Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
The Speed Passion Thread >

The Speed Passion Thread

Like Tree52Likes

The Speed Passion Thread

Reply

Old 04-12-2011, 11:27 AM
  #6931  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,188
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mahamoti View Post
Is there a way to figure out rough topend RPM for a motor, taking timing into account?

For instance, using 17.5T = 2200kV (ballpark) with a 1S setup, max RPM on a full battery figures to be ~9.2k, or, with an ~83mm rollout, about 26mph, which seems on the low side. That makes sense, because this doesn't add 10* endbell + ESC boost/turbo timing advance... any way of figuring this in?

All I'm really trying to get is a topend RPM, so I can use that to figure boost slope.
You need a motor dyno machine...or I think NOVAK has that software that you can do while you are racing....also, under load or no load..? Big different in RPM.
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 02:50 PM
  #6932  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Hi Guys,

Hoping someone can really help me here.

I've been running 205 mod software on a smallish size tarmac track with pretty good success on a 4T V3 SP motor geared about 7.6. DRRS at level 7/8 and AMTS timing at 26.25

Its just lacking a little top speed so was hoping someone could point me in the right direction to which software to use to add a little boost timing or is this the same as AMTS (dont really understand)? What would I change to get this extra top speed and would I need to change the gearing much?

Thanks or the responses
rc_jammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 03:35 PM
  #6933  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rc_jammer View Post
Hi Guys,

Hoping someone can really help me here.

I've been running 205 mod software on a smallish size tarmac track with pretty good success on a 4T V3 SP motor geared about 7.6. DRRS at level 7/8 and AMTS timing at 26.25

Its just lacking a little top speed so was hoping someone could point me in the right direction to which software to use to add a little boost timing or is this the same as AMTS (dont really understand)? What would I change to get this extra top speed and would I need to change the gearing much?

Thanks or the responses
what are your temp after a run that will determine how much wiggle room you have i would say for more top end remove some timing and add some teeth to the pinion most important to watch temp tho
mr crum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 08:07 PM
  #6934  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,528
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rc_jammer View Post
Hi Guys,

Hoping someone can really help me here.

I've been running 205 mod software on a smallish size tarmac track with pretty good success on a 4T V3 SP motor geared about 7.6. DRRS at level 7/8 and AMTS timing at 26.25

Its just lacking a little top speed so was hoping someone could point me in the right direction to which software to use to add a little boost timing or is this the same as AMTS (dont really understand)? What would I change to get this extra top speed and would I need to change the gearing much?

Thanks or the responses
Pretty simple. Drop the timing to 18.75 or less and gear up.
skypilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 01:02 AM
  #6935  
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Originally Posted by Solara View Post
You need a motor dyno machine...or I think NOVAK has that software that you can do while you are racing....also, under load or no load..? Big different in RPM.
Sp engineer has it, the next new esc firmware is rpm log included.
irgo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:33 PM
  #6936  
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

hi guys.

just mounted my new SP GT2.0 and a 4.0. im going to run on a large outdoor track and what to use timing. but im am a little confused about what software to use, 422, 528, 212 ???

Steven
StevenOlsen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:44 PM
  #6937  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
g12314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 1,290
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by StevenOlsen View Post
hi guys.

just mounted my new SP GT2.0 and a 4.0. im going to run on a large outdoor track and what to use timing. but im am a little confused about what software to use, 422, 528, 212 ???

Steven
Setups to use as starting points are here: http://www.speedpassion.net/en/escsetup.asp
g12314 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:09 PM
  #6938  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,635
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quick question...

I have boosted stock software on my ESC. I want to run mod. Do i need to flash to a different firmware. OR is setting setting SC BOOST LEVEL to "OFF" enough to disable the supercharge items 12-15. If it does effectively shut off boost. Is there any advantage to running a MOD specific firmware for mod motors over using stock software with boost off?

Also does interface V1.35 contain new mod and stock software?

Thanks
Joel Lagace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:23 PM
  #6939  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,826
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Sp engineer has it, the next new esc firmware is rpm log included.
Excellent, you are the only person who cares.
robk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:47 PM
  #6940  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
charlie_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,866
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
Quick question...

I have boosted stock software on my ESC. I want to run mod. Do i need to flash to a different firmware. OR is setting setting SC BOOST LEVEL to "OFF" enough to disable the supercharge items 12-15. If it does effectively shut off boost. Is there any advantage to running a MOD specific firmware for mod motors over using stock software with boost off?

Also does interface V1.35 contain new mod and stock software?

Thanks
You need to re-flash it. Turning off boost alone isn't enough..there is still timing advance before WOT so to be fair, just use the 508 software.
charlie_b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 03:57 AM
  #6941  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,635
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks charlieB!!!

Last nite i had tried a 10.5 in my cough durango and was thermal-ling.. i had boost to OFF but it did not seem enough.. (we run a very tight carpet offroad track)
Joel Lagace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 05:20 AM
  #6942  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,635
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

just flashed 508, i'll test it next race see how it goes. I see that now there is only punch and no timing options at all. Im hoping this cures my problem from last nite..
Joel Lagace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 09:03 AM
  #6943  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey guys

I would like a good set up for an asphalt track with a huge 70m straight motor is a SP13.5v3 and the speedo is a GT2.0 with 528 stock softwere ;-)

Thanks in advance Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 07:57 PM
  #6944  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,528
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Sp engineer has it, the next new esc firmware is rpm log included.
you must mean the next one after this one


Charlie B. you going to make to Reedy this year?
skypilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:24 PM
  #6945  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
tonyv2382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 3,770
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys just picked up an LPF GT2.0 carbon esc for my new losi 22. I just didnt feel like spending 200+ on another brand and Ive heard great things about SP. Now can this version be upgraded in terms of software? And how many drive profiles does it have? Ive had the best luck with LRP in the past and Im hoping to have the same smoothness here. Plus the smaller footprint of this esc will be good because theres not much room under the shell on the car. very tight space.

Any other feedback is good to hear, Im new to the brand.
tonyv2382 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service