Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Old 06-06-2012, 08:24 AM
  #6886  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,108
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vito
help i cant fine the 3 by 8 bhc bolts that hold the rear boby mount to the tower. are they in a bag. later in the kit. do i need to call ae ? i looked for a few hours
When I built my kit the parts weren't always in the bag that they logically should have been in given the build sequence. They are likely in one of the other bags. None of my parts were missing once I checked all the bags. If not give Associated a call, I hear they are pretty responsive to this stuff. Otherwise run down to the local Sears and pick some up along with a few spares. It will cost less than a buck and you are bound to need an extra eventually. Plus you don't have to wait to finish your car.
Chaz955i is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:27 AM
  #6887  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (34)
 
rbcts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

make sure you check in all the bags. some of the steps have parts/screws in different bags so you need to open them all to find what you need.
rbcts is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:43 AM
  #6888  
Tech Master
iTrader: (59)
 
OnRDPassion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,277
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone else have issues with busting the front cva bone blade a good amount when using a slipper spool in the car? Do I just have it too tight?
OnRDPassion is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:55 AM
  #6889  
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,936
Default

Originally Posted by Chaz955i
When I built my kit the parts weren't always in the bag that they logically should have been in given the build sequence. They are likely in one of the other bags. None of my parts were missing once I checked all the bags. If not give Associated a call, I hear they are pretty responsive to this stuff. Otherwise run down to the local Sears and pick some up along with a few spares. It will cost less than a buck and you are bound to need an extra eventually. Plus you don't have to wait to finish your car.
thanks i just pick up some at a main
vito is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 09:08 AM
  #6890  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by OnRDPassion
Does anyone else have issues with busting the front cva bone blade a good amount when using a slipper spool in the car? Do I just have it too tight?
These should not break easily with the slipper spool. But they will break if you hit stuff.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:30 AM
  #6891  
Tech Master
iTrader: (59)
 
OnRDPassion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,277
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

These should not break easily with the slipper spool. But they will break if you hit stuff.
Thats interestng. I have broken them when I havent hit anything at all. I have made sure they are seated on correctly and everything. I assuming no relation to running a 4.5 since I am sure you are running that Rick. When I run the car with a 17.5 no issues at all. I guess I will just need to make sure I have some extras.

Last edited by OnRDPassion; 06-06-2012 at 11:41 AM.
OnRDPassion is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:03 PM
  #6892  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,893
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OnRDPassion
Thats interestng. I have broken them when I havent hit anything at all. I have made sure they are seated on correctly and everything. I assuming no relation to running a 4.5 since I am sure you are running that Rick. When I run the car with a 17.5 no issues at all. I guess I will just need to make sure I have some extras.
Check your arm spacing at the bulk heads. If your cars too narrow, it wil pinch the CVD blade against the inside of the outdrive when the suspension compresses. 2MM is normal with the TC6. The TC6.1 comes with 2MM offset mounts. I usually run a .5 bulkhead shim with the off set mounts.
Big Features is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:35 PM
  #6893  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,108
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Big Features
Check your arm spacing at the bulk heads. If your cars too narrow, it wil pinch the CVD blade against the inside of the outdrive when the suspension compresses. 2MM is normal with the TC6. The TC6.1 comes with 2MM offset mounts. I usually run a .5 bulkhead shim with the off set mounts.
Hi Mike, out of curiosity are you using the .5 shim due to the binding issue or just because that width works for you? I'm running a tc6 with the +2 offset mounts with no shim and haven't noticed any problems. Maybe I'm missing something.

Thanks
Chaz955i is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:58 PM
  #6894  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know who makes a 88T 64 pitch spur gear that will fit this car ?
Briguy is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:06 PM
  #6895  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (48)
 
1mrdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: S.E. Valley Phoenix
Posts: 449
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Briguy
Anyone know who makes a 88T 64 pitch spur gear that will fit this car ?
I've used this one in my TC6 at LH

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Spur-Gear-88T

This one will fit also

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Spur-Gear-88T
1mrdad is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:24 PM
  #6896  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,893
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chaz955i
Hi Mike, out of curiosity are you using the .5 shim due to the binding issue or just because that width works for you? I'm running a tc6 with the +2 offset mounts with no shim and haven't noticed any problems. Maybe I'm missing something.

Thanks
No, I like the car a bit wider. Helps with the edgyness. The car has so much steering and this smooths it out, unlike moving the front arms forward. If seen guys running the original arm mounts with too little shimming, causing the blades to wear and the suspension to bind.
Big Features is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 08:57 PM
  #6897  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 51
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Just got my tc6.1 kit...
I currently have a sc and buggy but This will be my first onroad car. Should i do any immediate upgrades during the build? I'll be starting off with a revtech 9t motor since that is what i have laying around.

Also, what type of pit items should i have other then tools? I have seen people put tire sauce on their tires in between runs.

From what i have read already i plan on ordering the following
Reflex bladders
Reflex springs

Money is not an issue....but i do not want bling ugrades

Things i have:
Sr300 receiver
Tekin rs pro
Revtech 9t motor
Lightweight body

Btw, my local onroad track is norcal

Last edited by riggidy; 06-06-2012 at 09:17 PM.
riggidy is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:15 PM
  #6898  
Regional Moderator
 
nitrous36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,346
Default

Originally Posted by Chaz955i
When I built my kit the parts weren't always in the bag that they logically should have been in given the build sequence. They are likely in one of the other bags. None of my parts were missing once I checked all the bags. If not give Associated a call, I hear they are pretty responsive to this stuff. Otherwise run down to the local Sears and pick some up along with a few spares. It will cost less than a buck and you are bound to need an extra eventually. Plus you don't have to wait to finish your car.
+1

Had this issue as well but everything was there.
nitrous36 is offline  
Old 06-07-2012, 02:08 AM
  #6899  
Tech Adept
 
S_fender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dijon, France
Posts: 172
Default

Hello,

Rick, Keven or Juho,

Any setup advice for a huge european tracks ? :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJH5Fh4ArBE

(I've the vertical Ballstud).

Maybe Juho could share his last ETS setup ?

Sébastien.
S_fender is offline  
Old 06-07-2012, 04:43 AM
  #6900  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,108
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by riggidy
Just got my tc6.1 kit...
I currently have a sc and buggy but This will be my first onroad car. Should i do any immediate upgrades during the build? I'll be starting off with a revtech 9t motor since that is what i have laying around.

Also, what type of pit items should i have other then tools? I have seen people put tire sauce on their tires in between runs.

From what i have read already i plan on ordering the following
Reflex bladders
Reflex springs

Money is not an issue....but i do not want bling ugrades

Things i have:
Sr300 receiver
Tekin rs pro
Revtech 9t motor
Lightweight body

Btw, my local onroad track is norcal
Reflex makes some really nice stuff. I'd also pick up a set of their shock pistons, fan mount, fan, heavy duty arm mount screws. These are all fairly inexpensive and make working on the car a bit nicer. They also have a chassis conversion which looks good but I haven't tried it yet myself. Tire sauce can be track dependant so see what they are running before buying anything.
Chaz955i is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.