Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Reply

Old 12-10-2012, 10:37 PM
  #8296  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,744
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by beyondthepack View Post
Hey guys, any idea on how to hook up your belcrank to a floating servo mount?
What???
Do you mean connect the steering bell crank to the servo that is mounted using a floating mount?
Remove the screw that holds the Ackerman adjuster and replace it with a pillow ball. You can find some details a few pages back with pictures. It's easy.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:03 AM
  #8297  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have finally had time to install a WC chassis and install the xray T4 floating servo mount.

Really easy to do, it feels very solid and wont budge with the extra key hole on the mount to the chassis,

With the WC chassis the servo has lots of overhang




cant wait to give it a try

Extra info, i used a 10mm long ball in the bell crank, and put a nut on the other end to give it that little extra security

Beth
evochick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:40 AM
  #8298  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Monsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi beth,
Looks like we're running very similar setups.
Is there any tips you can give regarding xerun v3 setup with the sonic? I'll be running 17.5 boosted

Thanks!
Monsta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:39 AM
  #8299  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Monsta View Post
Hi beth,
Looks like we're running very similar setups.
Is there any tips you can give regarding xerun v3 setup with the sonic? I'll be running 17.5 boosted

Thanks!
Sorry im no help there. I have only ever ran 21.5 blinky and 5t mod.

Beth
evochick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 05:25 AM
  #8300  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

evochick - does that servo mod require any drilling to the chassis?
Johnnytc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 06:06 AM
  #8301  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
beyondthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 842
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
What???
Do you mean connect the steering bell crank to the servo that is mounted using a floating mount?
Remove the screw that holds the Ackerman adjuster and replace it with a pillow ball. You can find some details a few pages back with pictures. It's easy.
Thanks . Read a ways back, couldnt find the pictures, but description is good enough. Almost done. Waiting for Zeppin hubs, the ill post some pics.
beyondthepack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:19 AM
  #8302  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by evochick View Post
I have finally had time to install a WC chassis and install the xray T4 floating servo mount.

Really easy to do, it feels very solid and wont budge with the extra key hole on the mount to the chassis,

With the WC chassis the servo has lots of overhang




cant wait to give it a try

Extra info, i used a 10mm long ball in the bell crank, and put a nut on the other end to give it that little extra security

Beth
Looks nice, how much did this conversion cost you?
jha07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:07 PM
  #8303  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Johnnytc3 View Post
evochick - does that servo mod require any drilling to the chassis?
Yes, it requires 3 holes drilled, you use the carbon servo holder as the template, im hopeless when trying to measure and drill things accurately, this way you cant stuff it up.

Originally Posted by jha07 View Post
Looks nice, how much did this conversion cost you?
Stupidly expensive, Xray parts are not cheap, but i liked this mount. Parts used are ( a-main prices)

XRA306201 XRAY Long Aluminum Servo Mount $6.99
XRA306230 XRAY 2.5mm Graphite Servo Holder $20.49
XRA306202 XRAY Central Aluminum Servo Mount $23.99
3RAC-TR328 3 Racing 28mm titanium turnbuckle $10
ASC 31285 Associated 10mm long ball stud $9.25 (i already had these)

Beth.
evochick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 03:51 PM
  #8304  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

beth the photon one would probably do the same job & would have been a lot cheaper than the xray part
Professor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:29 PM
  #8305  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Washington State
Posts: 131
Default

I've heard the Yokomo BD-7 one works too, but it might be just as expensive as the Xray one
Vostok 7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 05:05 PM
  #8306  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I used this one

http://www.rc-mushroom.com/product_i...a-post-p-25486

its even blue!!

ed
Edwin Pibal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:18 AM
  #8307  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 432
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Edwin Pibal View Post
Can you put a pic up with it installed on your car? Thanks.
jha07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:46 PM
  #8308  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 883
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I have seen many guys did the centre servo mount thing (or floating servo mount).
From what I have seen, as long as the aluminium mount in the chassis centre is not more than 5mm thick, you are ok.
Anything more than 5mm, the front belt will def rub it.
hobbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:34 PM
  #8309  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,744
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

So... Would it be accurate to say there is a market for a direct fit, floating servo mount for the TC6?
Perhaps I will work something up that folks would be interested in. I like the 3 piece design like the Xray.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:06 PM
  #8310  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Washington State
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
So... Would it be accurate to say there is a market for a direct fit, floating servo mount for the TC6?
Perhaps I will work something up that folks would be interested in. I like the 3 piece design like the Xray.
I don't think there's a way that it could be done without drilling.

I'd be interested in someone proving me wrong though
Vostok 7 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service