Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
The Speed Passion Thread > The Speed Passion Thread
Like Tree47Likes

The Speed Passion Thread


Old 05-11-2011, 08:42 AM
  #7096  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,130
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
ok heres my starting softwere
6.5SPv3 middle timing
drag brake 20%
DDRS lvl 3(low grip dusty track)
boost timing 36 degrees
Turbo open time 6degree/0.1sec
turbo 15 dergees
boost start rpm 10,000
turbo open delay 0.4sec
boost timing acc 500rpm/deg
Gearing 7.2
Thanks...that is awesome.
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 08:46 AM
  #7097  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 283
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
i have tried my SP6.5 with the new stock timing on a large open track and it is SOOOOOOOO quick , i will do some more tesing this weekend and report back

great softwere
That's interesting, in my testings with 528mod software i've found that even maximising both boost and turbo timings, temperatures stayed very low (max 60) but IMHO the motor could have been a little faster. Maybe i could try stock software too. (Of course i'll try 119mod first)

BTW, what were your temperatures?

Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Infact, you should try the ABOVE testing...he too running 6.5 but with 323STOCK...even faster then 119mod.
I'll try them both, maybe 119 mod is more suitable for lower winds motors, 6.5 is still a "mild" mod motor
Fastfreddy74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:07 AM
  #7098  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fastfreddy74 View Post
BTW, what were your temperatures?
without a fan on the motor or speedo the temps were motor 70 degreesC and speedo 80 degreesC

now have a fan on the speedo and 2 small ones on the motor , i am at the track on sunday that ETS Holland will be raced on , this track has good grip so i will do some more testing and temp's

just check your temps every 2 mins just to be safe
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:12 AM
  #7099  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guy

I'm have a problem with sensor board in my v3 13.5t were it plugs in part of the plastic fell off what the part number for sensor board and were in UK can I find 1 please or is there away to fix it
Craig W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:01 AM
  #7100  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,130
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Craig W View Post
Hi Guy

I'm have a problem with sensor board in my v3 13.5t were it plugs in part of the plastic fell off what the part number for sensor board and were in UK can I find 1 please or is there away to fix it
Contact Schumacher UK....Mark Marshall, he should be able to hook you up.

Parts No.# SB218

Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:05 AM
  #7101  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i normaly carry a couple on spare , i have had a few fail over the year using them , but normally they are ok ,

quite expensive though :S
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:29 AM
  #7102  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,349
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
i normaly carry a couple on spare , i have had a few fail over the year using them , but normally they are ok ,

quite expensive though :S
Sometimes dirt gets stuck on them and they fail, I had one like that and I cleaned with motor spray let it dry and it was all working again.
defcone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:34 AM
  #7103  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Sometimes dirt gets stuck on them and they fail, I had one like that and I cleaned with motor spray let it dry and it was all working again.
oooh ok i will check the ones i have , this is why i like te spare tekin speedo have , plug in and test
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:55 AM
  #7104  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,349
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
oooh ok i will check the ones i have , this is why i like te spare tekin speedo have , plug in and test
Works with just a sensor unit?
defcone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:57 AM
  #7105  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

no but it is less hassle then plugging everything into my race car , dig the Tekin out and plug a lipo and the sensor on it and turn the motor
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 12:41 PM
  #7106  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Contact Schumacher UK....Mark Marshall, he should be able to hook you up.

Parts No.# SB218

There are out of stock
Craig W is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 12:49 PM
  #7107  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Craig W View Post
There are out of stock
try Tonisport , he is in germany but shippingis quick and he is a great guy
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 01:40 PM
  #7108  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,670
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fastfreddy74 View Post
Thanks, I'll try your suggestions this sunday

BTW what's the difference between stock rotor and RM13802NA?
Silver rotors seem to have more RPm but are more "peaky". They are a little harder to gear, but fast.
robk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 04:30 PM
  #7109  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,527
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Solara View Post
If it is any good...please share your setup with us, thanks.
I too would love to use BOOST and slower motor and compare with the straight software (no boost/sc) with 4.0T motor...my guess is, boost 6.5 is just as fast as 4.0T but with better low-end (infield) performance then 4.0T.
The top end will be the same, the field may be easier to drive, hard to match the punch, making corner setup very important
skypilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 04:44 PM
  #7110  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Bern, N.C.
Posts: 1,329
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default need the programming box

does anyone know of a US outlet that has one of the LCD speedo programming boxes in stock? Everywhere I've looked online lists them as out of stock or on back order.
vafactor is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service