Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ask Keven Hebert, TeamAssociated / Reedy / ApexRC >

Ask Keven Hebert, TeamAssociated / Reedy / ApexRC

Ask Keven Hebert, TeamAssociated / Reedy / ApexRC

Old 03-16-2011, 03:38 PM
  #181  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by f1o7x9
Hey keven what cva are you using on the front. And do you have a part # thank you good luck on you upcoming races
From hot bodies cyclone dcj, 5x10x3 bearings, and probably cyclone hex

It is same like his previous tc5

For me DCJ are too expensive, after some test with spec-r I'm happy,
but wait for ETS modified racing

m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 08:00 PM
  #182  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz
From hot bodies cyclone dcj, 5x10x3 bearings, and probably cyclone hex

It is same like his previous tc5

For me DCJ are too expensive, after some test with spec-r I'm happy,
but wait for ETS modified racing

m.
how did you make the spec-r work maybe you can help me out. maybe some pic if you have some
f1o7x9 is offline  
Old 03-21-2011, 11:59 PM
  #183  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
AMainJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 169
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Droop setting

Hi Kevin, I am currently copying your setup from the Indoor Champs and I had a question regarding droop:

I am using the HUDY Droop gauge with the supplied HUDY support blocks and according to the set-up it calls for 7 and 6 droop setting. After setting this up with my droop gauge there is little-to-no up travel. I just want to make sure that is how it IS supposed to be. Thanks in advance!
AMainJay is offline  
Old 03-22-2011, 09:51 AM
  #184  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (22)
 
bagged69chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Visalia CA
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Hey Kevin,

Do you have a good carpet and asphalt setups for the TC5? I only have #3 pistons for my shocks, but if i have to i can buy other sizes.

I have nothing but problem with lack of rear traction.
bagged69chevy is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 12:18 PM
  #185  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: awahtukee, AZ
Posts: 1,433
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey kevin, nice to see you playin inthe dirt in az..your cars looked great..well except for the parts hanging off in 4wd main..lol..anyways when are you coming back down this way..see ya in vegas..sure i will have to give you my tc 6 to setup for me..lol,
Ray
i am cornholio is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 12:33 PM
  #186  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Happy birthday Keven

For set up, where do you place weight on your car? Do you ever run weight in the front or rear to change your set up, or mainly put weight down the middle of the car to make minimum weight? Thanks
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 05:06 PM
  #187  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
turd ferguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tuCSoN, AZ
Posts: 1,042
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Happy Birthday Frenchy!
turd ferguson is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 12:40 PM
  #188  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default

Originally Posted by AMainJay
Hi Kevin, I am currently copying your setup from the Indoor Champs and I had a question regarding droop:

I am using the HUDY Droop gauge with the supplied HUDY support blocks and according to the set-up it calls for 7 and 6 droop setting. After setting this up with my droop gauge there is little-to-no up travel. I just want to make sure that is how it IS supposed to be. Thanks in advance!
Hi,

Sorry for the delay I have been out of town for the last 3 weeks. I usualy go by feel and then use the AE gauge to make sure it is even. 7 and 6 should give you about 2mm uptravel depending on tire size. 2mm uptravel is where I start at more tracks and then adjust from there droop is very sensitive on a car and is usualy one of the first thing I will play with when I get to a track.

Hope this helps

Originally Posted by bagged69chevy
Hey Kevin,

Do you have a good carpet and asphalt setups for the TC5? I only have #3 pistons for my shocks, but if i have to i can buy other sizes.

I have nothing but problem with lack of rear traction.
Hi,

I would start with the 09 IIC Vegas setup and give that a try. The other thing you could do is try a softer spting all the way around this is how we were running the tc5 in the end. Also, you could try adding more rear toe and camber if it is still not good enough.


Originally Posted by i am cornholio
hey kevin, nice to see you playin inthe dirt in az..your cars looked great..well except for the parts hanging off in 4wd main..lol..anyways when are you coming back down this way..see ya in vegas..sure i will have to give you my tc 6 to setup for me..lol,
Ray
Hi Ray,

was good seeing you at Cactus. Would like to get back there I had a great time but I am not sure if that will happen anytime soon but it is not out of my mind for sure .

Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO
Happy birthday Keven

For set up, where do you place weight on your car? Do you ever run weight in the front or rear to change your set up, or mainly put weight down the middle of the car to make minimum weight? Thanks
thanks !!! I usualy have some weight in the middle and some behind the battery but it also depends on what electronics you run. Morde weight in the front will make the carr more stable and more weight in the rear will have more steering. It is a very good tuning option.

Originally Posted by turd ferguson
Happy Birthday Frenchy!
Thank you Brad, hope to see you again soon
Keven H is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 07:51 PM
  #189  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey keven I was wondering if you have a asphalt setup? And do you know if the Tc6 come whit hart plastic parts of the normal.
f1o7x9 is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 10:07 PM
  #190  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
i1justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Richland, WA
Posts: 1,151
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by f1o7x9
Hey keven I was wondering if you have a asphalt setup? And do you know if the Tc6 come whit hart plastic parts of the normal.
Obviously not Keven but the kit came with Hard plastic, early kits came with manuals that had faulty part #'s, I believe the new manual online is accurate
i1justin is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 12:22 PM
  #191  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
masterhit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 481
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Hi Keven,

I see on rcprogear.com that you used the X-12 13.5 in 1/12th scale. Could you please post your set-up? Roll-out, rotor, speedo software version, and settings?

It is great to see that The Team is figuring out competitive settings with this combo in 1/12th!

Thanks in advance,

Mike Slaughter
masterhit is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 02:20 AM
  #192  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by i1justin
Obviously not Keven but the kit came with Hard plastic, early kits came with manuals that had faulty part #'s, I believe the new manual online is accurate
Hm.
In my kit was standard plastics, I can compare it to my old tc5 and spares
that I have in box.

Hard ones looks diferent.

m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 03:49 AM
  #193  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,031
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Really?! I had the hard parts in it. Deep black and real hard to put the droop screw in the wishbone.
Standard are the hard parts. Call AE they maybe give you a set hard parts for free
wtcc is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 09:12 AM
  #194  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wtcc
Really?! I had the hard parts in it. Deep black and real hard to put the droop screw in the wishbone.
Standard are the hard parts. Call AE they maybe give you a set hard parts for free
I call AE and the say that the first car came with normal plastic and then after that the came with hart. I don't know why would the do that but if you run in asphalt is better to have the normal. And if you run in carpet then the hart is better
f1o7x9 is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 08:49 PM
  #195  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa az
Posts: 481
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hey Kevin,
Recently purchased the tc6, so far car is pretty dialed. I saw on the parts list the titanium ball studs. Are they worth it to upgrade? Is this what you run on your car? Thanks bro Ryan
WEEZY is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.