R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2006, 11:34 AM   #22921
Tech Regular
 
Xyvern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jag
I installed the body posts on the front side of the shock tower but I took an old set of posts and cut the post off the base and used the base as a spacer to move the post further forward. I saw this on either Paolo's or Scotty's car... maybe both.
Thanks Jag and rccobra705, I just found out the length of Mazda 6 is shorter than Stratus 3.1
that's why it's causing the problem.
Xyvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2006, 08:09 AM   #22922
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jag
I installed the body posts on the front side of the shock tower but I took an old set of posts and cut the post off the base and used the base as a spacer to move the post further forward. I saw this on either Paolo's or Scotty's car... maybe both.
I've seen this done too but with the bottom also drilled out to take a screw. Ensures rigidity.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 03:35 AM   #22923
Tech Adept
 
evo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 200
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default pro axles

Hi i've just got my 710 going, i've read about pro axles being fitted to cars, how are they different to the standard axles in the kit & where can i purchase them.

Regards Paul
evo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:39 AM   #22924
Tech Fanatic
 
Julius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands
Posts: 979
Default

They are lightened versions of the normal wheelaxles. They are a direct replacement.
http://www.mytsn.com/products/desc.asp?prid=262

I'd suggest running the car with the stock axles first. If you want to try something different I'd suggest using these: http://www.mytsn.com/products/desc.asp?prid=3405

Also a direct fit for front and rear of the 710.
__________________
Team Serpent, Xceed, Sanwa, LRP
Julius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 02:10 PM   #22925
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6
Default Problem with using brass cone for Mega zx12...

Hi guys...
(first post, yiihaa)

I bought a brand new Mega zx12 engine. When I started to fit the centax, I realised that the crankshaft is only 6mm, making the 7mm brass cone supplied with the 710 kit useless...

The zx12 is supplied with a steel cone approx 0,5mm "longer" than the brass one in the s710 kit. Is it possible to use the steel one without the 0,5 shim or is there a 6mm brass cone available?? (all info I can find is "use the cone supplied in 710 kit", but what if it doesn't fit???)

Anybody with experience fitting the zx12 in a 710??

Feels kinda strange that the Mega doesn't fit the 710, they are produced by the same company after all...

Hope you guys can give me some advice.
MartinG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 02:35 PM   #22926
jag
Tech Master
 
jag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. Florida
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinG
Hi guys...
(first post, yiihaa)

I bought a brand new Mega zx12 engine. When I started to fit the centax, I realised that the crankshaft is only 6mm, making the 7mm brass cone supplied with the 710 kit useless...

The zx12 is supplied with a steel cone approx 0,5mm "longer" than the brass one in the s710 kit. Is it possible to use the steel one without the 0,5 shim or is there a 6mm brass cone available?? (all info I can find is "use the cone supplied in 710 kit", but what if it doesn't fit???)

Anybody with experience fitting the zx12 in a 710??

Feels kinda strange that the Mega doesn't fit the 710, they are produced by the same company after all...

Hope you guys can give me some advice.
I used the collet that came with the engine and did not use the spacer. It fits fine. You may also want to use a slightly shorter hex screw to hold the clutch bell on. The one that comes with the kit fits well on a Novarossi but is around 2mm long for the Mega.
jag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 03:41 PM   #22927
Tech Fanatic
 
Julius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinG
Hi guys...
(first post, yiihaa)

I bought a brand new Mega zx12 engine. When I started to fit the centax, I realised that the crankshaft is only 6mm, making the 7mm brass cone supplied with the 710 kit useless...

The zx12 is supplied with a steel cone approx 0,5mm "longer" than the brass one in the s710 kit. Is it possible to use the steel one without the 0,5 shim or is there a 6mm brass cone available?? (all info I can find is "use the cone supplied in 710 kit", but what if it doesn't fit???)

Anybody with experience fitting the zx12 in a 710??

Feels kinda strange that the Mega doesn't fit the 710, they are produced by the same company after all...

Hope you guys can give me some advice.
I use the collet that comes with the engine. I do use a 0.5mm shim behind the flywheel as it keeps me from adding a 0.5mm shim on the thrust bearing side. Just use the 0.5 shim that comes with the clutch package.

As Jag said, do use a slightly shorter screw to hold the clutch bell.
__________________
Team Serpent, Xceed, Sanwa, LRP
Julius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 10:29 AM   #22928
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius
I use the collet that comes with the engine. I do use a 0.5mm shim behind the flywheel as it keeps me from adding a 0.5mm shim on the thrust bearing side. Just use the 0.5 shim that comes with the clutch package.

As Jag said, do use a slightly shorter screw to hold the clutch bell.
Thanks...
I think I'll use the engine collet without the 0,5 shim as this gives the outer bearing (not the thrust b) a little more room on the crankshaft...
MartinG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 05:41 PM   #22929
Tech Addict
 
Darth Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 658
Default Aluminum side pulley

Guys,

I saw in one of Serpent's option catalogue/leaflet that the aluminum side pulley also comes in 22T and 23T (802172 and 802173 respectively)
I went to MyTSN but it's not listed in there...
Can someone kindly clarify?

As far as I know, there is only 21T (802171)

Darth Vader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 01:29 PM   #22930
Tech Adept
 
rcpanama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Panama
Posts: 181
Smile

Hi, has any one used in the centax III, the new Centax II / III spring 1.8 (10mm) 909520, and if this is the case can you explain how did it change the set up of the pre load spring in the centax.

Thank

Jose
rcpanama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 01:51 PM   #22931
Tech Master
 
captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: city that never sleeps
Posts: 1,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader
Guys,

I saw in one of Serpent's option catalogue/leaflet that the aluminum side pulley also comes in 22T and 23T (802172 and 802173 respectively)
I went to MyTSN but it's not listed in there...
Can someone kindly clarify?

As far as I know, there is only 21T (802171)

far as i know they never put them on the market its just on the flyer.
__________________
serpent america * max power * beast mods *kopropo usa* protoform * team cmdi
captian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 03:15 PM   #22932
Tech Master
 
captian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: city that never sleeps
Posts: 1,832
Default

[QUOTE=rcpanama]Hi, has any one used in the centax III, the new Centax II / III spring 1.8 (10mm) 909520, and if this is the case can you explain how did it change the set up of the pre load spring in the centax.

Thank

Jose[
well the new spring is from what i know is longer to help with coil bind . thats why its longer. so when you use it you will have load on the spring from the top with the nut . so you will not have to turn it far down like the old one to get preload.
__________________
serpent america * max power * beast mods *kopropo usa* protoform * team cmdi
captian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 07:27 PM   #22933
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 17
Default

Hello people

I have bought the serpent 710 ith the Centax III clutch. I have some guestions about assembeling the thing.
I have shimmed the clutchbell at 0.6\0.7 mm and then started to look at the endplay, with everything installed and clutchbell play set like above i want to shim the endplay. It say's in the manual "reduce the endplay to minimal with the use off shims right after the springnut", so i need to shim it so that the clutchbell has minimal movement on the crankshaft axel? I ask this because the clutchbell can move over 1mm on the shaft? Do i need to shim it so that the clutchbell has minimal movement? If yes, doesnt that affect the clutchbell setting off 0.6\0.7mm ??

Maybe a dumb question but i find it difficult to read exactly what the manual means with endplay (Me being dutch with a englisch manual can cause this)
Thanks for any advice on this!!

Ron
justforfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 08:40 PM   #22934
jag
Tech Master
 
jag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. Florida
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justforfun
Hello people

I have bought the serpent 710 ith the Centax III clutch. I have some guestions about assembeling the thing.
I have shimmed the clutchbell at 0.6\0.7 mm and then started to look at the endplay, with everything installed and clutchbell play set like above i want to shim the endplay. It say's in the manual "reduce the endplay to minimal with the use off shims right after the springnut", so i need to shim it so that the clutchbell has minimal movement on the crankshaft axel? I ask this because the clutchbell can move over 1mm on the shaft? Do i need to shim it so that the clutchbell has minimal movement? If yes, doesnt that affect the clutchbell setting off 0.6\0.7mm ??

Maybe a dumb question but i find it difficult to read exactly what the manual means with endplay (Me being dutch with a englisch manual can cause this)
Thanks for any advice on this!!

Ron

Yes, place shims (the small ones) between the clutch nut and the inner bearing to reduce the end play to a minimum. This will not effect the clutch gap you previously set. I find that the more end play I have the more aggressive the clutch will engage. I suggest you read the article "How to build a centax III clutch" by Glenn Caully (if you have not already) on mytsn. It is a great article.
jag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 04:03 AM   #22935
Tech Adept
 
Ridder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Maasland, Netherlands
Posts: 131
Default 3D modell of 710

AFAIK it hasn't been posted here before, but some forum members already discoverd this site (some names in guestbook were familiar..).
But here is a site of a 710 driver that measured every single part of the 710 , put it in a very nice 3D modell, movies included.

Take a look !

http://home.12move.nl/bas.geurds/
Ridder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net