33 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Granbury Tx
Posts: 914
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billdelong View Post
I disagree... I own 10 transponders... and they were slowly acquired over time... it's nice to have a separate one for each class I race... this should be a one time investment, not a revolving expense that is controlled by a monopoly, having to drop another $1,000+ just for pure greed is not cool.

If I choose to run a radio system, or any other electronics that are decades old, then that should be my prerogative too!
I get what your coming from but again, there isn't much you can actually do when they are the only game in town.

When you buy into an eco system, your at the mercy of the people who control that eco system. Until some one comes out with a better system, then understand the risks your taking. I wounder how many people who had thousands invested into crystal radios, yelled and screamed when 2.4ghz came out. This ins't a direct comparison but its close enough.

lol at talking about running an old radio system. Just an FYI running old radio systems don't depend on base stations controlled by 3rd parties that stand to gain financially when they stop you from using it.
racer1812 likes this.
Darkgenerals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 07:36 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Granbury Tx
Posts: 914
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gee-dub View Post
^This.

I do not fault a company that invests to create/fill a market need by developing a suite of products, only to have to compete against some third party coming along and 'piggybacking' on a small (most profitable?) part of that business, from taking steps to protect their investment and viability.

For all the complaints otherwise, if there truly was a profitable business model to develop a comprehensive competing solution, doesn't it make sense someone (or many someones) would have been lining up to grab that opportunity? Maybe having to invest to build-out the entire thing just isn't that profitable - in which case is it really fair to bash MyLaps for taking this step?

As a consumer, this doesn't have to mean we have to like the change. Though perhaps some of the 'energy' being directed at MyLaps should be focused elsewhere - like those only providing a 'half a solution'? (Not encouraging this)

Agreed 100%

I'm really surprised no one has developed an RFID tag based system. The tags would be so cheap. The "transponders" could be stickers that you apply to the body.
DRTMI and Trick81 like this.
Darkgenerals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 02:42 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,280
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

I believe the system for the Kyosho dNano is just based on rfid. But rfid is I believe too slow.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 07:40 AM   #15
Tech Champion
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,750
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkgenerals View Post
Lol so your ok with spending 300 for a new chassis but replacing transponders is the last straw? You also don't have to replace all 3 of your transponders, just replace one. I don't mean to single you out but knee jerk reactions are funny.

Also as long as 1 company corners the market this is what happens, and there isn't much anyone can do about it.
How does requiring a new transponder make you faster, or improved over the old one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkgenerals View Post
I get what your coming from but again, there isn't much you can actually do when they are the only game in town.

When you buy into an eco system, your at the mercy of the people who control that eco system. Until some one comes out with a better system, then understand the risks your taking. I wounder how many people who had thousands invested into crystal radios, yelled and screamed when 2.4ghz came out. This ins't a direct comparison but its close enough.

lol at talking about running an old radio system. Just an FYI running old radio systems don't depend on base stations controlled by 3rd parties that stand to gain financially when they stop you from using it.

Your crystal radio still works. You can still take it to the track and race with it.
whitrzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:27 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net