Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Associated RC 12 R5.2 >

Associated RC 12 R5.2

Like Tree24Likes

Associated RC 12 R5.2

Old 10-20-2012, 09:39 AM
  #121  
Tech Regular
 
TEAM BURN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 339
Default

Originally Posted by The_Punisher View Post
This is my first 12th scale, so I apologize if this question is stupid! When I look at Hohwart's worlds set up, he has the upper arm mount with a 2mm spacer. Now when I tried that I could not get the arm brace to go in, since the upper arm mounts are now 4mm closer to each other. What am I missing?
your not missing anything... to do this you dont run the cross brace.
hope this helps!!
TEAM BURN is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 11:19 AM
  #122  
Tech Rookie
 
The_Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 8
Default

is the purpose of running no brace to increase flex and front grip?

Last edited by The_Punisher; 10-20-2012 at 11:25 AM. Reason: spelling
The_Punisher is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 11:56 AM
  #123  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,496
Default

You can use the original brace from the R5 / R5.1 as the older chassis was 2mm per side narrower.
MattW is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 01:22 PM
  #124  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by The_Punisher View Post
is the purpose of running no brace to increase flex and front grip?
Yup, more steering. No real negatives from not using it.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 03:50 PM
  #125  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

I need help freeing up the upper arms. With the steering block removed the arms should fall under their own weight, right?
Geppetto is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 05:39 PM
  #126  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Geppetto View Post
I need help freeing up the upper arms. With the steering block removed the arms should fall under their own weight, right?
You might need an arm reamer .
theatriks is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 08:46 PM
  #127  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (12)
 
asirolli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Shelby Township - MI
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

What is a good start configuration in terms of esc, servo, motor brand for a mod class?

I was planning to use a 4.0t motor.
asirolli is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 09:56 PM
  #128  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,849
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by asirolli View Post
What is a good start configuration in terms of esc, servo, motor brand for a mod class?

I was planning to use a 4.0t motor.
I run the hobbywing 1s lipo esc with an x20 4.5 and digital jr servo and love the esc motor combo! Very smooth and has been really reliable for me.
racer x 1 is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 09:02 AM
  #129  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by TEAM BURN View Post
your not missing anything... to do this you dont run the cross brace.
hope this helps!!
Originally Posted by MattW View Post
You can use the original brace from the R5 / R5.1 as the older chassis was 2mm per side narrower.
This is the solution. I run the older cross brace.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 11:10 AM
  #130  
Tech Regular
 
TEAM BURN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 339
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
This is the solution. I run the older cross brace.
thanks for clearing that up rick!! im on the hunt for a old cross brace!
TEAM BURN is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 01:46 PM
  #131  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default New setup posted

Keven Hebert - IIC - 12R5.2 Modified
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 04:16 PM
  #132  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (12)
 
asirolli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Shelby Township - MI
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
I run the hobbywing 1s lipo esc with an x20 4.5 and digital jr servo and love the esc motor combo! Very smooth and has been really reliable for me.
Thank you!
asirolli is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 11:58 PM
  #133  
Tech Addict
 
prawntoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 617
Default

We did a pet project for some customers and have extra chassis protector for the 5.1/5.2FT.
See if anyone is interested.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/321008293791...84.m1555.l2649
prawntoe is offline  
Old 10-23-2012, 04:32 AM
  #134  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (51)
 
Logi Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by prawntoe View Post
We did a pet project for some customers and have extra chassis protector for the 5.1/5.2FT.
See if anyone is interested.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/321008293791...84.m1555.l2649
Just saw that on Ebay, looks quite interesting...
Logi Maker is offline  
Old 10-23-2012, 07:56 AM
  #135  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,849
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

does anyone have the 5.2 top brace? the one on top of the motor mount? thats alll i need to run dampers!!!
racer x 1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.