R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2017, 04:14 PM   #721
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
I started playing with RC3 the other day so I can compare geometries between my TC3 and TC5 to figure out why they behave so differently. Problem is, the chassis models on the website for those cars don't include the steering geometry, and some of the basic parameters on the TC3 are so far out (eg wheelbase is wrong by more than 5mm for kit setting) that I can't really trust any of the numbers. Not a dealbreaker, I'll just have to measure the whole car from scratch. I kind of needed to measure some of that already as I have a partial TC4 front end (shock tower and inner camber link braces).

The bigger problem though is that the TC5 uses a single bellcrank system. There's no facility to specify that in RC3. Are there any plans to implement this?

While I was trying to experiment with the bellcrank numbers to see if I could fudge something close to a singe bellcrank, I entered a 0 in one of the fields. The software didn't like that and I got stuck in an infinite loop of error messages notifying me that calculations were overflowing. I had to kill the process with task manager, losing all my unsaved changes. The UI should probably catch these errors and revert the number back to the previous valid value to avoid infinite loops such as this.
Trying to make that tc3 catch the A800X will require more than a chassis change, but I do command your effort... I did make a big stride in my tc4 handling(more corner rotation) when I switched to gold swaybars front& rear and Sweep STC6 ultralightweight body: I was starting to catch the newer chassis even with an underpowered motor...
Ps: I don't know what dimensions of the tc4 stock tub plastic chassis you need but I got my calipers out and I got the distance for the arm mount holes at 51mm apart from one another(middle of both holes), and 36mm between the front arm mount and rear arm mount(middle of the holes)....Now the distance between the FR mount and RF mount is 229mm (middle to middle)...Good luck, you'll shed about 60g to 80g with the new chassis....

Last edited by bertrandsv87; 11-11-2017 at 04:39 PM.
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 04:49 PM   #722
Tech Master
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
Trying to make that tc3 catch the A800X will require more than a chassis change, but I do command your effort... I did make a big stride in my tc4 handling(more corner rotation) when I switched to gold swaybars front& rear and Sweep STC6 ultralightweight body: I was starting to catch the newer chassis even with an underpowered motor...
Ps: I don't know what dimensions of the tc4 stock tub plastic chassis you need but I got my calipers out and I got the distance for the arm mount holes at 51mm apart from one another(middle of both holes), and 36mm between the front arm mount and rear arm mount(middle of the holes)....Now the distance between the FR mount and RF mount is 229mm (middle to middle)...Good luck, you'll shed about 60g to 80g with the new chassis....
Thanks for those measurements, though that probably should have gone in the other thread. I'll be experimenting with the custom chassis on my spare TC3 in a different class, I won't be converting the one I race at this stage unless the results are worth it.
gigaplex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 04:51 PM   #723
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am limited in the tc4 thread to track results only... Good luck...
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2017, 10:09 AM   #724
Tech Apprentice
 
kilohertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Slightly left of Vernon, BC
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Looking for models

Hi guys,

Gave myself a Christmas present and am just getting to know R3 and am looking for some data files for older models that my son and I race. If anyone has any of these measured, scanned or ??? could you please PM me so we can exchange emails?

1. Xray T2 maybe the T3 2012 is close enough?
2. AE RC10 B4.2
3. AE T4.2

Thanks!
__________________
I used to keep an open mind.....................but my brain kept falling out.
kilohertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 06:45 AM   #725
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Valley Cottage NY
Posts: 1,876
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know if this software is still supported? Also if they have the 2018 Xray t4 as a template?
Speedychris22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:33 AM   #726
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedychris22 View Post
Anyone know if this software is still supported? Also if they have the 2018 Xray t4 as a template?
It is still supported, or was when I last sent him an email in Decmeber. The available templates are listed on the site. If not there, it's likely not available.
blueflagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:33 AM   #727
Tech Regular
 
antlockyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Coast of England
Posts: 288
Default

If it's not available you can make it yourself.
antlockyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:46 AM   #728
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Valley Cottage NY
Posts: 1,876
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antlockyer View Post
If it's not available you can make it yourself.
I'm assuming the info is there to do it?
Speedychris22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:49 AM   #729
Tech Regular
 
antlockyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Coast of England
Posts: 288
Default

Yes and some really helpful youtube videos. It is not the easiest thing in the world to do, lots of measurements and I'm not the worlds best at it, but I got there in the end and got lots of support along the way.

The app is awesome and his science of setup videos on youtube are great too. I'm a big fan.
Speedychris22 likes this.
antlockyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 04:37 AM   #730
Tech Regular
 
antlockyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Coast of England
Posts: 288
Default

I've got a question about adding a new chassis now. When you are measuring the front suspension. What do you do with a car that has arm sweep? There is a 0.2mm difference front to rear.

<<EDIT>>

Sorry stupid moment, have answered my own question.

Last edited by antlockyer; 01-24-2018 at 04:49 AM.
antlockyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 01:06 AM   #731
Tech Regular
 
antlockyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Coast of England
Posts: 288
Default

Got an odd error and can't work it out.




Data is entered as follows.
Front suspension arm Y1 = 6.2mm
Laxle = 14.325mm
Shock mount L1 = 32.5mm
Upper mount point Y1 = 42.5mm
Shock length = 47.8mm

I've checked those numbers with other model to see if they are within the correct range and a quick glance at the maths would suggest that there is 35mm or so between top and bottom mount.
antlockyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 05:05 AM   #732
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antlockyer View Post
Got an odd error and can't work it out.




Data is entered as follows.
Front suspension arm Y1 = 6.2mm
Laxle = 14.325mm
Shock mount L1 = 32.5mm
Upper mount point Y1 = 42.5mm
Shock length = 47.8mm

I've checked those numbers with other model to see if they are within the correct range and a quick glance at the maths would suggest that there is 35mm or so between top and bottom mount.
Can u post a picture of the suspension?
blueflagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 08:57 AM   #733
Tech Regular
 
antlockyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Coast of England
Posts: 288
Default



antlockyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 09:47 AM   #734
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antlockyer View Post


Oops. I meant an end-on picture of the car showing the suspension
blueflagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 12:50 PM   #735
Tech Regular
 
antlockyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Coast of England
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueflagger View Post
Oops. I meant an end-on picture of the car showing the suspension
I thought you might have I'll put it back together tomorrow and take one. It basically looks like the screen shot.
antlockyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carpet On-Road in NYC-New Rochelle, NY Donny Lia Northeast Racing Forum 3435 02-07-2018 03:37 PM
Roll Centre. Hinge pin Vs upper arm adjustments YZFAndy Electric On-Road 18 01-25-2012 01:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net