R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2005, 09:40 PM   #406
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

What kinda bodies are they using that might cause problems.
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 07:59 AM   #407
Tech Master
 
kvrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,000
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottmisfits
Is it pretty easy to set up different profiles to different comparable brushed motors? Like if I want a setting colse to 19t?
none of the profiles limit the overall power of the motor. they just have different preset profiles for certain things. 4 of the 5 brushless profiles can be fully reprogramed if you want and the brushed profile is also fully programable.
i have a 5.5 system in my bk2 buggy and trust me it has more power than i could ever use. all i do to limit power is back down my throttle endpoint on my radio. i have mine set at 70% and it still feels a little more powerful than a 19 turn.
kvrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 09:08 AM   #408
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

The adjustability on the GTB is easy. Switching between brushed and brushless is easy, just make sure everything is disconnected before trying the switch on the ESC. Ive ran the GTB in stock brushed, and i feel it has the same if not more power than the GTX. I know the GTB has a lower on power resistance than the GTX! Its the best speed controller available IMHO, and thats not just from a brushless standpoint. A little heavier than most brushed esc, but if you want the possibility of brushless, its the way to go. I couldnt be happier. Soldering three wires on a brushed motor takes a few extra hands, but is easily done. As soon as my TA05 arrives, the setup will be transplanted into the new car, also when I get a 415, ill be getting a second GTB ESC, and running the 5.5r in brushless.... yeahhaaa
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 01:31 PM   #409
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,927
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

That wiring configuration makes me think that connectors between the ESC and motor would actually be a good idea. The three wires could be converged into one wire from a connector. The space problem and added risk of a connector coming loose are still considerations.
I ran connectors on both motor and battery years ago an never once had a connector come loose from the motor wires but I did have one come loose from the battery on occasion (battery escaping from the battery tray in an old RC10)
__________________
"I have no idea what you're talking about, so here's a bunny with a pancake on it's head."

In mind and body, we're all heading towards old age. It is slower to go by bike.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 01:38 PM   #410
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

A connector is a great idea for the club racer or the non racer, but personally ive taken off all connectors on motors. Its not THAT hard to connect the three wires to the neg terminal. Admittedly, i do remember how easy it used to be to swap out motors when i was set up with deans connectors on everything, but since ive started to get 'the best of everything' like batts and motors, connectors arent a consideration. Anyway to enhance the punch... ill do it

Just thought id mention my next project for a GTB.... a 1980's Sand scorcher . And yes the Scorcher is worth it! lol Ill probably go with a 4300, so i dont strip the gearbox
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 03:22 PM   #411
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,927
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Man! a Sand Scorcher!?! Those had waterproof everything! Even the motor was in a waterproof case (probably got pretty hot...)
I still use connectors on the battery (sermos) and I can't tell any difference in punch. Sometimes, they are the only part of the power system that is still cool after a run.
__________________
"I have no idea what you're talking about, so here's a bunny with a pancake on it's head."

In mind and body, we're all heading towards old age. It is slower to go by bike.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 06:44 PM   #412
Tech Master
 
jaejw1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: dana point
Posts: 1,782
Send a message via AIM to jaejw1
Default

my motor wires are set like this,,, for brushed i have male bullet connectors similar to those on the mamba ,, then i take 2 of the wires and solder them to one and then that goes to the negative terminal on the motor,,,, and the positive is hard wired to the battery... swithing from BL to brushed is simple and very fast,,, the only thing that takes time is setting the esc...



question,,, i have been racing stock truck with my gtb esc,,, i have not done anything to the default settings for brushed motor.. what options do i have,,, and can i make the motor faster with this esc,,,, faster than the stock/default setting will allow..
the track is about 40x60 small tight with atleast one straight... supercross style........... socal raceway

not totally understanding drive freq and min drive,, the only thing i got is that min drive should be highest for stock motors 12% but the drive freq has got me confused..
__________________
vendetta videos.. http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5684344/tm.htm

motor review
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5643067/tm.htm
http://www.rctech.net/forum/micro-mini-scales/156814-vendetta-bl-motor-reviews-pros-cons.html

tire review
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_6000527/tm.htm

Last edited by jaejw1; 10-17-2005 at 07:01 PM.
jaejw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 08:23 PM   #413
Tech Regular
 
Jsaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
kmorast Jsaves how did it compare to your brushed motors?
Now I did not run a mod brushed that day, but it felt really good to me.
I put it on the 4th profile which is 40% brakes and 40% drag brake. It felt like brushed all the way, in fact it was probably to much brake and drag brake. You can also adjust each of the profiles to a custom. I did under gear but I had no problems with speed. It has nice torque and top end. It was really fun just going out and practicing without a worry about having to replace or rebuild my 8 turn.
God Bless
__________________
Proud member of Magic City RC Racers
Magic City R/C (Facebook)
CRC GT-R
CRC WTF-1
Jsaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 11:08 PM   #414
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: planet r/c
Posts: 66
Default gtb with sensorless motor ?

Hi,

Anyone knows if Novak GTB can work with sensorless motors (like LMT with 3 wire config) ?
racerchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 11:10 PM   #415
Suspended
 
GordonFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reality
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Nope, it only works the other way around. You can use a sensorless ESC with a sensored motor. Of course you won't get the advantages of sensored then.
__________________
We are the borg, you will conform, you will be assimilated. You will not stalk me to another web site.
GordonFreeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 06:35 AM   #416
Tech Apprentice
 
Vesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Vesa Send a message via MSN to Vesa
Default

Hi guys,

I wonder...Is it ok to use the 5.5 Novak without the power capacitor on speedo when running with 4 cells?

I am using the combo in my 1/12th scale car and I am thinking to take the capacitor off. Any experience about this issue?

regards,
Vesa
__________________
V @ V-Dezign
Sponsored by: V-Dezign | Nosram | Reedy | Black Art | TQ Wire | Horizon hobby | Xenon Racing | Badger airbrush | RC-Trim.com
Web - www.v-dezign.net | Facebook - www.facebook.com/vdezign
Vesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 11:47 PM   #417
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesa
Hi guys,

I wonder...Is it ok to use the 5.5 Novak without the power capacitor on speedo when running with 4 cells?

I am using the combo in my 1/12th scale car and I am thinking to take the capacitor off. Any experience about this issue?

regards,
Vesa
NO. You can take the fan off for 1/12 (you kinda have to with the slammed bodies). But always leave the cap on.
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2005, 09:24 PM   #418
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,186
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

One of my BMI2's with the GTB 5.5

Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2005, 09:33 PM   #419
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default GTB 6.5 w/ 4 cells

Got to run my GTB 6.5 system today at a club race. I have to say with 4 cells I had no problems in a 1/10 TC racing in the 19T mod class.
vadn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2005, 11:56 PM   #420
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

This has probably already been asked, but I did a search and only found little bits and pieces. Im getting a new esc for brushed motors, and I was looking into the gtx when I remembered that the GTB has lower resistance with brushed motors. Is there any reason that I should get the GTX over the GTB? I race off road and the size difference shouldnt be a problem, people run 7.1's and tekins. Does the GTB have all of the same features as the GTX when run with brushed motors? I think I read that it doesnt have the premade profiles, but it has the adjustable profile. Can the premade profiles of the GTX be replicated? I run 2wd buggy and I run a 14 turn, it wouldnt be necessary to run the fan, would it? Instead of running the three wires all the way to the negative on the motor, could you splice one wire and solder the other two onto it? I dont think that I could fit three wires on a v2, and it probably adds a bit of weight. Anything else that would point me in either direction? There is a slight chance that I may run brushless in the future, but Id like to look at this from a brushed point of view right now.

Thanks
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net