Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 07-18-2007, 02:45 PM
  #4471  
Tech Regular
 
Tim K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 297
Default

TenzoR - go to jasons store, then look for the "Tamiya M-chassis" category.
If that doesn't work, just do a store search for M03. The parts are still there.


minidriver - have you tried the Novak 13.5 b/l in your mini? the speed is comparable to a sport tuned motor ... but if you run 60D's on the front - whoah!!! lots of speed!!! and lots of tyre shredding
Tim K is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 04:24 PM
  #4472  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,285
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
By the way..there's nothing wrong with the stock servo saver. Everyone at rc-mini still uses the stock one and its fine.
I race at Boronia, Tony. Remember that
Burlap is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 04:44 PM
  #4473  
NT
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
NT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,507
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jam-ehz
Heya, Mini gurus..

I've been using a normally-built ball diff on outdoor tracks, and it's been pretty good except when I want to accelerate, sometimes one tire can slip.. It has some tension unlike a gear diff, so it does move forward, but I want it to go no matter what..

I stiffened the diff up with extra cone washers, to the point it won't slip at all but I can still turn it, but the turning radius is totally wider, and it understeers like crazy..

I guess the only way people do it is letting the rear slide to follow the front where it wants to turn, and it snaps back into place when they hit the throttle..

Does anyone have a decent setup that works on asphalt like this, or should I be getting a front one-way for this like some have?

Head over to RC-MINI and steal their setups. They are all based on asphalt outdoor tracks - and most guys run this set up with a variation on the theme if needed

The rear tires they suggest may be a bit tough to source as they are out of production now - but 60D's on the rear will probably be sufficient to give you an idea of how it will go.
NT is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 12:39 AM
  #4474  
Tech Adept
 
pac-man808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 211
Default

planning to run a stock 27t motor in my m-03.

16T pinion?

Thanks.

Will
pac-man808 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 01:02 AM
  #4475  
NT
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
NT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,507
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Go to town and put in a 20 - no point in driving it around in 2nd gear
NT is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 01:04 AM
  #4476  
NT
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
NT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,507
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Been a recent discovery of gold here in Bendigo - this one is much more interesting that the real gold though
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya mini cooper-resize.jpg  
NT is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 02:17 AM
  #4477  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Only 4 pairs? I mock you openly Mr Tasca...

Although given that I ain't racing much at the moment mine will probably perish of old age before I get to use em!
tony gray is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 04:54 AM
  #4478  
NT
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
NT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,507
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Well, thats on top of the 2 new pairs that are already on the cars and the 4 pairs that are already glued to rims and in the tire box.

Yeah - i think i'm set for the next 3-4 years

The set that i've used is 6 months old and not even close to showing wear - and thats 2 - 3 race meetings a month! so i think i'm safe
NT is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 12:53 PM
  #4479  
Tech Adept
 
pac-man808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Go to town and put in a 20 - no point in driving it around in 2nd gear
The ratio for a 20T pinion is 5.8 in the M-03. That is low to run a Stock motor. Running this with 27T stock motor will over heat the motor.

The ratio for a 16T pinion in a M-03 is aprox 7.24. Better to run stock.

I think I would rather run a 16T pinion.
pac-man808 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 02:23 PM
  #4480  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
minidriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lake Mills, WI
Posts: 932
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pac-man808
The ratio for a 20T pinion is 5.8 in the M-03. That is low to run a Stock motor. Running this with 27T stock motor will over heat the motor.

The ratio for a 16T pinion in a M-03 is aprox 7.24. Better to run stock.

I think I would rather run a 16T pinion.
The "innovators" here at Trackside also tried a 20T with the stock on the parking lot (140' straightaway or so) and found it was making the motor way too hot and elected a 16T as well.
minidriver is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 04:25 PM
  #4481  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,907
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

so do the stock motors destroy the mini gear box?
madjack is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 10:51 PM
  #4482  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Some of you guys might be interested in this thread on the rc-mini.net forum
here

Let your imagination run wild
tony gray is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 01:31 AM
  #4483  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,583
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
Some of you guys might be interested in this thread on the rc-mini.net forum
here

Let your imagination run wild
I'd like to see Tamiya figure out and make adjustable camber links
Sydewynder is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 05:58 AM
  #4484  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
rcarmchl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 492
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Sydewynder
I'd like to see Tamiya figure out and make adjustable camber links
They have those on the M03R
rcarmchl is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 07:35 AM
  #4485  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The M03R only has camber adjustment in the rear! Out of the box!
rctouringracer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.