Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
The Speed Passion Thread >

The Speed Passion Thread

Like Tree52Likes

The Speed Passion Thread

Reply

Old 09-02-2011, 03:20 PM
  #7831  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,196
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mxer59 View Post
I have two questions if someone can help me out with them.
1.) The bearing size for 2200kv speed passion motor
2.) building a mod 2wd slash does speed passion have a Esc with boost
(1) 11mm od, 5mm id by H 5mm
(2) Yes...all GT2 series ESC will do boost, by using the LCD programmer box and the boost software...
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 04:45 AM
  #7832  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Yes...I totally got what you want, and this was asked like 100 times from customer. However, it will not going to happen, cause we are going to the other direction for our new ESC. Everything will be on your PHONE or Ipad or Ipod or...Android phone and Android pad.
This sounds good, but will all versions, old and new be compatible? to toggle up and down, one problem I had was to go back to an older version to update to a middle date version from the latest version...is that making sense LOL I'm getting lost myself

Do you know if HW will be doing the same or are you developing this yourselves in SP?
olly986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 07:42 PM
  #7833  
Tech Addict
 
JRRobiso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 659
Default

Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Not unless you are running 3S or 4S....for 2S, use GT2 PRO.
Received my order Friday and thank you for the extra sticker sheets.

Had to download the PDF file of the manual coz the one that came with SA Ver2.0 was too small for me to read clearly since it was mentioned that I read the manual carefully before I start setting up the speedo.

Silly question(s)...on the manual it says you can use 2-4 lipo cells but you've mentioned and also the website states if running 2 cell, use the GT2 PRO. Why is that a 2 cell lipo can not be used with the speedo? Is it b'coz the speedo will not function properly @ 7.4V? What will happen if I do use a 2 cell lipo pack?

Once again apologize for the silly quetions.

Last edited by JRRobiso; 09-03-2011 at 07:56 PM.
JRRobiso is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:58 PM
  #7834  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,528
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

that is NOT a silly question, and precisely why I said read the directions. I'll let Howard answer your question...

now read them again and see what else you can find in there, maybe like motor kv and max kv on 4s
skypilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 02:06 PM
  #7835  
gom
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 147
Default

I have a noob question and I thought this thread would be the place to ask.

I just bought a SP v3 MMM 17.5 motor and it has 11-20 degree of timing adjustment on the end plate. What should I do to get the 21-30 degree timing adjustment?

Do I need to buy extra things to get that?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
gom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 04:54 PM
  #7836  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

to start with i would just leave the timing where it is if you havnt run it much to change the timing you need to buy the other 21-30 degree plate

i was playing around with the timing a bit and personnly i found that it was just as fast doing speedy adjustments through boost and turbo and the motor ran cooler aswell
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 06:09 PM
  #7837  
gom
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 147
Default

thanks. I guess I'll just stick with it for now.
gom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 10:37 PM
  #7838  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Solara

when i put the new 17.5 MMM motor in with 323 stock software if i am currently running a 20 pinion with a 78 spur i should be dropping down to a 18 pinion to start with ? what temps do the motors like to run between ? and with the software 323 are the default settings okay to start with

our track is large fast and flowing 65m front straight 40m rear

thanks
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 11:33 PM
  #7839  
Tech Apprentice
 
dawin2122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 81
Default Looking for speed passion motors

Hi guys i am looking for a esc and motor brushless speed passion for one 2wd short course and one tamiya 1/10 on road car please recomendation for each one thanks
dawin2122 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 02:05 PM
  #7840  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 883
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default How do I adjust the timing

I have a silly question here.

Just got a new SP mmm V3.0 competition motor.
After looking up, down, front, back, left & right sides of the motor, I could not figure the way how to adjust the timing at the end bell.

Please advise.

Thanks
hobbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 11:28 PM
  #7841  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
kinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 613
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Running in stock/508_no_timing mode on the speedy we dont have any timing adjust on the speedy, so the motor timing is where its at.

Originally Posted by mattwoodcraft View Post
to start with i would just leave the timing where it is if you havnt run it much to change the timing you need to buy the other 21-30 degree plate

i was playing around with the timing a bit and personnly i found that it was just as fast doing speedy adjustments through boost and turbo and the motor ran cooler aswell
kinga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 11:48 PM
  #7842  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hobbs View Post
I have a silly question here.

Just got a new SP mmm V3.0 competition motor.
After looking up, down, front, back, left & right sides of the motor, I could not figure the way how to adjust the timing at the end bell.

Please advise.

Thanks
1st loosen the 3 screws on the front of the motor but not all the way , then tap LIGHTLY the pinion shaft then move the sensor connector to +20 or 11 depending what you want
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 12:00 AM
  #7843  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 883
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
1st loosen the 3 screws on the front of the motor but not all the way , then tap LIGHTLY the pinion shaft then move the sensor connector to +20 or 11 depending what you want
Thanks...

one more question, what is the default timing setting of a new motor???
hobbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 12:01 AM
  #7844  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hobbs View Post
Thanks...

one more question, what is the default timing setting of a new motor???
Allways in the middle V3 was 5 degrees , MMM is 15 degrees , i still need to fit and test my new 4.5MMM motor and the stock profile from my GT2.0
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 05:18 AM
  #7845  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

17.5 1 cell , and MMM motors with stock 323 software.
having some real issues getting pace wiht Tekin/LRP combos.

have a base setup that doesnt get hot, and top speed is only just down . however, it lacks punch out of corners, and takes a while to wind up.
im putting in settings that are pretty much defaults, but have gone down a little for temps on turbo timing ramp, i thikn 24 is default, i have it on 18.
the one setting i find still makes or breaks it, is the ACC timing. default is 350.
i set one up at 250, and temped, sat on 68- 73 for 3 or 4 mins, then 4 laps later it smoked a brand new MMM 17.5. so last weekend, we ran a 1 cell 17.5 and it seemed quicker wiht the base settings. but still lacked. so ramped up boost, and went to default of 24 for turbo ramp. temped fine. changed the ACC timing, from 350, to 300 this time. and it looked fast, like the MMM did before it smoked. same deal, 3 or 4 mins, never got over 74C, then a few laps later, it smoked a new 1 cell. but the speed and punch is what we are after. dont understand how a few laps more after temping at under 75C that they just smoke. its quite a large straight, and fast flowing track. any help would be great, cant keep smoking these things.
Pattojnr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service