Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree255Likes

Tamiya TRF419

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2016, 11:05 PM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by Hermit 713
If this was a wonderful thing to do, the shocks would come that way from factory (holes drilled in the caps) Not claiming to be an expert, it just doesn't seem correct..???

Someone want to do a video on it or pictures?

I get air in my shocks quite often but I never race onroad 1/10 electric or nitro.
I race 1/8 buggy, 1/10 truck off road.
I am new to this scene... please be patient with me...
We have used this "tuning option" (drill hole in caps) at least since 2009 or 2010...
Old 03-03-2016, 05:37 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by 190mph
Hey ic-racer, did you get full rebound in the way you built your shocks or something else?

Well for me in building the Yokomo SLF II Short shocks for the 419 and my new BD7 2016 I am still getting full rebound, maybe a more slowly rebound and not as forcefully as before. I cannot build a low or zero rebound shock it seems.

I did not drill a hole in the plastic cap yet but compressed the shock shaft in all the way minus about 2mm then put on the bladder and capped it and held the shaft in that position until the cap was on tight. So not sure what is going on yet.

Watched Jilles Groskamp's video.
To behave like a full-size automobile shock the bladder has to have a lot of pressure. To maximize the pressure I use a foam pellet and put the lid on the shock with the piston all the way out. Like #1 in my animated GIF above. So, yes the shaft sticks all the way out when done. If it does not then I have a problem with the build and not enough pressure in the bladder.
I then take the R and L shocks and press them into each other, shaft-to-shaft. This lets me see if they both have the same pressure in the bladder. If they both reach full compression at the same time, the bladder pressures are equal.