Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Reply

Old 03-02-2012, 11:50 AM
  #6016  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 410
Default

i went with both the set screw and glue in the hole, the suspension feels way better now! cant wait to try out the car again, i really liked it!

regaqrding spares i havent found any store that has any 6.1 parts in stock, is everyone upgrading their old car or has associated turned really bad with producing enough spares?
Bappe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:52 AM
  #6017  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Try making a shim/washer out of scrap body lexan.
red7fifty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:47 PM
  #6018  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,890
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Believe AE is working out the injection molding kinks with TT. They will not release spares that are just as faulty.

Mike
Big Features is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:50 PM
  #6019  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 410
Default

sounds good!

will old tc6 c hub and steering hub fit on the 6.1? still want some spares in my box if i crash, rarely break stuff, but still good to have some spares in the box!
Bappe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:52 PM
  #6020  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,890
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bappe View Post
sounds good!

will old tc6 c hub and steering hub fit on the 6.1? still want some spares in my box if i crash, rarely break stuff, but still good to have some spares in the box!
Yes, the "C" hubs will fit. If you use the old steering knuckles, you'll need to use the old bearings, crush tubes, and axles.

Mike
Big Features is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:53 PM
  #6021  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,144
Default

Originally Posted by masterhit View Post
I used Hotbodies thin PN 72044. It gives you a few more options for shimming at the hex that way. IIRC a 1mm shim puts you at stock hex width.

It is close at the C-hub but I did not have to grind once shimmed under the hex pin.

I spent last practice abusing them with a boosted 5.5 on carpet and no issues.

Mike Slaughter
Thanks for the info!
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:53 PM
  #6022  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 410
Default

thanks for the fast reply!

"old" c hubs ordered
Bappe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:03 AM
  #6023  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Posts: 2
Default

I used to drive the Xray T32011. now going to TC6.1. so I have allot of Spare parts of the T32011
Will the Zeppin Racing spur gears (for xray )work on the TC6.1?
hycinth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 01:25 PM
  #6024  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I went to setup my 6.1 today for the first time and I am having trouble getting 5mm ride height in the front. With the reflex racing springs I can only get 5.8mm. I switched back to the ASC springs and can get 4.7 (which gives me very little room for adjusting for tweak). Is this normal?

Things I have checked so far:
- Backed the droop screws all the way out
- Shock upper collar all the way up
- Length of the shock is as short as I can make it
- Spring collar all the way down

Running the stock kit settings.
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 01:46 PM
  #6025  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
I went to setup my 6.1 today for the first time and I am having trouble getting 5mm ride height in the front. With the reflex racing springs I can only get 5.8mm. I switched back to the ASC springs and can get 4.7 (which gives me very little room for adjusting for tweak). Is this normal?

Things I have checked so far:
- Backed the droop screws all the way out
- Shock upper collar all the way up
- Length of the shock is as short as I can make it
- Spring collar all the way down

Running the stock kit settings.
What tires? The shocks are long for sure, but even with Tamiya shocks which are 1-2mm longer in the cap, I can still get down to 5mm on kit springs with Sweep qts32. With VTA tires I could see an issue. I haven't mounted the RSD springs yet.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 01:51 PM
  #6026  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
What tires? The shocks are long for sure, but even with Tamiya shocks which are 1-2mm longer in the cap, I can still get down to 5mm on kit springs with Sweep qts32. With VTA tires I could see an issue. I haven't mounted the RSD springs yet.

-Mike
Solaris tires. Talked to a buddy and he said he can get to zero right height so I must have something not right. Hmmmmm
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:20 PM
  #6027  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,186
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Make sure you have the correct spring retainers.
Joe Maxey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:20 PM
  #6028  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: nor-cal
Posts: 29
Default

Hello, when building my 6.1 last week I noticed 2 issues, and was curious too see if anyone else has seen this. 1. The shock collars have not resistance at all. Yes I put the o-ring in. 2. The front belt does not mesh well with the spool or diff in front. Doesn't matter how tight or loose I set the belt. You can spin the tires on a stand slowly and watch the belt skip on the spool. Thanks
discodom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:39 PM
  #6029  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Joe Maxey View Post
Make sure you have the correct spring retainers.
Does the kit come with more than one type?
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:45 PM
  #6030  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Does the kit come with more than one type?
It comes with one type.

Just add 2mm washer on shock shaft.

Just bettwen spring retainer and ballcup.

M.Abramowicz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service