Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Schumacher Corner

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2005, 03:11 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

i would make sure you have the belt guides placed on the rear diff pulley correctly.make sure there is no interference between the 2 belts or the guides and the belts.they should guide themselves without relying on the guides or other belt for allignment.
Old 09-13-2005, 03:20 PM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)

Im new to the car, but anyways are you using the 17 or 20 tooth pulley? make sure that you have the correct offset for the lay shaft if not you could have a very tight belt.( I think)
Old 09-13-2005, 03:22 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

I ran my MI2 for almost 2 years without snapping a single belt. In fact I know the person who bought my car and they still have not broken a belt. Are they actually breaking apart, fraying, or just blowing the teeth off? I mean this car has one of the best drive tranes out there so this does sound wierd.
Old 09-13-2005, 03:32 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Marcos.J
Im new to the car, but anyways are you using the 17 or 20 tooth pulley? make sure that you have the correct offset for the lay shaft if not you could have a very tight belt.( I think)
Most guys run the 20 tooth. There's some debate on it. Some feel the 17 tooth gives more punch.
Old 09-13-2005, 03:33 PM
Tech Champion

I only ran the 20 and I never felt like I lacked anything power wise. I guess its preference
Old 09-13-2005, 03:34 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)

I asked Jason Moberly which pulley to run when I first got my car. His response was to always run the 20, the 17 seems to tear up rear belts much more quickly.
Old 09-13-2005, 03:36 PM
Tech Champion

That would make since being smaller diameter creating a tighter bend. I just think the bigger the pulley's for the most part, the better.
Old 09-13-2005, 04:05 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)