Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Old 05-31-2011, 08:25 PM
  #2761  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Verndog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Brian McGreevy
Just got mine today, they look great! Can't wait to give it a go.
Originally Posted by mkennedy
got mine today too...they really look great and installed like butter!!! great job kevin!!!!!
Now... go try to knock them loose guys...I dare you.

You wont...you should have seen my more poor car after I thrashed it testing...pulled a Speedmind thru the hex, then finally broke a servo saver...about the only spare I didn't have...but I do now. I have video of much of this, one day I'll post on my site. The TC6 CAN take an intentional beating, I'll say that. Now time to race a few weekends .
Verndog is offline  
Old 05-31-2011, 08:29 PM
  #2762  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gilroy, Ca.
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dmatter
Anybody have any spur gear suggestions? I dont like it when my my gears dont line up. Makes them wear funny or not so funny.
You will just have to look for an offset spur gear or grind the flat on the motor shaft a little further in so you can slip the pinion on a little more.

xray makes offset spurs but they are a bit expensive.
YoDog is offline  
Old 05-31-2011, 08:41 PM
  #2763  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (77)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog
You will just have to look for an offset spur gear or grind the flat on the motor shaft a little further in so you can slip the pinion on a little more.

xray makes offset spurs but they are a bit expensive.
I use Precision and Xray spurs and they line up fine.
goin2drt is offline  
Old 05-31-2011, 09:04 PM
  #2764  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 409
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Verndog
Now... go try to knock them loose guys...I dare you.

You wont...you should have seen my more poor car after I thrashed it testing...pulled a Speedmind thru the hex, then finally broke a servo saver...about the only spare I didn't have...but I do now. I have video of much of this, one day I'll post on my site. The TC6 CAN take an intentional beating, I'll say that. Now time to race a few weekends .
dont suppose you will be selling thing to us lot over in New Zealand anytime soon will you ?

Ed
Edwin Pibal is offline  
Old 05-31-2011, 09:08 PM
  #2765  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know the bearing sizes on the TC6? I'm about the place an order with Avid RC to replace all my existing bearings and I just want to confirm. TIA
zake540 is offline  
Old 05-31-2011, 09:09 PM
  #2766  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Verndog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Edwin Pibal
dont suppose you will be selling thing to us lot over in New Zealand anytime soon will you ?

Ed
Actually we shipped quite a bit there in the past. Pretty sure it's comparable to UK for shipping. Check the site tomorrow and New Zealand should be added.
Verndog is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 04:46 AM
  #2767  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
dmatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Galloway, Ohio
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goin2drt
I use Precision and Xray spurs and they line up fine.
Interesting...My PRS gears are off. Pinion either off the flat or rubbing the belt. Looks like I will be grinding motor shafts
dmatter is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 07:08 AM
  #2768  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,754
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dmatter
Interesting...My PRS gears are off. Pinion either off the flat or rubbing the belt. Looks like I will be grinding motor shafts
if you are running a d3 you do have to grind the rotor shaft i used a diamond cutter for the dremel and it worked awesome just be careful it will take a lot of material off fast.
Warren Weaver is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 08:27 AM
  #2769  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (141)
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

I'm loving this car, best car I have had to date, and I also have a t3 2011. Next time out will try a yokomo gear diff.

one question, I usually use a speed 6 body, but used an ltc-r and found to be understeering. How is this possible, I thought the ltc-r were suppose to be more aggressive than the speed6. Bit confused.
hacker is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 08:35 AM
  #2770  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,827
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker
I'm loving this car, best car I have had to date, and I also have a t3 2011. Next time out will try a yokomo gear diff.

one question, I usually use a speed 6 body, but used an ltc-r and found to be understeering. How is this possible, I thought the ltc-r were suppose to be more aggressive than the speed6. Bit confused.
The LTC is more aggressive on entry, but does not roll in the middle of the corner like the Mazda because it is much lower. It also depends where you mounted the body. I normally ran my 6's as far forward as I could for more steering, you may want to that, especially if you are pushing in high speed corners. You could also try a regular weight body instead of a light weight for more steering.
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 09:05 AM
  #2771  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 365
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zake540
Does anyone know the bearing sizes on the TC6? I'm about the place an order with Avid RC to replace all my existing bearings and I just want to confirm. TIA
i just got an order from them a few days ago.

The axle bearings are 6x10x3, and the bearings for the diff outdrives are 10x15x4
Jonesy112 is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 11:25 AM
  #2772  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: england
Posts: 304
Default

hi , another daft question, has anyone gone from the t3 2011 and got on with the tc6 better?

the reason im asking the t3 2011 is such a twitchy car to drive is the tc6 more smoother on the steering ?

thanks ....
mwoods is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:02 PM
  #2773  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
bshookup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mwoods
hi , another daft question, has anyone gone from the t3 2011 and got on with the tc6 better?

the reason im asking the t3 2011 is such a twitchy car to drive is the tc6 more smoother on the steering ?

thanks ....
The T3 2011 is a great car, and I bet you could make it work for you and be fast with it. I had a T3 2010 that I ran back to back several times with my TC6 on carpet and asphalt, and with the setups I had, the TC6 was less twitchy. I wouldn't be able to say that the TC6 was any faster for me, but it was super smooth and easy to drive and it is the one on my pit table right now.
bshookup is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:22 PM
  #2774  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: england
Posts: 304
Default

Originally Posted by bshookup
The T3 2011 is a great car, and I bet you could make it work for you and be fast with it. I had a T3 2010 that I ran back to back several times with my TC6 on carpet and asphalt, and with the setups I had, the TC6 was less twitchy. I wouldn't be able to say that the TC6 was any faster for me, but it was super smooth and easy to drive and it is the one on my pit table right now.
im already fast with it just want something that is more easyer to drive and smooth also want a change after being with xray for the last two years...
mwoods is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:36 PM
  #2775  
Tech Master
iTrader: (70)
 
burgboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da 'Burg
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default Dial-A-Grip

Kevin,
I received my first generation set yesterday and installed easily!
Even without driving the car yet, the pins are locked down noticeably tighter with no/0/zip/nada/zilch/ slop.

I will be at our track next Tuesday and report back in. Although I am sure we all know what the results will be.

Sweet solution for a nagging problem!
burgboyz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.