R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2005, 07:50 AM   #12781
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by josh69162
Didn't see that one coming...
-Josh
B/C they haven't reviewed the Yokomo LCG yet Seriously though, the Pro4 is great, but it really can't compare to the Yokomo on asphalt.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 07:50 AM   #12782
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by floodo1
what surface?
medium traction asphalt
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 08:39 AM   #12783
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Hey guys whats a good pinion to run for a 19T reedy in a smaller p-lot track , stock gearing.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:37 AM   #12784
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

36tooth
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:32 PM   #12785
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 380
Default

Hi Chad, do you think the yokomo LCG is better on an asphalp surface ?
jim beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:48 PM   #12786
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Okay, here's a question for you guy's.....

Has anybody besides me had problems with the steering rack hitting the back of the front suspension block?? Or is it possibly because I have the BMI chassis?

Last edited by John Warner; 09-11-2005 at 06:59 PM.
John Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 07:19 PM   #12787
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

I have the BMI chassis and I experienced this the last time i used my pro4. All i did was re-assembled the steering rack and everything was fine. It might be a BMI thing.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 07:26 PM   #12788
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Yeah, I have my car in front of me right now (without the BMI chassis), and I think it must be the chassis. But then again, I don't see anything that would cause the steering plate to hit it. I guess follow axel's advice and rebuild it. Maybe you reversed something on accident?
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 07:46 PM   #12789
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i have the normal chassis and i still have the rack hit the bliock it just barely rubs rather then hits, after a days od racing it rubber the bit of carbon off and was fine
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 08:05 PM   #12790
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim beam
Hi Chad, do you think the yokomo LCG is better on an asphalp surface ?
Hey Jim,

I think that for asphalt, the Yokomo LCG is faster than the Pro4. I say this because it has a lower center of gravity and a more flexible chassis. This helps out b/c the flex in the chassis smooths out the imperfections in the asphalt, or in the setup. And the lower center of gravity helps keep all 4 wheels contacting the asphalt without needing swaybars or a stiff setup.

I haven't driven my Yokomo on carpet with foams, but from what other Yokomo drivers have said, the chassis flex slows it down b/c it has too much traction and binds up the car in the corners.

The Pro4 definately takes the cake as being an awesome car out of the box. The setup on this car rocks with a front one-way or spool on asphalt in a stock class. It's not a great setup for mod, but it was the easiest car I've ever owned to make fast with the stock setup.

Jim, you can't go wrong with either car. I'd say that if your going to be racing on asphalt only, get the Yokomo LCG. If you might race carpet once in a while, get the Pro4 b/c it will be a good car on both surfaces.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 09:49 PM   #12791
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

you know you can just get a thinner chassis for more felx. the pro4 was the top asphalt car is asia. if you just get a 2mm and a 2mm top deck the pro will be hooked up. mine sure is.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 09:53 PM   #12792
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

The Schumacher Mi2 is the top car in Florida, but it's probably not the best car for asphalt.

Yeah, I bet with a 2.0 chassis, it could be better, but it still won't be as low CG as the Yokomo.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:16 PM   #12793
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

My Pro4 is very good on asphalt w/ this 2mm chassis i just got
Aurra Sing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:27 PM   #12794
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

for asphalt - 2mm chasssis and new Hara '05 upperdeck...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 11:24 PM   #12795
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Does anyone have the Hara upper deck in stock? Nothing shows up on Tower...
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0