Search
Like Tree1Likes

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 08:06 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Originally Posted by reenmachine
I build custom vintage Mustangs for a living, and one of my buddies from that world is Miles Cook, who is the Tech Editor for Mustang Monthly magazine. He used to race RC a lot back in the 80s and I've been letting him race my Mustang in VTA and I've been running my Camaro.

He also writes on the Mustang Monthly blog and he just posted this:

Mustang Monthly USVTA Blog

It'll be interesting to see what kind of response it gets!
Reen,

I thought that it was too much a coincidence in the name. I followed your builds on the various mustang forums, and have a 69 mustang myself. Welcome to the R/C world .

Jimmy
Old 11-11-2008, 08:18 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)

Originally Posted by YmeBP
As a racer and a dad of a current racer and 2 up and coming racers (lots and lots of rc stuff at my house) i'd like to ask, petition, beg that you don't make it 21.5 lipo only. Funny thing is i run 21.5 lipo .

1) My kid is 10, he's having a great time w/ the brushed, 4 cell. I can get both dirt cheap and other kids his skill level are running the same thing. Part of the reason he is racing vta is because the other classes are WAY too expensive, and fast. Hell even M18's have gotten crazy in the thirst for speed.

2) Cost, i'd like to keep racing. With all these blasted kids (yes i know we didn't have to have them all but we did and we like racing as a family) it's expensive to do lipo's. It is also expensive to go fast, the faster he (me too) goes the most stuff breaks.

3) Saftey, i'm not that worried about the lipo's blowing up when i use them, as lazy as i get sometimes i am careful w/ them. But ... he's 10, (my other new racer is almost 4) and i've yet to see him cause a meltdown w/ reversed polarity or shorted nickle's.