Tamiya TB-Evolution IV

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2004, 01:56 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: dirt and gear ratio

Originally posted by Superdate
To Hebiki and Alonso:

I was using the original 34T pinion on all Orion Rush 17T, Tamiya TZ 23T and Tamiya Modified 11T. The gear ratio is actually 6.07. But all the motors are very hot after 3-4 min. As i am a newbie to racing, i am not really sure whether that is overheated or not. but at least, if you put your fingers on the motors for 3 seconds, you will feel unbearable. I am going to get some pinion to put down the FDR to 5.58 and see how is that going.

About the dirt, I just cleaned it last night and rebuild the bulkhead according to this article:
http://www.taobracing.net/review_evoIV.shtml

i am pretty sure the screw are tight, but maybe i did not tighten them properly. but that is not that easy to make it balance at all sides.

and what I did either is put some grease on the gap from inside the bulkhead to prevent the dirt from coming in. i will open it later when i do the maintainance to see whether it is alright or not.

Thanks you all

go get the pinion tomorrow and try, then go to the race on sunday, my virgin racing..............
Superdate... thanks for reading the article! Ian Aquino (who's in japan right now competing in the Tamiya World Championships) wrote it. glad it helped. my EvoIV isnt built yet so i cant help much. not that i can even be helpful if the evoIV was built!

btw..if your motor is unbearable to touch after you run.. you might be overgeared? when you get your new pinions... run 2-3 laps.. pull over and touch the motor. if its too hot..then gear down. thats how i test when im using new motors. the 5.6 FDR is for the Tamiya Track. so it might not be best for the track you race at.
Old 11-19-2004, 03:43 PM
Tech Adept

Re: New/prototype arms and L shaped knuckles

It looks like the shock mounts directly onto the knuckle rather than onto the arm.