Search
Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2012, 08:52 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

Originally Posted by KC10Chief
Thanks for the quick info! That makes a lot more sense. My kit came with pins and hexes. Do I need different ones for some reason? My kit is the world's car, BTW.
You need different ones. The dcjs use 2mm pins.
Old 11-11-2012, 04:49 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Originally Posted by AreCee
Have you tried coating the O Ring with AE Green Slime? I found this preserves the O Ring and really reduces stiction.

Otherwise you are doing something wrong because these are the best shocks AE ever made and about on par with Tamiya TRF shocks (essentially the same build).
Thanks for your help everyone. I've found the problem, and it's not me. I sanded down the spaces a fraction, rebuilt the shocks AGAIN with all the RSD parts and they were still really bad. I've been racing tourers since 2000, so this has had me stumped.
The problem actually is the shock itself. The shock shaft has the lines on it from where it has been lathed and it has left small serrations all along the shock shafts ( I can try and take a photo of this if anyone is interested). When the shock is built, the serrations are grabbing on the spacers and o-ring and making feel like its full of air and 80+ shock oil.

Now for the million dollar question... Anyone else had a similar problem? Run your finger nail along the shock shaft... Mine are rediculously rough. I took them around to a mate and he couldn't believe it.

Good shocks? I received the lemons.

Thanks again for your help everyone... Much appreciated.
Old 11-11-2012, 05:02 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Well my shock shafts were fine but one of the bottom caps in the kit lacked threads so I had to wait for AE to replace it.
Old 11-11-2012, 05:03 AM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by AreCee