R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2004, 10:37 PM   #436
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

no thats not true i ran in my os tr without the glow plug warmer on. "I THINK" the bottom end is to rich, try and lean the bottom end screw 1/8th of a turn till it has a better or more stable idle.

also what plug are you using? OS A3 would be ideal to run it in with as its a hot plug.

also with the glow plug warmer still on how does it idle? is the rpm very low? if so maybe just bump up the idle speed a little try turnning the idle screw inwards 1/4 to 1/2 of a turn

let us all know how you go
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 12:01 AM   #437
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BrainTeased
no thats not true i ran in my os tr without the glow plug warmer on. "I THINK" the bottom end is to rich, try and lean the bottom end screw 1/8th of a turn till it has a better or more stable idle.

also what plug are you using? OS A3 would be ideal to run it in with as its a hot plug.

also with the glow plug warmer still on how does it idle? is the rpm very low? if so maybe just bump up the idle speed a little try turnning the idle screw inwards 1/4 to 1/2 of a turn

let us all know how you go
fyi i'm meant the os tr turbo and it came with the p6 plug....anyway i'll try to lean out the low needle and see how it goes....till later..thanks
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 12:09 AM   #438
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

wait before you lean the bottom end us how it idles with the glow plug warmer left on. im also thinking it could be that the idle is set to low. leaning off any engine during break in should be avoided only should it be done if it is set toooooo rich. as idealy you want a rich setting to properly lube your brand spanking new engine

and the P6 turbo plug is a good plug to break it in with.
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 09:14 PM   #439
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BrainTeased
wait before you lean the bottom end us how it idles with the glow plug warmer left on. im also thinking it could be that the idle is set to low. leaning off any engine during break in should be avoided only should it be done if it is set toooooo rich. as idealy you want a rich setting to properly lube your brand spanking new engine

and the P6 turbo plug is a good plug to break it in with.
i've succesfully got the engine to idle without the glow heater on...i did lean 1/4 turn the low needle....

just fyi i am trying out the method used by josh cyrul that i read somewhere in this forum.
b4 this with my previous 2 engine which till now is still race capable, i use the idling break in method .

with this new method ( which i am still half way through) its opposite of the idling method. instead...after u warm up the engine a bit u can start with wot/wide open throttle for the 1st too the 4th tank with rich main needle setting....
up to this point what i've found out with the rich settings the engine can barely scream cause the extra load of fuel coming in...
signing off 4 now...after i finished the whole process i'll give an update on this break in .
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 08:55 PM   #440
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

breakin in updates

so i've finished total 8 tanks on the bench....

now left only 2 more tanks (cause according to the method another 2 tanks should be done on the track)

maybe this weekend i'll have time to finished the whole process.
hope it doesn't rain
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 09:01 PM   #441
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcabj
breakin in updates

so i've finished total 8 tanks on the bench....

now left only 2 more tanks (cause according to the method another 2 tanks should be done on the track)

maybe this weekend i'll have time to finished the whole process.
hope it doesn't rain
On the bench?

Are you using an airplane prop on the engine?
i300i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 09:05 PM   #442
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by i300i
On the bench?

Are you using an airplane prop on the engine?

...i meant i did the beakin in of the ground....
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 09:10 PM   #443
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 78
Default

Just wondering because my cousins and I did break-in a couple of years ago following an article using prop's on 4 Tower .15 engines.

Mounted them on a bench, Set 'em rich, wired the throttled wfo and ran 6 tanks through all of them simultaneously. None of them went over 210 F.

I use mine as a loaner truck for beginners and the thing still starts and runs strong after about 3 gallons.
i300i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 10:31 PM   #444
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

rcabj
great stuff dude

i was gonna use josh's method as well on my new sirio but decided to go with the idle a tank doing the heat cycle and then 6 more tanks on the track set rich. and WOT

let us know how it performs as well.
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 02:51 AM   #445
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

haven't had time to finish the break in process yet..bz bz...

anyway .. can a nova/rb turbo plug be used on the os-tr/t?
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 02:58 AM   #446
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

no!!!
just use the OS turbo plugs.
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 03:09 AM   #447
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BrainTeased
no!!!
just use the OS turbo plugs.
so that means there r uncompatible to each other....thanks brain

just to let u know over here the nova plugs r cheaper than the os .... thought can save some money
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 10:52 AM   #448
Tech Apprentice
 
rc_king1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacto., CA.
Posts: 55
Default

I run Novarossi turbo plugs in my engine with no problems.
rc_king1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 05:31 PM   #449
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

rc_king1
what problems would you look for?
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 02:37 AM   #450
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default break in update

hello again....i've just finished another 2 more tanks on the track like what josh explains...so the grand total of 10 tanks for this break in process.

during this break in i have not encountered major difficulties....i can say it went pretty smooth....

now it's ( the engine) is ready to be tuned up to its optimal racing conditions(probably next week bz..bz....)

for now..bye
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RB Engine Thread snowboardgeek1 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 515 06-16-2017 11:28 AM
GRP... Engine... Thread... xlgraphicspro Offroad Nitro Engine Forum 2135 09-10-2013 09:46 AM
Palmaris engine thread EdwardN Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 2533 08-12-2013 11:48 AM
REX engine thread? factory racer Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 1 06-05-2005 10:42 AM
SH Engine thread ziggy12345 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 12 02-14-2005 01:48 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:50 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net