Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
The Speed Passion Thread >

The Speed Passion Thread

Like Tree47Likes

The Speed Passion Thread

Reply

Old 01-26-2010, 10:46 AM
  #1966  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
I know it says stock spec, but it looks like a smaller GT2 as far as footprint, so will it still have the same specs, meaning will it still handle mod motors as well?
Well being is called "stock" spec I would say no, the software is going to be designed for stock only, just like the new 2.0 stock software isn't good for mod.

As for "physical" capability, yes it is designed to handle a mod motor
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 11:16 AM
  #1967  
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
adam: do we have a software update coming to us in the future for the GT2.0 that will have a turbo feature, or is that only going to be available in the GT2.1?
Cain, There would be no Turbo on Software Updates,
Turbo is not about Timing or Software.
Unless if the GT it self has been changed on it's hardware.
or Secretly Build in inside the GT 2.x that had not yet been revealed
by it's Speed Passion software.

That's why many Turbo Features should be shut-off on some Races.

but still question is why not speed passion add Turbo Features yet?
irgo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 11:22 AM
  #1968  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
charlie_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,852
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Cain, There would be no Turbo on Software Updates,
Turbo is not about Timing or Software.
Unless if the GT it self has been changed on it's hardware.
or Secretly Build in inside the GT 2.x that had not yet been revealed
by it's Speed Passion software.

That's why many Turbo Features should be shut-off on some Races.

but still question is why not speed passion add Turbo Features yet?
It is only a matter of time. Development isn't as easy as one may think. There are a lot of trial and errors involved. Perfection is achieved when all is done right to begin with. You can't just figure out the magic software and pull it out of a hat and say "here it is!" Just be patient.
charlie_b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:06 PM
  #1969  
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

The description of the GT 2.1 Pro stock on Red RC speaks of only 1:12 ... but can also handle touring at 7.4 volts?
AGNO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:11 PM
  #1970  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AGNO View Post
The description of the GT 2.1 Pro stock on Red RC speaks of only 1:12 ... but can also handle touring at 7.4 volts?
yes
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:13 PM
  #1971  
Tech Apprentice
 
energydrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 86
Default

how should I gear a 4.0 V3.0 in a tc ?
energydrink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:19 PM
  #1972  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by energydrink View Post
how should I gear a 4.0 V3.0 in a tc ?
How fast can you handle?


How are other mod drivers gearing their 4.0's?

I ask because I seriously don't know but 2 mod tc guys and neither run a motor that low, they're both running 5.5's
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 01:09 PM
  #1973  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
lochness42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
How fast can you handle?


How are other mod drivers gearing their 4.0's?

I ask because I seriously don't know but 2 mod tc guys and neither run a motor that low, they're both running 5.5's
try to check manual you got with motor - there are recommended FDR ranges for each motor.
lochness42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 01:13 PM
  #1974  
Tech Initiate
 
rc-racer-kirby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 33
Default

OK so say i went for the GT2.0 and installed stock software. Could i just use the latest update at every track? I attend 2 tracks regurally in summer, one is very fast and open, one is quite tight. everytime i go to a diffrent tracks i dont want to be going through every update just to go fast. Which makes me think i should go for the LRP Stock Spec
rc-racer-kirby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 03:01 PM
  #1975  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Racer X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey, I'll trade you my LRP SPX for your 2.0 then! I think that one stock software profile will suit most tracks...
Racer X is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 04:35 PM
  #1976  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Coldn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Coldn View Post
anyone know the specs from v3 10.5T??

Spec. RPM per volt, kV:
RPM:
Power:
Efficiency:
anybody can help me??
Coldn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 05:56 PM
  #1977  
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Cain, There would be no Turbo on Software Updates,
Turbo is not about Timing or Software.
Unless if the GT it self has been changed on it's hardware.
or Secretly Build in inside the GT 2.x that had not yet been revealed
by it's Speed Passion software.

That's why many Turbo Features should be shut-off on some Races.

but still question is why not speed passion add Turbo Features yet?
Where did you find information on what the "tekin turbo" really is?

According to this http://forum.teamtekin.com/phpbb3/vi...hp?f=30&t=2413 from tekin's forum, it looks like a software thing! The key is timing change proportional to motor speed. It's variable timing!
TEM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 06:00 PM
  #1978  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Originally Posted by TEM View Post
Where did you find information on what the "tekin turbo" really is?

According to this http://forum.teamtekin.com/phpbb3/vi...hp?f=30&t=2413 from tekin's forum, it looks like a software thing! The key is timing change proportional to motor speed. It's variable timing!
And I believe they added it with just a software change, not a hardware change.
Dave H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 06:11 PM
  #1979  
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

I guess we would need new software for the PC (one with parameter change for "turbo" settings) and new firmware for the ESC.

MAYBE the only thing I can think of as a limiting factor is if the ESC's microcontroller can handle all the timing functions.

Basically we are talking about a launch timing (low) that gets the car moving from standstill.

Acceleration range timing advance. Start RPM to End RPM presets and the number of degrees of advance presets per 1000rpm of change (as per Tekin, but it can literally be anything depending on motor, track, etc).

Top Speed Boost; advance of X degrees IF full throttle was held on to for preset amount of time. And tekin even says this doesn't work for short tracks!

All makes very logical sense to me!
TEM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 06:12 PM
  #1980  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Milwaukee
Posts: 2,731
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

how the new motors holding up? im looking for an 8.5 in a 2wd offroad, these things have some torque to them or are they more top end? i like them because the quick bullet connectors to them for the motor.
not home is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service