Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Serpent 710

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2004, 10:57 PM
Tech Fanatic

Originally posted by SupermaxxRich
I'd have to disagree with you guys on that Nitro doesn't make more power. I build drag race engines for a living and I have customers that run methanol and Nitro methane. Put it this way, guys running methanol only, with better superchargers, more boost and better cylinder heads make about 3000-3500 Horespower. Guys running Nitro about 90%, with less boost are making about 8000 HORESPOWER!!!! There is alot of power to be had with Nitro. The extra power that comes from Nitro is because it is actually quite explosive. Nitro actual explodes in the combustion chamber. On the engines that are running Nitro in Drag Racing, it is so explosive and there is soo much cylinder pressure that after every pass all the bearings in the engine have been completely pounded flat! Now thats power! Just my two cents.
Hey SuperMaxx, Yes in those large supercharged motors, I agree, but in these little beasts, the nitro cools, and aids in the combustion when Idling, those large beasts have a timing system you can adjust and all. if you run 90% nitro in these little motors, you will get preignition and dettonation so bad you will more than likely throw the conrod through the crack case. in these little engines, the methanol makes the power and the nitro helps to a point.
Old 03-30-2004, 11:02 PM
Tech Fanatic

Default Re: My clutch slips

Originally posted by pelos
After the first 40 min run I serviced my 710. I put all together (radio tray, motor, clutch and gear) but now the clutch slips It was working perfectly!
I checked 5 times the clutch gap and the end play as in the manual. I loose the clutch spring more than one turn but the problem is still there.
I am not able to understand if I made a mistake or the clutch shoe is burn out...
Have you got oil on the clutch?
Old 03-30-2004, 11:42 PM

Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Question for GlennCauley?