R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2004, 04:54 PM   #526
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

Thanks Dino, that makes sence

(BTW - Your english is fine!!)
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 11:01 PM   #527
Tech Addict
 
Ybakoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 554
Default

Hi all, Just about to start my D3 for the first time. Where should I set my needles.
Ybakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 11:54 PM   #528
Tech Elite
 
EdwardN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,144
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Burger

Quote:
Originally posted by burger
I didn't get the Projet Zen Modded version. Sorry. I probably wouldn't post pics if I did, since it's kind of an intellectual propery thing that could be reproduced if you saw the pics.

J
Ouch! I put so many pics of my motor ( Palmaris PS12), so for sure now I need to expect that it will be reproduced!!!!!!!! by everybody!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: Since 90% of my posts may be BS, and since my posts may be either insanely idiotic, incoherent, and/or not even close to a rational thought, please accord my posts no more than 10% of credibility.
EdwardN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 06:57 AM   #529
Tech Fanatic
 
kitracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: hong kong
Posts: 986
Default Re: Re: Re: Burger

Quote:
Originally posted by Top Gun 777
Ouch! I put so many pics of my motor ( Palmaris PS12), so for sure now I need to expect that it will be reproduced!!!!!!!! by everybody!!!!!!!!!!
TG, you got PM

tks
Chris
kitracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 10:24 AM   #530
Tech Fanatic
 
TOEBSTER2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DePere, WI
Posts: 993
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ybakoff
Hi all, Just about to start my D3 for the first time. Where should I set my needles.
Ybakoff
Last year I had a sts breakin sheet that said 4 turns out on the high needle, 4 turns out on the low and mid range to be flush with carb body.
I started breaking in my D5 last night and started with this. I turned it out a tad more on the high and low(8th of a turn) to get a little fuel to spit from the pipe to make sure I was rich enough.
Also try preheating your engine to make to piston not stick so much.
Good luck.
__________________
Crookid Creations
TOEBSTER2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 11:42 AM   #531
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Engine Woes

Quote:
Originally posted by wangcc61
First of all, you should have a silver (0.3mm) head shim.
The copper one is only 0.1mm thick.

My suggestions are:
1. Put the silver head shim back.
2. Rich up the Low Speed Needle a little bit (You might need to also raise the idle screw after you rich up the LSN.)

If you idle the engine for a period of time (let's say after 30 seconds), then, the RPM gets higher and higher when time goes by, that's a sign of a lean bottom end setting. If you have temp gun, check the temperature and let us know how high it is.
Ok...after much (*^*&%& , fiddling and frustration...I think I may finally have things square...It idled decent for a few minutes and the temp was at 160, then it died. Im letting it cool down now and will try starting it again in a few minutes. I have a Raytek with out the laser, I point the top of the gun, where the line is, down at the glo plug. Im pretty sure this is correct. I did notice that while it did idle ok, it did seem to surge for a split second every now and then. I dont think this is a major issue at the time though, just a note.
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 12:21 PM   #532
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

wouldn't ya know it.....


RRRRRAAAAAAIIIINNNNNNN!!!!!!!

Ahh well...we'll keep ya informed as things go on...
BTW, I was mistaken in my first post...I meant to say I had the silver shim...I do know I have the correct shim in.
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 08:34 PM   #533
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroOB4You
wouldn't ya know it.....


RRRRRAAAAAAIIIINNNNNNN!!!!!!!

Ahh well...we'll keep ya informed as things go on...
BTW, I was mistaken in my first post...I meant to say I had the silver shim...I do know I have the correct shim in.
Hi NitroOB4You,

Do you use very long pressure line?If so,try to make it shorter a bit.

If presure line is too long,it will let your engine singing. When you close your throttle,the rpm dosen't fall soon.

If presure line is too short,it will let your engine perform not that good at mid-rpm range. The back pressure deliver too fast.

Last edited by dino.tw; 04-04-2004 at 08:47 PM.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 08:56 PM   #534
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I will keep this in mind.However, I do not have a problem with the closing of throttle...it idles up on it's own, with no throttle input. And when I do blip the throttle, it comes down fine.
I am not sure if I understand completely ...are you suggesting that too long a pressure line may cause the idle to go high, or are you suggesting that too long a line may cause problems with the revs coming down as the throttle returns to neutral? Or are both situations possible?

OMG!!! I think I do see your point though...I just measured my line...being all curled up like it was, it does not "look" too long....however, after stretching it out and actually measuring it, I found that is is close to 14" or 350 mm long ...
Soooo...anyone have a ball park figure as to how long the pressure line should be?
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 09:08 PM   #535
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

That depends on how much backpressure your pipe generates but if its just sitting there and starts singing after awhile it sounds to me the LSN is a tad too lean.


Quote:
If presure line is too short,it will let your engine perform not that good at mid-rpm range.
Currently that's my problem, I am going to lengthen and add a fuel filter to the pressure line, apparently that also helps
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 09:08 PM   #536
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

close to 14" or 350 mm long...

Almost the same with mine but I'm using STS21 and 9886....

I would keep it as short as possible if the mid-rpm perform well. Your engine may easy to over heat due to not enough fuel to let it cool down when you close the throttle.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 09:18 PM   #537
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default STS 21 on-road sample

To whom is interested in STS 21 engine. There are some pictures...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sts21 on-road sample1.jpg (115.5 KB, 123 views)

Last edited by dino.tw; 04-04-2004 at 09:36 PM.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 09:19 PM   #538
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default Re: STS 21 on-road sample

Quote:
Originally posted by dino.tw
To whom is interested in STS 21 engine. There are some pictures...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sts21 on-road sample2.jpg (103.5 KB, 121 views)

Last edited by dino.tw; 04-04-2004 at 09:36 PM.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 09:32 PM   #539
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default STS 21 on-road sample

Tested it yesterday at our home track(gee chih racetrack). Perform not that bad with my 950R. I got the fastest lap time yesterday 14.6s. The 2nd racer is 14.7s with his M.Collari Sirio/Evolva.

But we do meet some problems in some parts like carb and crankshaft....So need more time to make it better. I'm using RB's carb for the moment...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sts21 on-road sample3.jpg (84.9 KB, 119 views)
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 01:33 AM   #540
Tech Master
 
ziggy12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,596
Default

So whats the verdict??

STS is OK or not? or do I buy a Noverrossi?

Thanks
ziggy12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.:Go Engines vs. Jammin Engines:. lanerbrainer205 Nitro Off-Road 20 12-23-2007 04:46 PM
.12 Engines sale all new pipes too. 6 engines ericsp2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-06-2007 02:19 PM
os engines compared to rb engines rhymster Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 4 08-03-2007 05:13 PM
IDM engines and picco engines foampervert Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5 11-23-2006 05:36 AM
SH engines crazyjr Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 7 01-20-2006 03:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net