R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2006, 11:23 AM   #1096
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

the other day i was using my CM and it was fine.. tonight, when i was about to charge one of my batteries, i noticed that the battery voltage reading on the CM was well below 1.0v (aroun 0.248v)... i thought there was something wrong with the batt so i tried another battery... same result... tried it with all 4 packs that i have and still the same result. whenever i try to charge a "Batt low voltage" warning pops up, and if i try to continue it stops after 5mah and a low voltage warning appears. checked each of my packs with a voltmeter and they all registered above 7.0V each. power supply reads a steady 13.700v on the CM and around 13.8v on my voltmeter.

i'm stumped and don't know what to do. was supposed to do some practice runs at the track tomorrow but it looks like i won't be doing any if my charger will be acting the same tomorrow.
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 12:03 PM   #1097
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

You might want to check the solder joints on the aligator clips on the charge leads. Someone had a similar problem a quite a few pages back, and I also remember the Nexus mentioning doing a Full Reset of the system as a possible solution to your problem.
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 08:12 PM   #1098
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

tried the full reset option already. the solder on the aligator clips look fine and solis (nothing loose). will try again though...
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 08:48 AM   #1099
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 224
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default My CM need a hair dryer to jump start

I've had my CM for more than a year now. 2 weeks ago when I turned it on to charge my pack it only gave me 'square blocks' on the display. Turned it off then back on and still square blocks on the display. I thought maybe it needs warming up because its winter time so I try the hair dryer to warm it up and it did work.

Now I need to blow dry it for 1-2 mins to be able to use it.
Is there something wrong with my CM or is it just because its winter time?

Anyone please? NexusRacing? Muchmore?

Thanks.
Edgarski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 03:49 PM   #1100
Tech Addict
 
Drew_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDooPH
the other day i was using my CM and it was fine.. tonight, when i was about to charge one of my batteries, i noticed that the battery voltage reading on the CM was well below 1.0v (aroun 0.248v)... i thought there was something wrong with the batt so i tried another battery... same result... tried it with all 4 packs that i have and still the same result. whenever i try to charge a "Batt low voltage" warning pops up, and if i try to continue it stops after 5mah and a low voltage warning appears. checked each of my packs with a voltmeter and they all registered above 7.0V each. power supply reads a steady 13.700v on the CM and around 13.8v on my voltmeter.

i'm stumped and don't know what to do. was supposed to do some practice runs at the track tomorrow but it looks like i won't be doing any if my charger will be acting the same tomorrow.
MAKE SURE THAT YOU HAVE THE CORRECT NUMBER OF CELLS IN THE CHARGE SETUP PROFILE ! LOOK ON PAGE E5 (J5 FOR JAPAN) OF YOUR MANUAL. THIS WILL GUARANTEE THE CM'S RIGHT OPERATION.
Hope this helps....
__________________
Items for sale:

TURBO GFX>>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329165#post4329165
Tekin Battery Nurse >>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329173#post4329173

Thanks for looking
Drew_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 03:55 PM   #1101
Tech Addict
 
Drew_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgarski
I've had my CM for more than a year now. 2 weeks ago when I turned it on to charge my pack it only gave me 'square blocks' on the display. Turned it off then back on and still square blocks on the display. I thought maybe it needs warming up because its winter time so I try the hair dryer to warm it up and it did work.

Now I need to blow dry it for 1-2 mins to be able to use it.
Is there something wrong with my CM or is it just because its winter time?

Anyone please? NexusRacing? Muchmore?

Thanks.
You have a loose solder joint on the board..possibly at the power relay circuit. Heat = expand / Cool contract.
send it in to get repaired. Also note: LCD don't like extreme cold weather.
__________________
Items for sale:

TURBO GFX>>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329165#post4329165
Tekin Battery Nurse >>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329173#post4329173

Thanks for looking
Drew_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 04:00 PM   #1102
Tech Addict
 
Drew_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safer SX
When charging a 4300 pack on the cell master at 6 amps do I set it at 3mv or 18mv which one either way
03 means 3mV (0.003V)
on the CM 03 is for the entire pack being charged.
I would use 03.
__________________
Items for sale:

TURBO GFX>>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329165#post4329165
Tekin Battery Nurse >>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329173#post4329173

Thanks for looking
Drew_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 09:34 PM   #1103
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew_Cat
MAKE SURE THAT YOU HAVE THE CORRECT NUMBER OF CELLS IN THE CHARGE SETUP PROFILE ! LOOK ON PAGE E5 (J5 FOR JAPAN) OF YOUR MANUAL. THIS WILL GUARANTEE THE CM'S RIGHT OPERATION.
Hope this helps....

yup... the setting was all correct... 6-cells. anyway, having it repaired. hope it comes back soon.
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 05:09 PM   #1104
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,044
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I am in Seoul Korea for the next several days. What are the hobbyshops that carry proudct in Seoul.

Just wanted to check out the R/C scene while I am here.
__________________
TEAMORCA.SHOP
MDawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 05:15 PM   #1105
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You should get me lots of much more stuff How's it goin Mark?

-Korey
__________________
Xray - RC America - Hudy - Apex RC - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - RC Mission America - SpeedZombi - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 06:10 PM   #1106
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 224
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'll check the joints then. Thanks mate.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew_Cat
You have a loose solder joint on the board..possibly at the power relay circuit. Heat = expand / Cool contract.
send it in to get repaired. Also note: LCD don't like extreme cold weather.
Edgarski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 11:10 AM   #1107
Tech Adept
 
Flam3b0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I just bought a motor master v3.0 and cell master v1.0. Both of them suppose to have white lcd but my unit do not look the same. The cell master backlight is slightly bluish when compared to the motor master. Are they both suppose to be the same?
Flam3b0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 01:23 PM   #1108
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 936
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Is your Motor Master the Orion version? If so, then it will be white.
Tony Vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 06:02 PM   #1109
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flam3b0y
I just bought a motor master v3.0 and cell master v1.0. Both of them suppose to have white lcd but my unit do not look the same. The cell master backlight is slightly bluish when compared to the motor master. Are they both suppose to be the same?
It's not really about Orion vs. Muchmore on the LCD. I think that is more about the time it was produced at Muchmore. The Cell Masters that we received late last year had more white backlights than the previous batches. Your Motor Master is probably just newer than your Cell Master from a production standpoint. You can be confident that there is nothing wrong with either of them.
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 09:30 AM   #1110
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
Hey guys, is there any information on MM's dedicated LiPo charger we heard about? How about an update to the CellMaster that can do LiPo at more than 1A? Orion is poised to release a new LiPo pack that could get much greater acceptance from the touring car crowd, and it would be nice to stick with MM's quality products when making the switch to LiPo.

just echoing syndr0me's questions, is there any update planned for the cell master now that the new Orion 3200 LiPo is out?
It would be nice to be able to charge the Orion LiPo's with my Cell Master?
Anyone?!!!
crangon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/FT: TEAM MUCH MORE Motor Master & Cell Master litespeed-dom R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 06-15-2006 08:44 PM
Team Orion Advantage w/ LiPo or Team Much More Cell master? RH Customs Electric On-Road 6 04-06-2006 06:05 PM
Team Much More Cell Master FRP R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-25-2006 03:04 PM
Team Much More Racing CTX Cell Master and CTX Motor Master letitroll R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-18-2005 11:25 AM
Team Orion Advantage or Team Much More Cell Master charger alana07 Electric On-Road 1 12-18-2004 05:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:05 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net