Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Official Tekin RX8 GEN2 ESC Thread >

Official Tekin RX8 GEN2 ESC Thread

Like Tree13Likes

Official Tekin RX8 GEN2 ESC Thread

Reply

Old 05-01-2013, 12:18 PM
  #16  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,081
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
curious, is there a reason why the setting of the BEC voltage can't be done via the buttons on ESC?
Because it would have cost more? I understand they didn't modify the board, added a led and changed the case just for this.
Pulse_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:18 PM
  #17  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (154)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,587
Trader Rating: 154 (99%+)
Default

Now I need to remove the red annodizing on my motors to match the new color scheme. lol!
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:19 PM
  #18  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,081
Default

I'll paint my M11X also



It's the good time for a new speedo, good job Tekin
Pulse_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:23 PM
  #19  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (83)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,310
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

I assume they ran out of blinking lights to assign. But this is not something you would change often, but you would need to buy the hotwire or fine someone with it. The funny thing is, I know a lot of guys that run the tekin rx8 in sc and 8th scale and none of them have a hotwire. I suspect they dont care about fine tuning and just run it blinky with the current limited. If your not using the boost features, the hotwire is not a great thing aside from firmware updates. I am sure someone in town has one and updates the firmware for guys, no idea who it is though. But it would be nice to be able to see what the voltage on the bec is set too. Is there a way to reset to factory defaults from the esc alone? I only say this because of the used resale market. If someone has it at 7.4volts and sell it to a guy that has a 6v only receiver and servo, it could fry his electronics. If they could just reset to factory defaults with a long press or something, then that would be nice.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:24 PM
  #20  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (83)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,310
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pulse_ View Post
I'll paint my M11X also



It's the good time for a new speedo, good job Tekin
That is a sexy looking radio. Seriously, nice.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:26 PM
  #21  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,081
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971 View Post
I assume they ran out of blinking lights to assign. But this is not something you would change often, but you would need to buy the hotwire or fine someone with it. The funny thing is, I know a lot of guys that run the tekin rx8 in sc and 8th scale and none of them have a hotwire. I suspect they dont care about fine tuning and just run it blinky with the current limited. If your not using the boost features, the hotwire is not a great thing aside from firmware updates. I am sure someone in town has one and updates the firmware for guys, no idea who it is though. But it would be nice to be able to see what the voltage on the bec is set too. Is there a way to reset to factory defaults from the esc alone? I only say this because of the used resale market. If someone has it at 7.4volts and sell it to a guy that has a 6v only receiver and servo, it could fry his electronics. If they could just reset to factory defaults with a long press or something, then that would be nice.
+1 on the hotwire, if you own a RX8 it's a MUST HAVE. The TEKIN software is so advanced it really makes a difference on the track.
Pulse_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:28 PM
  #22  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
savageboy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pasco,WA
Posts: 4,104
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971 View Post
I assume they ran out of blinking lights to assign. But this is not something you would change often, but you would need to buy the hotwire or fine someone with it. The funny thing is, I know a lot of guys that run the tekin rx8 in sc and 8th scale and none of them have a hotwire. I suspect they dont care about fine tuning and just run it blinky with the current limited. If your not using the boost features, the hotwire is not a great thing aside from firmware updates. I am sure someone in town has one and updates the firmware for guys, no idea who it is though. But it would be nice to be able to see what the voltage on the bec is set too. Is there a way to reset to factory defaults from the esc alone? I only say this because of the used resale market. If someone has it at 7.4volts and sell it to a guy that has a 6v only receiver and servo, it could fry his electronics. If they could just reset to factory defaults with a long press or something, then that would be nice.
you can do a factory reset by turning on the esc and holding inc and mode for about 3 seconds then the leds will ramp up to confirm
savageboy69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:30 PM
  #23  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (83)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,310
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

well there you go. if you buy one used and dont have a hotwire, do a factory reset before using. aside from the BEC voltage, its good practice. That is a very nice feature to have btw.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:41 PM
  #24  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,081
Default

what is the amperage provided by the BEC?
Pulse_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:43 PM
  #25  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
ButtDyno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado Springs,CO
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

So...i received a new/refurb rx8 from Tekin a few days ago. It has the black anodized heat sink also, does this mean anything? No white case tho...so probably not a Gen2.
ButtDyno is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:45 PM
  #26  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (83)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,310
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

probably not
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:47 PM
  #27  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (83)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,310
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

where is the easy access port? I just see the sensor port. Just curious
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:48 PM
  #28  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,081
Default

Originally Posted by ButtDyno View Post
So...i received a new/refurb rx8 from Tekin a few days ago. It has the black anodized heat sink also, does this mean anything? No white case tho...so probably not a Gen2.
it's a Gen1 for sure, they put a black heatsink on their last Gen1 RX8 because they had no stock of red ones anymore

Does the BEC provide 7A under 7V? That's massive
Pulse_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:50 PM
  #29  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (83)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,310
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

nm. wow, 7amps...that is a lot. Now savox needs to make a servo that pulls 10amps so we can fry more things, lol.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 12:55 PM
  #30  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pulse_ View Post
I'll paint my M11X also



It's the good time for a new speedo, good job Tekin
Is that the new iPhone?
chevmaro is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service