Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 07-23-2015, 07:19 PM
  #24961  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 2,356
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
I just shot coffee out my nose. Thanks, Bob.
Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
KA2AEV is offline  
Old 07-23-2015, 08:06 PM
  #24962  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,761
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

BILKO1, yes please.
c-lyon is offline  
Old 07-24-2015, 02:32 PM
  #24963  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 281
Default

So now....I have a 2.4 ghz Acoms technisport radio with an Acoms receiver and acoms as17 servo. Will another servo work with that receiver. Are they all the 3 wire plug...I beleive red yellow and black. I haven't seen the 'works with or fits these' sayings with any servo's I've looked at... and don't want to buy it and have to change the receiver or something. Are they kind of universal or are there some little bumps and pot holes in the road I should be watching for?
M05 newbie is offline  
Old 07-24-2015, 03:05 PM
  #24964  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M05 newbie
So now....I have a 2.4 ghz Acoms technisport radio with an Acoms receiver and acoms as17 servo. Will another servo work with that receiver. Are they all the 3 wire plug...I beleive red yellow and black. I haven't seen the 'works with or fits these' sayings with any servo's I've looked at... and don't want to buy it and have to change the receiver or something. Are they kind of universal or are there some little bumps and pot holes in the road I should be watching for?
In most cases you will be fine mixing brands and types. They are pretty standard, and have been for many years.

However, you can run into problems when running an analog servo on a digital radio with a high frame rate. The servo can buzz and oscillate. (In techie terms, the loop gain of an analog servo increases with frame rate. If the gain is too high, the feedback loop oscillates.) Some digital radios have a frame rate adjustment to accommodate analog servos.
howardcano is offline  
Old 07-24-2015, 04:01 PM
  #24965  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

On top of what Howard already mentioned, some brands have servo connectors that may not directly fit into your receiver. You will need to trim off the orientation key of the plug and make sure that the wires are plugged in the right 3 wiring. Not a big deal, but just pointing it out.

I've not dealt with an Acoms system so do not know if the receivers come with the key'ed receptacle or not.


In other news, my new M05 MonteCarlo kit arrived, and the Tamiya steering link hop ups for my V2.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 07-24-2015, 05:51 PM
  #24966  
Tech Apprentice
 
BumFacedGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wild and Craggy Quantock Mountains
Posts: 61
Default

In other news, no-one cares
BumFacedGoat is offline  
Old 07-24-2015, 08:01 PM
  #24967  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 2,356
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BumFacedGoat
In other news, no-one cares
Huh?????????
KA2AEV is offline  
Old 07-24-2015, 10:49 PM
  #24968  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BumFacedGoat
In other news, no-one cares
Enlighten me, what do you got to offer us?
sakadachi is offline  
Old 07-25-2015, 01:59 PM
  #24969  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Crap, the Tamiya aluminum steering link binds at the right post on my V2.

Will need to make a shim to extend the length of the post.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 07-25-2015, 02:16 PM
  #24970  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm starting to think ignore listing people may actually be hiding valuable information from my inquiring mind.
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 07-25-2015, 02:19 PM
  #24971  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi
Crap, the Tamiya aluminum steering link binds at the right post on my V2.

Will need to make a shim to extend the length of the post.
There was a revision offered by Tamiya for this. It involves an incredibly tiny shim. I'll see if I can find it. (Made my own shim from a ring of very fine solder, btw)



http://www.tamiya.com/english/info/5...ent/index2.htm

Last edited by monkeyracing; 07-25-2015 at 02:37 PM.
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 07-25-2015, 02:47 PM
  #24972  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,791
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Your best bet is to get the 3racing 3mm shim kit: it comes with ten shims of each thickness (0.1/0.2/0.3)....
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Old 07-25-2015, 05:05 PM
  #24973  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,085
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

....
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 07-25-2015, 06:06 PM
  #24974  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
There was a revision offered by Tamiya for this. It involves an incredibly tiny shim. I'll see if I can find it. (Made my own shim from a ring of very fine solder, btw)



http://www.tamiya.com/english/info/5...ent/index2.htm
Thanks, my kit came with the revison and shim.
Now I'm thinking the shim was stuck to the post when I cleaned it and mounted it on the left side unknowingly.. I will check this out again.


Originally Posted by bertrandsv87
Your best bet is to get the 3racing 3mm shim kit: it comes with ten shims of each thickness (0.1/0.2/0.3)....
Thanks for the info!
sakadachi is offline  
Old 07-25-2015, 06:09 PM
  #24975  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America
....
Cpt.America - the strong, silent type.
monkeyracing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.