R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2010, 11:59 AM   #9661
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolmannz2 View Post
Hi Team Tekin firstly thanks again for this great esc you guys rock now about the only thing that I can see would be helpfull would being able to save our esc profiles so when we go to tracks we have already raced at we can just call them up
In the works. As long as we do not get a lot of powder days anytime soon it should not be long. Hotwire engineer is a serious snow junkie! Had to settle out the Vista 64 and new Windows 7 issues since that is where we are going whether we like it or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth_RT View Post
Build in a datalogger feature so we can actually SEE what the motor is doing on the track. :
In the plans to let you read some rpm data from the esc and see it in the hotwire.

Hopefully everyone caught that you should not set the boost higher than 30deg in any version except 203 even though unfortunately the Hotwire will allow you to do it.
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:08 PM   #9662
Tech Fanatic
 
blackdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario Canada
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hi
I just downloaded the new software and Im kinda lost. I'm am looking for a base setting .car is a TC5, reedy lipo (5000) 35c with 21.5 novak and Im running vta in St.Catherines Ontario (Niagara indoor ) .Im not sure of the track size but it is a a far size track that changes every weekend.

I have set all base setting to what I had previously
Im going to use the 203 version ???
End RPM I set to 4000 and start RPM to 13000 I have no clue if this would be ok or not
Turbo ramp is at 2

LMK
Thanks in advance
Matt
blackdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:09 PM   #9663
Tech Apprentice
 
C5Vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
In the works. As long as we do not get a lot of powder days anytime soon it should not be long. Hotwire engineer is a serious snow junkie! Had to settle out the Vista 64 and new Windows 7 issues since that is where we are going whether we like it or not.



In the plans to let you read some rpm data from the esc and see it in the hotwire.

Hopefully everyone caught that you should not set the boost higher than 30deg in any version except 203 even though unfortunately the Hotwire will allow you to do it.
Awesome!! We appreciate your products and development!!
C5Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:13 PM   #9664
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 242
Default

And for mods?, In Dual mode, the rpm band have the same function, or not actuate or this version improve in other form in Dual mode, too.

I tested, some moths back with 4.0 and 5.5 mod motors, in sensored mode, with very litle TMB and litle turbo or not, and negative timming in motors, etc... and are very excesive powerfull with v200, not more driveables, now with 203, do you think is possible to go with mods, too, tomorrow go to track for first testing, new car, new track, new software, a lot of new stuff, in the morning i go to maintenance the v200 config, but in evening i like to test with the new features in 203, any suggestion for mod?

Happy 2010, Luis C.
__________________
## NOSRAM ## YOKOMO BD5W ## BMI DB12RR+ ##
luic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:18 PM   #9665
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post

I havent tested mine yet but I'm speaking from my experience working with my Mamba Max Pro. Believe it or not, my 11.5T max timing end rpm is set at 55,000rpm in CHEAT mode and it rips like a b!#ch in heat!
Hi cyanyde, I see you have some experience with a 11.5T and a MM Pro. Have you by chance tried the 11.5 with the new Tekin v203?

If so are you able to give me a ballpark FDR to work with for a medium sized track (about 40 m x 20m)? Was running at 7.15 for v200. Now with v203 I'm not sure which way i shld go. Seems like there's a way out for either approach?
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:26 PM   #9666
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luic View Post
And for mods?, In Dual mode, the rpm band have the same function, or not actuate or this version improve in other form in Dual mode, too.

I tested, some moths back with 4.0 and 5.5 mod motors, in sensored mode, with very litle TMB and litle turbo or not, and negative timming in motors, etc... and are very excesive powerfull with v200, not more driveables, now with 203, do you think is possible to go with mods, too, tomorrow go to track for first testing, new car, new track, new software, a lot of new stuff, in the morning i go to maintenance the v200 config, but in evening i like to test with the new features in 203, any suggestion for mod?

Happy 2010, Luis C.
I am going to try to test with a 7.5 tomorrow, if I can get my second car together, this will be in touring car though. The RPM control, might make the motors much smoother, conserving tyres.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:36 PM   #9667
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 167
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
On the PC interface, DON'T use black text on a black background (the interface buttons). Please change the text to something lighter, like grey, white, red... etc, so taht you can actually SEE what the buttons do on the interface. Right now I have to click each one every single time to find what I was looking for, until I eventually have it memorized.
Ditto this! Please at least make it readable. That means NOT red...it is the hardest color for the eye to see with clarity. Just because the brand is black and dark red doesn't mean EVERYTHING on the UI has to be black and dark red.

I really hate to be so blunt, because I know what it feels like to have your baby criticized (trust me!). But the usability of the software is...well...pretty horrible. I'm a software developer, and I really do appreciate the creativity and work that has gone into this, but it has to be functional and usable FIRST. I have no interest in playing "guess which random black area you should click/righ-click/hover on next?" when the Main is coming up in 2 minutes...

I'd be MUCH happier if all the time spent making the UI look "fancy" were spent adding real features to an otherwise mundane (but intuitive) UI. I want to impress my friends with my car's speed on track...not showing off the Hotwire software on my laptop.

Beyond that comment, how about a simple graph that plots the timing curve? Something to give the use a visual appreciation of what's REALLY going on when I fiddle with boost/turbo/etc.

There are so many ways to use all your UI creativity in a genuinely productive manner. If you wanted to flex those fancy UI skills in genuinely useful way, you could make a 3D graph with motor timing, RPM, and time (or load, if that's what you're measuring) plotted on Y, X, and Z axis, respectively. Or let me drag the curve on the graph. Shoot me an IM if you run out of ideas...I'm happy to help.

Neal
SUV-ETR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 12:38 PM   #9668
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Ok, is in touring car, too. Here the tracks are very huges for 1/8 - 1/10 nitro cars, normally a litle straight is about 40-50m (130-160 ft) and normal are about 230 ft, we run with rubbers tyres.

Well, tomorrow testing some setups and posting the results, Do you now if the rpm range actuate in Dual mode ? , the advance button is present in this mode too.

Happy 2010, Luis C.
__________________
## NOSRAM ## YOKOMO BD5W ## BMI DB12RR+ ##
luic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 01:05 PM   #9669
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

It would be really helpful if when you post your setup you describe the car, motor and battery.

As for the software, I would like to see the ability to simply type in a Start RPM rather than use the calc function. The setup that I think would work best with our 2S Lipo, 17.5 Pan Cars starts at 4000 RPM but when I try to set that up I an only choose 4607 or 2850 RPM to start.
bjgarner43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 01:07 PM   #9670
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,881
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

maybe start putting your info here, http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...up-thread.html
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 01:59 PM   #9671
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

well i had a great day,i started with my 13.5 gearing in 17.5 played with the rpm range and was happy with what i finished with.there was also someone there with a rs that had 180 so i put 203 in it and we had different setups but very close.i ended up with tq,fastest lap and faster than 13.5 so i was very pleased but the car could be better.i think i had a 12.5s with 17.5 and last race with 13.5 with the blue esc it was 12.5s.but i could make it better.my temps were 1 led 100 motor.the other racer 140+
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*

Last edited by 20 SMOKE; 01-02-2010 at 02:59 PM.
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 02:13 PM   #9672
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
well i had a great day,i started with my 13.5 gearing in 17.5 played with the rpm range and was happy with what i finished with.there was also someone there with a rs that had 180 so i put 203 in it and we had different setups but very close.i ended up with tq,fastest lap and faster than 13.5 so i was very pleased but the car could be better.i think i had a 12.5 with 17.5 and last race with 13.5 with the blue esc it was 12.5.but i could make it better.my temps were 1 led 100 motor.the other racer 140+
Hey Jaime

What kind of track were you running. How about a full setup for those of us stuck at home till the track opens.
__________________
"we need to do at least 11.2 km/s to break earths orbit or almost the speed as Cam's car"

Neil Armstrong 1968
Cammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 02:16 PM   #9673
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I drove today with the V203 IN MY tc with a 10,5 LRP X11 on 2 cell lipo.

I started gearing heavier but after testing a very light setup it was incredible.
I started at 8,2FDR, than 9,17FDR and also tested 10,4FDR.
Even with the 10,4FDR the car hath an incredible top speed.
I now need some power at the start.

Here is my current setup.
Boost 37
Turbo max
Throttle 5
Brake 85%
Turbo delay 0,2
Turbo ramping 3
RPM 7500 - 4990.
9,2FDR

Now do I want some extra power in the infield but I don't now what to do.
My motor temp stays under the 180F
Must I higher my top RPM and lower RPM?
Will this give me more power in the infield?
The top speed is incredible. The car flies but I want some more infield speed and I don't now how to get it.
As i lower my Boost I must gear a lot heavier. I loose a lot of top speed.

I changed my car setup and that also improved a lot but accelerating is still a bit to slow.
The brakes are improved a lot.
It brakes great.
I want to race on a bigger track to see what it can do.
The top speed is fantastic.

Tomorrow the race. wanted to film a bit but was to impressed with the V203.
My club member improved with the same setup today with 0,4sec a lap.
His first word after hitting the straight was WOOOOOWWW!!!!!
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 02:18 PM   #9674
Tech Apprentice
 
Clint161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Langley B.C.
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
well i had a great day,i started with my 13.5 gearing in 17.5 played with the rpm range and was happy with what i finished with.there was also someone there with a rs that had 180 so i put 203 in it and we had different setups but very close.i ended up with tq,fastest lap and faster than 13.5 so i was very pleased but the car could be better.i think i had a 12.5 with 17.5 and last race with 13.5 with the blue esc it was 12.5.but i could make it better.my temps were 1 led 100 motor.the other racer 140+
What were your final settings?
Clint161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 02:24 PM   #9675
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
Well I had a great day today. I started off with using the gearing that I normally would for a 13.5, only I ran a 17.5 instead. I played with the rpm range and was happy with what I finished with and will post my settings later.

There was also someone there with a rs that had version 180, so I put version 203 in it, and even though we had different setups, we ended up very close to one another. I ended up with tq, fastest lap and faster than 13.5 so I was very pleased with the results, but the car could be better.

I think I had a 12.5 lap with the 17.5 motor today, where at our last race, I ran a 13.5 using a blue esc and the best lap I could get was a 12.5. I can probably make it better with some more testing. My temps were 1 led on the esc, 100* on the motor while the other racer was 140*+
Fixed it for for you since we can tell that you were overwhelmed with excitement having had the chance to run the new software today.

Please share what you settings were along with the size of the track.
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net