Losi 8ight building and setup

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Losi 8ight building and setup

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2007, 12:38 PM
Tech Master

Yea, 7 minutes sounds about right for the Mach 427. If you want better fuel economy you need to get a .21. The OS V-spec and VG are suppose to get exceptional runtime.
Old 07-05-2007, 01:16 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

With my VG in my 8ight, I average 10-12 minutes of race/run time.
Old 07-05-2007, 01:59 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Originally Posted by boo-car
I am new to Nitro, and have the RTR car.

If I want to start over tuning from factory settings, what's the proper way to do this? For factory settings, both high and low speed are 2.5 turns 'out', but 'out' from what starting point? Do I turn them 'in' until I start to feel a change in the amount of restistance to turning, or until they stop moving altogether with low torque (i.e. not trying to tighten them like a structural screw, just twisting lightly with the fingers until it will no longer move with this amount of light pressure). I notice when turning in there is a point where it gets slightly harder to turn before its stops.

Also, after break-in, how much 'off' are the the 2.5/2.5 factory settings? Way off, or is it just minor tweaks? I've tried to have others help me on this front, but my engine seems to chug fuel the current settings (maybe I can run 7 minutes on a tank), and it still seems to get a little too hot. The settings aren't even close to factory, from the changes that have been made. I live in the New England area with pretty much normal elevation and temps in the sommer in the high 70's/low 80's, I know engine tuning is affected by the environment, but this will be what I am mostly running in for the near future.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Where do you run in New England?Maybe if you shoot me a PM I can try and help you and stuff. ttyl.
Old 07-05-2007, 01:59 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)